We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything You Want From a B & B Hotel - By a Contractor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Aus.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything You Want From a B & B Hotel - By a Contractor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My sincere thanks to Stephen (proprietor) and his very capable assistant Karmel for looking after me over the past 9 months for a variable number of days each week. Nothing was ever too much trouble and the breakfasts were terrific (especially the kippers and haddock!).
As a contractor I really needed an early breakfast but they were amenable to moving their normal 7:30 start slot to an earlier 7:00 time enabling me to get to work.
Rooms are more than adequate and clean, with wifi.

Jolly good place to stay.

Room Tip: Probably best not in room 5 or 6 if a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vigorniensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    55
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
32
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely little hotel well situated in leafy suburbia on the edge of the Swansea uplands with easy access to the city centre. Afforded a warm and friendly reception. Meticulously clean warm and comfortable room excellently maintained. Super comfy bed and superb breakfast. A real gem in Swansea. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pjh1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booked the day before and were lucky to get a cancellation. Twin room for my daughter and myself as visiting Swansea for University open day. The room was spotless, staff friendly and helpful, and we were impressed with the breakfast menu. No complaints at all, great value for £79.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We chose the White House because it is within walking distance of both the railway station and the university (15 minutes). The owners were really helpful in suggesting places to eat out, and in providing a map for our walk to the campus. It is a grand house, furnished elaborately, and with luxurious bedrooms and en-suites. Breakfast offered a wide range of self-service choices, including fresh fruit, cheeses and cereals, with cooked options prepared to order. We selected the smoked haddock (delicious) but there are plenty of veggie choices too. If we return to Swansea, we will return to the White House!

Room Tip: The top floor boasts some original wood panelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Me and some freinds stayed here for a night in september after a football match at swansea, it was clean and well maintained, very helpful staff, really nice breakfast, the beds are really comfy and I slept like a log.

The only minor problem was that the bathroom was a bit cramped but all in all was a simply wonderful stay would recommend this place to other people.

Room Tip: All very similar interior and same noise level (if any) so not really any difference i don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place was clean and very pleasant. I had a single room which was small but nice and clean......only problem was that if I had been any fatter i would not have been able to get into the shower of get on the toilet for that matter!!!!!!! The room was so quiet during the night - I managed to get a really good nights sleep. Breakfast was incredible...the really go to town and all freshly cooked. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst taking my daughter to view Swansea University. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we could have left our bags if we needed to.The hotel was warm and clean. The breakfast was lovely - fresh cooked while we waited and the food was good. The location is handy for buses into the city ( £1.05 single fare ). We took a taxi to the Uni - cost £4. Will use this place again if our daughter ends up in Swansea and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittenlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.9 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 24 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 4 Nyanza Terrace | Uplands, Swansea SA1 4QQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Swansea
#3 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#4 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White House, ideally situated for the bustling City of Swansea,the picturesque village of Mumbles, gateway to the beautiful Gower Peninsula and the University. Awarded 4 stars by both AA and Visitwales, all rooms have Free WIFI, Flat Screen TV, Generous Refreshments Trays and Comfy Beds! As well as a great selection for Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Swansea
The White Hotel
White Hotel Swansea
The White House Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing