We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush Lush Lush”
Review of Pant-Y-Gwydr

Pant-Y-Gwydr
Ranked #52 of 646 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lush Lush Lush”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Was really looking forward to visiting this restaurant on the recommendation of friends and it exceeded all expectations. lovely welcome off staff, complementary bread & butter which they replenished, a lovely unexpected touch in the form of complementary filo pastry cream cheese parcels, they just brought a jug of water with lemon even though we were also drinking wine which by the way we had the house merlot which was beautiful. We all had 3 course and every one was absolutely delicious and my desert 'the nutty one' was stunning. Lovely atmosphere and the price was adequate for what it was. would recommend this place 100%

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank china135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    65
    24
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
686 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Excellent French Food with good service”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went here with friends who had been before and recommended it. It serves French food in a pleasant environment with plain tables and chairs and a clean simple décor. We were greeted at the door and shown directly to our table with a smile. Staff were very friendly, efficient and service was excellent and fast. My only criticism is that at times they all seem to be away and I couldn't find a server to ask for something...
The menu offers a typical French selection with some specials too. There was a good choice on the menu and we had little difficulty selecting our choices. There is also a reasonable wine list with a small selection by the glass.
The food was excellent - great scallops, very tasty fish and meat dishes and delicious desserts.
The cost was not cheap, but they made an error in the bill and undercharged by missing off a bottle of wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After receiving a reccommendation from a fried, my wife and I took my parents her for a wedding anniversary treat, and were left full, satisfied and impressed by all aspects of our visit. Firstly, the former pub has been converted into a simple. rustic restaurant; warm and welcoming. We sat and were presented with an interesting and intriguing menu. It may be a bit heavy on the meat front for some, but the additional daily specials gave enough variety for most. A warm cream cheese pancake amouse bouche was quickly followed by warm homemade bread before our starters arrived. All the food was wonderfully presented, tasty and sizeable enough to suit most appetites. The welsh twists on french cuisine was apparent on many of the dishes we sampled; my squid with laver bread and bacon obviously taking cues from a welsh classic, while the pigs trotter with morrels and gnocchi was hearty and earthy. The only slight dissapointment was the portion of "greens" we shared, which consisted of a few mange tout (albeit fresh and perfectly cooked) where a selection of greens may have been more fitting. The food was filling enough that we didnt sample the desserts, but were treated to petit fours in the form of shoe pastry and cream "swans" with our coffee. The dessert menu, as with the main menu, was significantly weighted to a single category, in this case rich flavours like chocolate and caramel. All in all the food was superb, the service polite, helpful and considerate, and the setting warm and inviting on a chilly autumn evening. As stated above, the menu is heavy on rich, bold flavours, meat in particular, and I would be interested to see what the menu is like in the summer / spring months. But as long as you prepare yourself for this, you should have no trouble in enjoying every minute of your visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthewace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We wanted a high quality meal in a relaxed atmosphere and we certainly got both.

The food had wonderful flavour, was very well prepared, and was imaginative but not pretentious.

We will certainly be coming here again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent service, surrounding stunning! The four of us had different meals one had veal,one had braised steak,one Duck and one frogs legs!! All outstanding and highly recommended meals ,desserts were heaven,will be returning very soon for another visit .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam19702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pant-Y-Gwydr also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Pant-Y-Gwydr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing