We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth Floor Rooms Humming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fifth Floor Rooms Humming”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just spent another very enjoyable couple of days at this modern Premier Inn and Beefeater. The former has the addition of air con in every room and the latter is a "cut above" the normal Beefeater, with a very light and airy appearance, due to the many glass windows in situ. The premises are also in a great position, at the newly renovated waterfront in Swansea. Don't rely however on the postcode, for sat nav purposes, however, as it will only take you to a mini roundabout nearby and will then incorrectly direct you left at this point, when you need to go right (the premises being on the left about 200yds down the road at the Tesco Express. Breakfast at the attached Beefeater a real delight, including a proper Costa coffee machine (ie not the usual urns that go stale and need filling up)

One thing to watch out for mind is that some of the rooms on the 5th floor (eg Rm 517) suffer from an incessant hum late evening and early morning, (or in fact all night if they forget to shut them off) making it difficult for those who cannot drop off to sleep at the "drop off a hat" (like my wife and daughter) have a rather unsatisfactory nights sleep. This is apparently due to the ventilator fans for the Beefeater restaurant.having to be on whilst the restaurant is open. Apparently, the fans will eventually be raised up on the roof so that this will not be a problem any more. The duty staff person was however very helpful and arranged for us to be moved to another room for the following night, and we got a refund for that night.

Room Tip: If you find difficulty dropping off to sleep, watch out for humming sound in some of the 5th floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PISwanseaWaterfront, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, all feedback is much appreicated! I can see that you had a few issues with noise in the room, I am very sorry to hear about this but also pleased that you felt satasfied with the staff dealing with the issue. Being a Premier Inn, we do offer our guest a Good Night Gurantee, so as you did during this stay, please let reception know if you do have any problems at all, the staff are always happy to help. Hopefully you will stay with us again; If you do, please contact the hotel after making the booking, so we can allocate you in an appropriate room. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    518
    150
    42
    28
See reviews for
499
512
53
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel itself was in a nice position by the waterfront and was comfortable and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. The only place to park the car was behind the hotel on a car park where you had to feed the meter. It said you could pay £5.00 for 24hrs but it never actually let you do that. Whatever time you paid it only went through to 7.30 a.m. which not only meant getting up early to feed the meter or risking a fine!!! With all the money you fed the meter you could have had another night in the hotel (over the course of a short stay).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrssuff0lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sometimes you want individuality, but if you want to know what you're going to get, Premier Inn the best. Comfy beds, pillow choice, good bathroom, good tv. For this one add good aircon, opening window, friendly, helpful reception on check in/out (even if you are shown to the auto check in machines). On the edge of waterfront/marina/promenade developments - all very impressive. Walkable to city centre (note windy footbridge and current muddy roadworks). Walkable for the fit to station but not with heavy bags (taxi £ 4.30)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surrey361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here again for third year whilst at Welsh Nationals (swimming). Good clean accommodation, towels and sheets regularly changed, tea and coffee adequate! Only complaint was trust we were on the second floor (209) which seemed to be above the bins and smoking area for the Beefeater, noise from staff having a break, throwing bottles in to the bins and then the bins being emptied did disturb us on a couple of occasions when we were trying rest up prior to competition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwiftNickLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently ,the room was clean although there was hair clip with hair on it on the bathroom floor but other than that it was clean .We eat in the restaurant/bar and the food wasn't great ,the chips were cold and the burger was dried out and looked and tasted like it been sitting on the hot plate for quite a long time .My husbands burger was dripping in grease despite it supposed to be a flame grilled burger and the chips were cold .I brought it back up to the bar and they got me another one but tbh it was pretty much the same so I just left it .The manager did however come over and offered me a free drink but I think she should of offered me my money back instead of a drink which I declined and just returned to my room .So I would not recommend eating there but as it is so close to the town maybe try somewhere there .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, self check in available, clean room, comfy beds, air con etc. Parking right beside hotel, even if you do have to pay for it. TV's in the room very small, need upgrading like some of the other Premier Inn's.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcs8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We pre-paid to save money and if I'm honest, didn't expect much. Boy, were we we surprised! We had a good sized room, clean with modern furnishings. The bathroom was quite compact but sparkling clean and with a good shower. Breakfast is available in the restaurant downstairs and there's also a Tesco Express if you need to buy a few bits. I did appreciate the security features – you can't access a floor without a room key, which is something I like. Best of all is the view. Our room faced west out over the dock, river, and Swansea Bay. Couldn't believe it – a sea view for not a lot of money.

A couple of gripes: when we left there was only one elevator working and we waited forever. Secondly, unloading is difficult because the pull-in near the door is used by taxi drivers as a parking/waiting area. These points aside though, if you need somewhere for an overnight stay in the Swansea area this is great value.

Room Tip: The better views are from the rooms facing west towards the river and Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#6 of 22 in Swansea
747 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Address: Langdon Road, Swansea SA1 8QY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Swansea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
#2 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the smart waterfront of Swansea Marina, with quick routes along the coast to Mumbles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel Swansea
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing