We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
79
71
41
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
71
41
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room nice lake additional bonus brilliant atmosphere every staff member industrial park ample car parking nice hotel felt slightly coach party bar prices business park small pool christmas period plenty of free parking bar and restaurant staff conference room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in double room over aug BH weekend. This place is 3* bang average at very best. Corridors/carpets dark and dirty, decor tired, room not properly clean (look under beds etc), bathroom very dated and not clean, stains on toilet and carpets, windows dirty, pillows ludicrously hard and large, bedding the kind that makes you itch just looking at it (Mrs wrapped her pillow in a nightie), pool not kept clean, toilets a bit motorway service like, women’s under construction. Outside seating area dirty, tables not cleared, lighting very poor. Needs attention.

The buffet breakfast process I could only describe as comical. Full, long long queues for food, super slow replenishment of items, nobody actually standing back and observing the process, juice bar positioned behind swing doors to kitchen through which new food came out and old pots went back through same doors. Absolutely rubbish synchronisation of replenishing food items led to mini queues forming in a cul de sac waiting for the mushrooms or the eggs or whatever. Queue generally 20-30 deep. Fried eggs came out 6 at a time. Farcical process and staff running round like headless chickens. Couldn’t care less that hotel was full. If you’re full and that is expected then roster for it, train for it and prepare for it. No restaurant supervision evident. No tongues for pastries. Waitress came round a few times and tidies piles up with her bare hands then went off to clear tables which was in itself very slow. A breakfast buffet has to have constant staff presence. Flow is everything. It was telling that staff on duty Friday night were same as those on duty sat morning.

Summary. Tired, dated and needs a refurb. Staff rostering needs looking at. Restaurant processes need studying and fixing. Change layout to minimise bottlenecks. Move toaster station away from main queue. Juice bar is a HSE hazard behind swinging doors. Think about using tablecloths on serving stations don’t just put food and serving items on bare tables.
Advice to Regional Manager - if your happy positioning this as a 3-star minus, your probably not far off bar a refurb. If you genuinely aspire to 4*, sit your Hotel Manager down. Look at his rostering, his processes, particularly buffet processes and restaurant layout and mostly his checklists around training and room cleaning. The “Feedback Board” under the stairs is full, untidy and has messages on it from years ago! Old furniture stored behind it in public view! Come on, it isn’t hard to improve this, just needs attention. Please start with cleanliness and modernise the bedding.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank 132,805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 132805,

Thank you for your comprehensive review, and please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to our usual high standards, which can be evidenced by reading other reviews and the fact that both the AA and Visit Wales have awarded us 4 stars on unannounced visits within the last year.

It was an extremely busy weekend at the hotel:- our busiest of the whole year, and it certainly appears from your review that our restaurant and Kitchen teams could have planned things a little better, though just like a main trunk road when there is too much traffic all at one time there are going to be bottle necks and as I'm sure you will appreciate we cant dictate a timeslot to our guests as to what time to arrive for breakfast, and we equally cant roster 20 staff for one hour when everyone comes down, firstly as no one will work a one hour shift, and secondly we don't always know exactly when that peak hour will be.

Suffice to say we will learn lessons from this experience, and I shall share your observations with the team, so we can minimise such delays at peak periods in future. In the meantime do please have a read of some other reviews, which will put the title of your review into context.

Best regards


Ian H Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

The Mercure is a little way out of the city centre but was ok for onwards access to our next day business meeting. My room was spacious and adequate but had only 1 chair. Note there is no lift, though only 2 floors. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was also fine and of reasonable value. Swimming pool closed during our stay. Nothing to fault but also nothing that we could say was above the average for the price paid

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 621marting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear 621marting,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and our apologies for the pool closure during your stay, this was due to a contamination incident whereby we are duty bound to close the pool for 12 hours minimum to ensure that the water quality is back to a safe level.

Best Regards



Ian H Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

We spent two nights here whilst attending a conference in Swansea. The hotel is situated in a quiet location near the city centre. Our room was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom. The food was quite reasonable and we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O1286BOstevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear 01286BOstevem,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards



Ian H- Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

To report the positive first, the hotel is fortunate to have a great team at the hotel, very client orientated and clearly highly motivated, invidious to single out just one, but would note the guy in charge of restaurant on Tuesday evening and again at breakfast yesterday- really positive!

However, the bathroom of room 245 was certainly not great, probably the worst I've seen in a long time and I spend many nights a year in hotels and B&B. There was rust around the bath taps, damaged, rotting wood panel at base of toilet, a distinctly wonky flush and a three way crack in the handbasin - seriously uninviting I'm afraid and not 4* by any stretch of the imagination.

All those were reported when i checked out

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank F8989IFjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Dear F89891Fjohn,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and I am naturally disappointed to hear of your problems with the quality of the bathroom in room 245,resulting in you giving us just a 1 out of four score. The rust stain is due the the original taps being replaced by a combined tap and shower unit, some 2 years back, and the rust mark just cant be removed despite our best efforts. The other points I will get our maintenance team to look into immediately as these are not acceptable.

The four star rating that we have been awarded by is measured annually by an independent unannounced auditor who stays at 100's of establishments every year, and they do have a fair and equitable process for deciding what rating to give. They have awarded us four stars, based on their experience and observations on their last visit, and I can only apologise if you felt the quality of your bathroom didn't meet the standard on this occasion.

Thank you for your review, it is only with such open and honest feedback we can endeavour to improve, and lastly thank you for your positive comments on our high levels of service. I shall pass on your comments in this regard to the team, and particularly to Thomas in the restaurant who you have mentioned as being 'really positive'

Best regards


Ian H Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Booked in here last minute on the bank holiday. Room was very nice. Clean, fresh and airy. Plenty of storage for a few nights stay, beds were really comfy with lovely crisp white bedding. Bathroom was on the small size but clean with lovely hot water. The reception and restuarant areas were tastefully decorated. We had an evening meal in the restuarant and it was superb. Compliments to the chef. All staff were friendly and seemed to be happy in their work. A great find, will definately use this hotel again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank 333SueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Dear 33SueM,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post your kind review further to your recent stay with us and it was great to read your comments on the hotel, particularly with regard to the staff being happy in their work. We have had a very busy couple of months with great weather and the staycation trend making us full most nights of the week, so its great to see that my management team have kept spirits up and the team delivering throughout it all. I'd say my sense of humour helps, but few of them would agree :-)

Thanks once again for you feedback, it does mean a lot to us to know our guests are happy, and would return again.

Best regards


Ian H Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews