We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best hotel for disabled acces”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best hotel for disabled acces”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked the room in advance and expected an standard room without any luxuries for the price.
We got less than expected when we were shown a room that had been adapted for wheel chair users. This would not be a problem except the adaptations included removing all of the cupboards and drawers.

Had we been in need of these adaptations we would have been very disappointed as the bath was standard with no obvious mechanical aids to assist with access. How we would have unpacked would have been even more difficult, I suppose wheel chair users don't need cupboards or drawers!! A walk in shower and wider doors would normally be expected for such a room.

We complained and were allocated an alternative room which was in a much better state of repair complete with cupboards.

Room Tip: A good location for doing business on the retail park but to far away to walk to the city centre for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenHavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thanks for your review.

None of our ground floor rooms have cupboards they have hanging space & there is drawer space in all rooms.. Most of our corporate guests prefer these rooms, however leisure guests particularly the more mature ones seem to prefer to unpack into wardrobes & drawers. The room you got moved to was a 1st floor room, which has wardrobes, however its all subjective as to what you prefer as most of our buisiness customers prefer the open plan style downstairs Oh and we don't call them disabled rooms any more they are adaptted rooms and ours comply with all UK requirements for an adaptive room..

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    255
    174
    47
    22
See reviews for
135
231
15
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Wanted to stay in Swansea city center but everywhere was fully booked apart from this hotel which is in the middle of an industrial estate. No big deal really about £9 in taxi each way. First impressions were quite good reception area was well manned and staff pleasant. The restaurant and bar area looked very nice and well maintained.

Unfortunately that is as far as it goes as soon as you head up the stairs you notice the carpet becoming threadbare in patches and everything seems to be a bit grubby. The room was probably one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in the furniture looked like it had come from a charity shop. The carpet was dirty. The tv remote had no battery cover and was sticky! Tried to have a shower on arrival but no hot water (at 4pm!!!??) Following morning turned on shower to find that no water at all came from the hot water tap not even cold. It seems like the owners have blown their budget on the bar and restaurant and forgot about the rest of the hotel. Would not stay here again and dont recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leyton2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Leyton,

Thanks for your review.

Hotels never get refurbished all in one go (we'd have to close !) so yes there are areas that are more up to date than others, and some of our first floor rooms are due on the next phase of our rolling refurbishment programme ancheduled for completion in aerly 2014

With reagrd to hot water, I cannot tell which day you stayed but we have been over 80% full every day for the last 8 weeks, and this is the first I've heard of any hot water issue so not really sure what happened there - did you report this to anyone at the hotel ?

With regard to our location, we are on a landscaped office park, the photos on the net of the tree lined grounds and large lake to our rear are genuine, and I can guarantee if you left your window open at night (as I do when I stay) you are more likely to hear a Swan flapping across the lake to our rear than any industrial traffic. Sad to hear that you would not come again, as we havent run out of money, and chances are that next time you stayed you would see the benefits of our rolling investment plans. Apologies that we didn't fully satisfy you on this occaision.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay ,the staff were friendly and welcoming. we had dinner bed and breakfast also lunch on the sunday with our family . The room we had was basic but that was no real problem ,i did have problems trying to have a shower in the bath , we will be staying in the near future

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor were ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Lyn,

Thanks for your kind review. Next time you stay if you have any shower issues give any one of my team a shout and we'll immediatly look into and resolve. There are a couple of showers where the mechanisism to go from bath to shower is not as simple as it could be and suspect it one of those rooms you were in.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this Hotel with a group of friends and I must say that my stay was most enjoyable the staff was excellent and couldn't do enough for you they went out of their do what they could for you they were excellent and I would highly recommend anyone visiting Swansea to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Frank,

It was an absolute pleasure looking after you and all the other ex Navy folk for your reunion. If I'm as happy and healthy as you lot in my latter years I'll have done well, and as one of my staff said,......... "No wonder we won the war with that lot on our side !.

Thanks for taking the tiime to give us feedback and we hope to see you again next year, by which timeI'm sure you'll have worked out all the weird and wonderful functions on your new camera !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Room was basic but very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay here again.Well done Mercure on providing such good value and service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ormylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Ormylass,

Many thanks for your kind review and we look forward to being iof service to you again on your next trip to sunny Swansea :-)

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent staff, friendly & helpful. The rooms are fine - excellent hairdryer - long flex ! The food not so special. The layout of the buffet area was difficult with several large parties trying to use it.
One major gripe was not being able to charge to our room using our debit card - they would only accept credit card. Not insurmountable, but very inconvenient - and something which does not seem to be a problem for other hotels.

Room Tip: We were on second floor, not a problem for us - but there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Megan,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The issue around the debit card is that we cannot pre authorise a debit card, we can only charge it. The only way around this is to charge an amount to your debit card and refund what you don't use on departure. Few people are willing to do this and most (99%) have a credit card that we can pre auth. With regard to the food issues we did have three large groups in all week on this particular week, which is extreamly rare,and did cause some issues. We would normally not take more than one group, and having 3 did cause some challenges with getting everyone fed in our restaurant at peak times.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am very surprised at one or two of the comments made in previous reviews. I have just returned home from this Hotel and found all the staff, without exception, to be very pleasant, friendly and very helpful. And that is not only my opinion but that of several people within the large group of which I am one of the members and who all stayed at this Hotel. At no time did we have problems with the service at the bar and the breakfasts were excellent, as previous reviewer has said. I must confess however, that I did not really enjoy our main meal of the day a great deal. The meat always seemed to be rather dry and at our Group's special dinner evening, there was far too much meat and a lot of people couldn't get through it all and so it may be that the surplus beef was wasted. In all other respects the Hotel was absolutely fine and only a short bus trip into the centre of Swansea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Margot,

Thanks for your kind review.

I was pleased to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay, and will speak with chef concerning your comments around portion size and meat quality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing