We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tired old Ramada is now tired old Mercure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Swansea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Swansea
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“tired old Ramada is now tired old Mercure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I work occasionally in Swansea, only a stones throw from this hotel. I used to stay when it was a tired old Ramada, and although reasonably priced it was always a bit run down. It is now a Mercure, and as I use these often I was expecting some improvement...well there has been a 'bit', the reception and bar area has been cleaned up a little, and are more welcoming and the bedrooms are a tiny bit better in terms of bedding etc, but it is still the same tired old hotel it always was. The carpets are sticky and worn, the floors in the corridors squeak, the food is average...in fact the only thing that has changes is the price, which is more than the Ramada used to be! Still it's a lot cheaper then other Mercures, so I suppose that's something. If you want a reasonably priced hotel convenient for the Industrial park then this is about as good as it gets, but by preference I try to stay in one of the more modern hotels in the city center such as the Marriott on the marina.

Room Tip: overlooking the lake is quite. Most rooms involve a long trek down squeaky corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Bob H,

Thanks for your review.

We are a little tired in places, but for every one person who prefers to stay in the Marriott there are ten who tell me every day that though we're not the Ritz my team are so caring and eager to please and the food so good etc that they prefer us to some of the more up to date gin palaces in town.

Hopefully we'll be getting a facelift in the New Year, but until then, we'll just have tom keep delivering great service every day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    249
    171
    44
    21
See reviews for
134
228
14
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is situated in a retail park and is not the easiest to find.

The building is one of those that are essentially a metal structure so footsteps along the whole of the upstairs coridors are magnified and actually cause the rooms to shake a little.

On the whole it is tired and needs a bit of TLC.

The shower in my room, 220, was old fashioned and difficult to get below scalding. The room itself was adequate but nothing special.

Not the busiest during the week and a little depressing to be honest BUT...........the staff are great and very friendly and the food is OK too.

I was in Swansea on business for 2 weeks. Unfortunately I changed hotel to the Village for second week just for a bit of company in the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bottleosmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Bottle smoke,

Many thanks for your review.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here at short notice in November 2012. The room & bathroom were very clean, the bed huge & very comfortable, however watch for:

Room 127 - if you want a bath BEWARE (especially if travelling with children) - the water from the tap hits the overflow which diverts it over the bathroom floor, toilet & toilet roll holder.

The iron didn't work.

Tea & coffee were only put out for 1 guest & no biscuits provided (obviously more used to getting single occupants than couples).

As above only 1 set of towels provided & the others in sealed plastic - not very welcoming.

Free Wi-Fi as advertised is in the lounge only.

Advertised as in a peaceful lakeside position in landscaped grounds - somewhat a streched one that - it is about as landscaped as a Tesco's carpark, the small lake seems man-made & you are in the middle of a large industrial estate.

Restaurant limited, especially if vegetarian.

We had our small dog with us (the Mercure allows dogs for an extra charge) & the staff were fine & friendly about this, however the other hotel users seemed disgusted that there was a dog allowed, we got lots of glares, not the kind of welcoming stay we would like. If you need to travel with a dog suggest you try The White House Swansea instead if they have space. This hotel is modern with thin walls & not ideal if you have a dog who is easilly upset by outside noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back near the lake are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Tracey C,

Many thanks for your review.

I didn't meet you and your dog, however I have to say that the majority of guests with dogs have the complete opposite experience in that other guest make so much fuss of their dogs that it takes them twice the time to get from the room to reception and their car as it would if they were poochless !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel which was not far from my son's house share as he is studying at Swansea University. The hotel was pleasant as we're the staff at the check in. The room was clean and fine for an overnight stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Snowdon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Snowden59,

Many thanks for your reviw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I use this hotel a few times a year due to it's proximity to the office I work at when in Swansea. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms kept clean and I get a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. Only drawback to note is that the 'free wireless' is in the lobby only and the signal can be weak depending on where you are sat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ignot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Ignot,

Many thanks for your review. With regard to the Wi Fi, this is being upgraded in 2013, and WI FI will also be extended to the whole property at this point.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Property: Mercure Swansea
Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Mercure Swansea Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing