We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, comfortable stay”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Would definitely stay here again, room was clean and comfortable and well facilitated. Location was quiet and would say it is worth paying extra to get a better room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't have the breakfast on offer but other reviews recommend so would be tempted to do this on the next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tomosap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Tomosap,

Thank you for your kind reveiw. Breakfast is definateley worth a visit next time you're with us, and can be pre booked at a £10 supplement.

As with all reviews I will post your comments on our staff noticeboard for all the team to see.

Thanks once again, and we look forwrd to welcomming you back to sunny (and hopefully a bit warmer next time !) Swansea

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 751 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was a return visit. Cheaper than a Premier Inn and more comfortable. Check-in was friendly and efficient and the room was well equipped and spacious. It had been well planned with a desk/dressing table, chair and mirror and a small table with two comfortable chairs should you want to make use of room service. There was good provision for hanging and storing clothes. Also a tea/coffee tray including the decaf option.The en-suite looked somewhat tired but had a bath and shower. The shower had little power and it was difficult to get the right water temperature. No room safe was provided. Sleep quality was excellent with little noise due to the fire doors being held electronically open - so no banging doors in the night and it was easy to move our luggage along the corridors. We ate in the bar. The food was very good. If you are ordering sparkling water at the bar ask for a bottle - otherwise you will be served from a large bottle which has been opened earlier and has plenty of water but a much reduced sparkle! There is free wi-fi in the hotel lounge but wi-fi is only available in the room by ethernet cable and there is a charge. What is it about British hotels and charging for wi-fi?! Check out was quick. The room rate was very good value and we will stay here gain when in the area. If you don't want to eat breakfast at the hotel there are a number of supermarkets a couple of minutes drive away with very good value restaurants.

Room Tip: Ground floor possibly as we couldn't locate a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Walkhome,

Thanks for your kind review. Free Wi Fi is coming to the whole hotel in May, so hopefully by your next visit that small issue will be solved. Glad to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next vist.

PS - Nice photo with your username, but no way is that Milton Keynes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Took advantage of the £119 Spring break offer - 2 nights B & B and evening meal 1st night. Excellent evening meal had salmon and prawn taglitelle as a mains -lovely.

Room clean and warm - important in the current cold weather. Nice breakfast thought not quite matching Holiday Inn. Nice foyer and saw staff being really nice to a lady whose husband/partner had just died. That cannot be easy for anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Honeymonster,

Many thanks for your kind review, I shall pass your positive comments onto the team, and hopefully it will help keep them inspired to keep up the good work !

:-)

Best Regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

To clarify I paid £52.50 for the night so the hotel is really priced in the Travelodge/ Premier Inn territory so taking that in consideration the hotel does have good facilities. However compared to another hotel it would compare less favourably. The decor is tired and dated, the WiFi doesn't work properly (only free in public areas) and they charge a whopping £14.95 for breakfast. The health club clearly has never been visited by Lord Coe even though it carries his name as it is more like a health cupboard, tiny and with equipment in a poor state of repair. On the positive side the staff are friendly and the rooms offer a quite nights sleep.

In conclusion, acceptable for £50 a room, unacceptable for anything more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Mark,

Thanks for your review and glad to hear that overall you found us good value for money for the price paid.

Wi Fi is being upgraded as I type, and should be free and considerably faster in all areas of the hotel by 1st May. All our gym equipment is maintained and checked regularly, so without specifics I can't really comment on that other than to say I will get it all double checked and ask our members if there are any issues that they are aware of.

With regards to decor we do have an ongoing rolling refurbishment programme that is gadually working its way round the building.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On arrival things seemed to be good, however as I had booked a Champagne w/end I was expecting a bottle of chilled champagne in our room, or at least the staff to ask about it. The bar food and dinner prices seemed high so we opted for a light bite for lunch. I asked about the champagne and after some investigation the reception said they would leave a note at hand over.
On our return to the hotel I asked for the champagne to be sent down to our room. Over 30 minutes later I tried to ring but the phone was out so ended up going back to reception to complain about the poor service. After a further 10 minutes a bottle of Pigalle Brut turned up! A bottle of what I hear you say. Yes a cheap £9 sparkling wine that I had pre-paid £39 for. The duty manger had "added a few bikkies" to make up for the delay! After peaking to reception he did come back with a refund for the "champagne". It seemed to me that they didn’t have any champagne and had gone out to find some from the nearby Tesco 24.
As a long standing Accor club member I would not recommend the Mercure Swansea, not only for my issues but as they also had a brass band practicing in a ground floor meeting room at 9am Sunday morning!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Mark,

Apologies for the champagne issue this was caused by an error by our central reservations team who did not enter the reservation correctly, and compounded by us actually having sold out of champagne after Wales great victory over England at rugby that day. The champagne was fully refunded and the Pigalle sparkling wine you were given in its place was served for free. I understand that our Guest Care Manager also gave you and your partner full breakfast for no charge the next day.

The brass band that were practicing were in a meeting room on the complete opposite side of the hotel to our bedrooms. They come every year,and I have never had a complaint from anyone in the previous 11 years, or indeed from any of the 216 other guests who stayed with us on the night in question this year.

I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied, and trust me we will have learnt from this experience with regard to the Champagne issue, but you were fully refunded, given the nearest available thing to a bottle of champagne for no charge, and given two breakfasts on the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a 2 night break here with friends. every thing was as it should be. Room was spotless and everything worked! The food , especially the breakfast, was excellent.
The staff were fantastic; attentive, polite, switched on and charming, brilliant and real value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Richard,

Many thanks for your kind review, the contents of which as always I shall post on the staff noticeboard for the team to read.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Myself and a party of eight attended the Mercure Swansea yesterday for their Mother's Day lunch and had a lovely meal/afternoon.

We were served a three course lunch, with choice of four starters, carvery with three meats and roast vegetables then a choice of four desserts. All of the food was delicious and well-presented. Also the service was efficient and very friendly. The Reception/Lounge area and restaurant were well laid out and it was a pleasure to dine there.

I would definitely recommend the Mercure Swansea for dining. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the Hotel but what I saw was very clean and well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Kay

Thanks for your feedback, and glad to hear you enjoyed your Mothers Day Lunch. We did 180 lunches on Mothers Day, and seems everyone was happy with quite a few nice letters, some written by the kids to say how happy their mum was, so all in all a fab day, and hopefully we'll see you again next year.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
996 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,825 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
648 reviews
2.7 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $72 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing