We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it could be”
Review of Pant-Y-Gwydr

Pant-Y-Gwydr
Ranked #51 of 645 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As good as it could be”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having got the venue confused with the PAntygwydr Pub our hosts eventually got us here and we all had a lovely evening.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    65
    24
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Swansea best eatery”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sister - in - law had heard good reports of this restaurant and booked lunch for 4 of us. Located in an out-of-the-way spot and I had doubts at first. Hwever, its well furnished etc in "bistro" style, which |I like, and the waiter was very attentive and cheerful - a big plus these days! Excellent wine list and menu. When our food arrived it was easy to tell that this chef meant serious business - all 4 plated were a delight to the eye and nose, and tasted as good as they looked. Top class ingredients cooked by a top class chef. Puddings were to die for. Could not find fault in any way. I live 200 miles away, damn it! Congratulations to all connected with this gem .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alstheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great but not perfect”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the Pantgwydr many times and it varies from sublime to flawed. Last night I found the menu choice limited. I chose a chicken terrine to start but actually couldn't eat it, it was a big slab , not particularly enticing and pink.... Not great for chicken ! I didn't eat it, though to be fair they didn't charge me for it either. Main courses were much better, I had the tornados Rossini and my husband had the veal , both were totally sublime, perfect in fact ! Desserts are lovely but haven't changed for quite some time. Service is patchy , some staff are fantastic, sometimes it feels a bit like they rely on young people doing it to pass time rather than professionals. Overall It's a really good restaurant and well worth a visit, perhaps not quite as good as 'Slice 'yet .

Helpful?
Thank techanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing belly pork, excellent value”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is my third visit to the Pantygwydyr but the first time for my partner. We visited on Saturday lunchtime on the off chance of a table. I had the bisque to start which had a delicious depth of flavour and was served with crispy croutons and a rouille, which was gorgeous. My boyfriend had the salmon rillettes, which was far tastier than I could attempt to describe. We both chose the belly pork main which was beautifully cooked and melted in the mouth. At under £7 this is the best value belly pork I've ever eaten. Really great meal and we will definitely be going back soon

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cargriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited on a cold, rainy evening and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of food and service in this hidden away restaurant.The decor is smart and understated and our lovely young waiter guided us well through the interesting menu.My simple fish soup with aioli and my husband's scallops were delicious (I'll definitely have the bouillabaisse next time) whilst our mains - goose and tournados Rossini were full of flavour and accompanied by an ample serving of vegetables.Desserts of vanilla and chocolate left us replete.Do have a look at their website, the winter menu will surely tempt you to seek out this true taste of France,it's perfect for a romantic occasion, a young man wishing to impress on a first date would be wise to choose the Pant Y Gwydwr

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pant-Y-Gwydr also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Pant-Y-Gwydr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing