We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel claims to be Swansea's premier hotel. The place is a ok, a standard hotel with some nice parts but the surroundings are a little jaded. The room was standard hotel fare although the TV didn't work, luckily the free wifi allowed us to watch Sky Go so that didn't really matter.

We had a room on the top floor at the back which meant that it was relatively quiet, with some others staying saying their rooms at the front had a fair bit of noise.

The food in the bistro was good although a bit over the top on sauces but that's a matter of taste rather than anything else, but with a large party in, service was a bit slow. Breakfast on the other hand was pretty good being freshly cooked rather than the usual buffet that can become a bit dried out.

If you are to stay, then go in with eyes open. The hotel is in the city centre and is therefore potentially noisy. Generally service is ok. It is, as the rating says, average in my view.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WiltshireYellowbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location near town centre and good parking.

However, a little disappointed with a couple of minor but important aspects. Twice I went for a shower on two separate days and both times there was no hot water? To make matters worth they also had no conditioner? We rung reception about this and they advised they no longer supply conditioner. No conditioner but they supplied moisturiser, bit odd?

Room was ok and good selection of tv channels.

A lot of dust on the main table... Should have been cleaned better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated as we strive to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After staying here previously we made the concious decision to book again despite other hotels offering possible better value. Our expectations were quickly dashed when we walked into our allocated " superior double " Room 204. There was an immediate damp musty smell apparent and a room that looked and smelt " well used " - the window gave us a wonderful view of a steel extractor ducting that obstructed any natural light entering the room. My wife and I immediately made the decision that this was not up to the standard expected or previously experienced.

On returning to reception we were then offered an alternative room on the 7th floor which was much more like we had previuosly experienced and enjoyed. Be extremely wary of being allocated lower floor rooms as they were clearly not up to the same standard as some of the others at higher level.
Breakfast was offered at the discounted rate of £ 14.00 each if pre-booked ( otherwise £ 17.00)
Still a bit pricey bering in mind there are numerous alternative options within five minutes of the front door.
Although evrything turned out ok in the end - I will certainly look more into alternative accomadation on our next visit to Swansea

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich40h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we hope that you'll be pleased to know that as a result of your comments we have implemented a full review of the second floor accommodation to ensure that our high standards are uniform throughout the hotel so that we may prevent future disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights during a golf break. Staff very friendly, check in efficient, rooms clean and reasonable standard (shower not too great). Bar was ok for a quick drink, free wifi, nice and close to city night life. Breakfast good, didn't use the brasserie, spa & swimming pool was good and quiet. Concerns, lifts were useless, too small and too slow, ask for a low floor room if use don't like using the stairs.......parking is also very limited, but there is an multi storey next door. On the whole not bad for the price we paid (£100.00 per room per night B&B)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Golfstar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were recommended this hotel as it was rated as 4 star, I hate complaining but feel people need to know the experience we had. We stayed at the hotel on Friday 20th September 2013.

Check in

As we approached the desk the receptionist just asked for our names,no welcome was had,our check in forms were put on the desk and told to fill these in,no advice on what we needed to fill in but to just to do it was the feeling ( at this point my friend said to the receptionist I've never know anyone not to speak around here to which the receptionist did not reply and went to do something else) when it came to taking a pre payment the PDQ machine was put on the desk and we were told to insert our cards, which we did, no explanation given on the amount that was going to be taken or held - we were given our key cards and left to find the lifts and to look at the key cards for our room number. In a 4 star hotel you would expect a please, thank you and this is the floor you are on and the lifts are over there - general information but no none of this happened -this was just rude.

Rooms

We were on the second floor and in Room 205, we just drop our bags off and went out for dinner as we were in a rush, on returning to the room we used the bathroom and found hairs over the floor and in the bathroom, there was extensive mould on the tiles which was black and red and generally looked disgusting this was at 2am in the morning, the room was still the same as the previous hotel brand with little differences to reflect the new brand. This room has no view you are just looking at air condition systems and cladding (make sure you don't stay in this room), we left the windows opened and all we had was the clicking and noise of the air con system hence no sleep.

Concern

One of the party checked their bank account just before we left to go out for dinner and noticed the hotel had taken £100.00 out of the account, it was not held but taken, again we approached the reception and queried this to be told it normal practice to do this and we asked for copies of the payment receipt to which again the receptionist was rude and arrogant, the receptionist rip them off our checking in forms and highlighted in highlighter pen where it said pre authorisation (very childish behaviour) when we queried this more the receptionist just ignored us and you could tell she could not be bothered and just wanted us to leave the reception area. The room was £75.00 and not £100.00 but the receptionist could not be clear say why £100.00 was taken, remembering the reimbursement of the £25.00 would take days to credit the account as it was the weekend.

Check out

We approached the desk to check out and raised a number of concerns around the room 205 and was abruptly asked if we had left the list for housekeeping to deal with this, the attitude again was of a poor nature, we asked if we could speak to the duty manager only to be told there was no manager till 1pm and this was 10.30 am, we feel this was ploy not for us to complain or speak to someone in authority, we all work in the same industry and new there had to be a manager on site and we challenging this to which we were told they would get someone - while this was going on another couple we querying why they had not been informed the money was being taken straight out of their bank accounts either and it was over the room rate amount again the abrupt receptionist dismissed everything the guest was saying.

We were approached by the House keeping Manager who listened to our concerns and took on board what we were saying, we were given £25 discount on each room and offered breakfast to which we declined, we were then offered a upgrade or dinner on our next stay, to be honest we will not being staying in this hotel again, there are far better hotels in the area like The Village and The Marriot who's customer service and reception staff are friendly, professional and helpful.

Overall a very poor hotel and service, a lot of training is needed to bring the staff on reception up the standard required for a four star rated hotel, information should be given to guests before the hotel take card pre payments so all is clear, please don't don't stay in room 205 this should be taken out of use, The house keeping manager did her best to deal with us but to be honest there was nothing she could do to satisfy us on check out, a lovely lady pity the reception staff was not managed by her as I feel they could learn a lot from her.

We are in the process of writing a formal complaint to the hotel manager and Macdonalds group and will keep you posted on the response.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that your experience was not acceptable. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards over the weekend and for that I do apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our Reception Manager and I appreciate the oppotunity for improvement you have provided by bringing your experience to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent rooms and staff, really well placed for going out on the town. It has a nice bar on the first floor that's open late if you still need a drink after a night on the town (hardly likely) I was there on a Wednesday and the centre was buzzing and all the bars had cheap drink offers. Definitely worth going out experiencing how the students have a good night. if you like a quitter life the hotel bisro is pleasant and serves good food. I booked room early and did not have breakfast as they charge £14 if you do not book it before midnight, so I declined and went to a café across from the station that was ok and £4

Room Tip: I stopped there with two other colleagues and they all said their rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your views, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Due to the Swansea/Liverpool match my usual hotel was full and i had little choice but to book at the Dragon. I really was pleasantly surprised and would return again. Very clean room, free fast internet, small gym and pool, friendly staff, but a real surprise was the food, i had a great dinner. I thought this hotel offered good value for money. It's an old building which limits it a bit, but it's had a good refurb. I've marked it down a bit as i had a suite and the lounge was really small, featureless and uninviting....i didn't use it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon_Hotel, General Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, I hope that The Dragon Hotel is now your #1 choice for accommodation when you visit Swansea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $74 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city centre of Swansea, The Dragon Hotel offers excellent service and superior facilities that will make for an unforgettable stay. The central location of the hotel means that it is easy to access by car from the M4, 5-minute walk from Swansea Train Station and the central Bus Station. There are many attractions to see and do while staying at The Dragon Hotel, you are within a 5-minute walking distance of Swansea's Grand Theatre, Waterfront Museum, LC2 Water Park not forgetting the vibrant night-life. In addition to the numerous attractions that are within walking distance there are many other local attractions along with award winning beaches, like Rhossili Bay; voted one of the best beaches in the world. All bedrooms are well-appointed offering guests Free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, bathtub & shower, 24-hour room service, daily housekeeping and 24-hour reception. When staying at The Dragon Hotel all guests can benefit from Free access to the Leisure Club that features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male & female saunas, gymnasium. Beauty treatments are also available to book in advance. When it comes to dining, The Dragon Hotel has a stylish yet relaxed Brasserie & Cafe Bar which serves AA Rosette awarded European style cuisine and a range of light snacks. Bar facilities are available from The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, offering a wide selection of alcoholic drinks. An all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is available each morning, which includes traditional British breakfast and a wide continental selection. The Dragon Hotel is one of the few city centre hotels that can offer on-site car parking, charges do apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing