We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”
Review of Grape and Olive

Grape and Olive
Ranked #99 of 645 Restaurants in Swansea
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A contemporary Restaurant and bar serving freshly cooked, locally sourced produce. Level 28 is a bar and full service restaurant and we have a mezzanine level for non dining guests to enjoy drinks purchased from the bar
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“never again”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Been there a few times but this time will be the last ..... we went for lunch, we sent it back ,they then give us chips and offered us coffee up stairs ,we waited 20 mins for the coffee and it came to us cold ..... most of the staff were very miserable and seemed like didn't want to be there
how is this place still open i do not know ...terrible terrible terrible!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    541
    398
    283
    307
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cemaes, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food at extortionate prices”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to the Grape and Olive on sat 9th march. couldnt beleive how much the price of food had gone up since the last time we went. Im very supprised that anyone goes there. how can anyone charge £20 for a steak and then charge extra for chips and onion rings etc. For the 6 of us having a 3 corse meal each and a few drinks cost us £235, yes £235, couldnt beleive it. The staff were all over the place like headless chickens, some not the best at the english language as we couldnt understand him when asked what was on specials menu. Went Waterfront Beefeater on marina and had a 3 course meal for 11 people for mothering sunday and was 100% nicer and cost £205 with a free bottle of wine. Think the Grape better up their game otherwise we might not be the only customers they are going to lose. The choice of food on the menu wasnt that wide a choice either, it would appear we are paying for the views, maybe next time it would be cheaper to go to Dubai because i certainly wont be visiting the G&O again...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great venue, bad service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We popped in for a quick drink before going on to a family event. Bottled beer only, which was unfortunate. Time was limited and the service was annoyingly slow. When our drinks finally arrived we were treated to kids running around and banging on windows whilst the staff chatted amongst themselves. We had to tack somebody down to pay but service was so slow we could just have walked out!

Very disappointing, if it wasn't for the spectacular views there'd be no reason to go.

Helpful?
1 Thank resident_nobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and lovely service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was so pleased that this has improved since my last visit, the food and service was great and the views were amazing - even on the glummest of days. Would be nice to have a snack menu for the day, paninis, jackets etc... other than that a thumbs up from us!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pisceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We first went on New years day, in the evening, 2011. We had a lovely meal. We thenw ent in early 2012 and the meal was poor. the last time we visited I had duck which was the greasiest muck I have ever had. My Mum's fish was minute and we deiced we would never go back, and we haven't done.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SwanseaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape and Olive also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Grape and Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing