We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice welcome but in need of refurbishment”
Review of Mercure Swansea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure for one night on a business trip to Swansea.
I chose the hotel for its convenient location relative to the office I was visiting on the Enterprise Zone and the plentiful on-site car parking. The price was very competitive too!
On arrival I had a friendly welcome from the receptionist and was quickly booked in and directed to my room but getting there was a long walk along a rather dark and somewhat drab corridor and this proved to be the same with my room. Although well maintained and clean it is badly in need of updating,, preferably with lighter, brighter colours.
The biggest disappointment though was the buffet breakfast - this definitely could be improved and compares poorly against similar arrangements in other hotels I visit.
All in all, I would rate the hotel as average - not bad but not especially good either - and would probably get breakfast elsewhere if I visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dai-derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Dai,

Thanks for your kind review,

We have recently updated our breakfast offering and presentation after veiwng all of our competitors brekfasts, with the aim of beating what they are offering. Next time your staying give it a try, and if you still have any observations/ comments as to how we could im,prove, please give me a shout, and happy to discuss.

Best regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 751 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel could do with some money being spent on it. Decor is outdated and the beds are awful (you can feel every spring). Pool is nice and warm and the staff are friendly and courteous. I was given an upgrade by the lovely receptionist, after finding my bath had not been cleaned and had 'intimate hair' in it. This hotel has the potential to be great, as the location is in the middle of an enterprise zone and is also right next to a large lake, with swans, geese and ducks etc and has some great walking trails. Unfortunately the standard price of the rooms are not competitive with other hotels of a better standard in Swansea. Mercure need to invest some money on this hotel, starting with replacing the mattresses!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarefromSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Claire,

Thanks for your kind review.

We contstantly (daily) price check against oither full service hotels to ensure we are competitive in the market place so not sure what specifics there were to your stay that made it out of sync with better hotels in the area price wise.

We do have a rolling programme of bed replacements, and I have asked our housekleeper to move the room you stayed in to the next phase of 20 beds comiong in March.

Thanks for your comments, it is only with such honest feedback that we can endeavour to improve.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here two years ago and I had a great stay but this hotel really needs some tlc. room was spacious and it had a modern finish but the standard of cleaning and maintenance was unaceptable. I raised my issues such as dirty bedding with reception and I was quickly moved to another room but i realised that this standard was clearly consistent througout the hotel. Dirty towels and a broken shower head lay waiting in room number two which was disappointing. On the plus side the staff could not have been more friendly and the location was ideal for my requirements.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Jockey01,

Many thanks for your review, and please accept my apologies for the poor housekeeping and maintenance issues you encountered. A short read through a few other reviews for the hotel will reasuure you that the standards you found are most certainly not the norm, and steps will be taken to ensure that such poor standards are not repeated.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel used to be a Ramada Jarvis beofre being bought and is an exact replica of the Ramada Jarvis Livingston. The rooms have been slightly updated it looks since the takeover although roonm views a little to be desired. Plenty of parking on site and reaturants and supermarkets nearby especially if you wanted to eat other then at the hotel. Obviously at weekends it seems that this is more of a coach tour hotel as had 3 coachs in when we got there which meant they had taken over the lounge and bar areas (this being the reason we ate out of the hotel.) Basic hotel with all that you need for a couple of nights, really good if you are looking to go to different places not just city centre as it means you dont get stuck in much traffic and links to roads are really good. We went in June time what i would say is that the rooms get reaklly hot i would not want to be stuck in one of these rooms when it is over 25c outside as you would bake. Other then that an average hotel nothing to really shout about.

Room Tip: Ak for one at the back although it will be a bit of a walk to the room it means you wont hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Miss B,

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The exterior is a little dated but don't be put off. This is a very good hotel. I have stayed here three times on business and have never been disappointed.

The room was very nice, very clean and well equipped. My only concern was that the bathroom floor could be slippery even when dry.

The restaurant was excellent with a good menu and great quality food. The staff in the bar restaurant and reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Jon,

Many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a coorporate event. All the staff we met were nice enough. The hotel is very dated with an eighties feel to it. The floors seem to move when you are on the first floor!! The rooms are OK though I struggled to get a decent temperature on the shower - either too hot or too cold. Breakfast was below average. Seemed to be in a rather out of the way location - very much a low budget business hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoykseasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Stoykseasy,

Thank for your review.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We requested a quiet room and got just that. Very surprised at how quiet it was considering the creaky floors in the corridors (there was no way you could walk anywhere without making some noise). The shower was impressively powerful but the water didn't drain away well and sat in the bath for a while. Restaurant staff couldn't have been better, very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinnywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Hi Jilly Wren,

Some coridor floors do creak a bit, but as you discovered once in the room you don't here this, and our quiet locatioj means that even if you leave your window opemn, unlike hotels in the city centre you won't here a thing.

General consensus seems to be tired hotel and lovely staff, is better than lovely hotel with tired staff !,, so we'll just keep smiling through till someone funds a refurbishment programme.

Thanks for your review


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
996 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#5 of 22 in Swansea
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,825 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
647 reviews
2.7 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $72 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing