We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Hotel”
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for four nights recently. Great location, right in the city centre, ideal for the shops and nightlife. Hotel itself is well appointed, clean and well decorated rooms and very friendly staff.

Free WiFi particularly welcome!

Will stay again when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weaselbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 995 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked a Saturday night, location very convenient as central. Rooms presentable if slightly on the small side. Car park a bonus in a city centre. Breakfast was average but would definitely book again as overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuonViaggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed Sat night found hotel to be of good standard and helpful staff.
Rooms very comfortable not to large but adequate for stay. Hotel on doorstep to the shops also the local restuarants and bars. and due to bad weather this was real bonus. Would definately stay at hotel when in Swansea again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed one night at the Dragon Hotel on the recommendation of a client. The hotel is in the centre of downtown Swansea and minutes from the train station. The front desk staff who checked me in was friendly and efficient. The next morning the staff behind the counter were rather disinterested to say the least.

I had a meal in the "pub" on the second floor. the bartender was very friendly and polite. The food was .... well pub food. Breakfast int he mornign was full English and staff were pleasant.

My room was average for a 31/2 star level. Servicable place with a good location but nothing especailly memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scapaflow40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked a twin room through booking.com for my hen weekend and was extremely pleasantly surprised. The hotel has its own free car park which was described as limited but we had no trouble finding a space! The hotel staff were very accommodating and the room was clean. Despite being right in the heart of the city centre, the noise from the street wasn't too bad (we stayed on the 7th floor). I will definitely be returning to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angharad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a great room, very comfy with a big bed. The facilities were top notch we will be going back sooner rather than later. Room service was good and we watched a film in the room which was a bit expensive but worth it as a one off treat. Next time I will be using the spa and pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very pleasant stay. Clean bedroom, good shower, full range of TV channels.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Good range of food for breakfast.
Price was very reasonable.
Location was ideal being in the city centre, within walking distance of the railway station.
A reasonable sized car park though the entrance was slightly difficult.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticWarrior65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
768 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $73 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city centre of Swansea, The Dragon Hotel offers excellent service and superior facilities that will make for an unforgettable stay. The central location of the hotel means that it is easy to access by car from the M4, 5-minute walk from Swansea Train Station and the central Bus Station. There are many attractions to see and do while staying at The Dragon Hotel, you are within a 5-minute walking distance of Swansea's Grand Theatre, Waterfront Museum, LC2 Water Park not forgetting the vibrant night-life. In addition to the numerous attractions that are within walking distance there are many other local attractions along with award winning beaches, like Rhossili Bay; voted one of the best beaches in the world. All bedrooms are well-appointed offering guests Free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, bathtub & shower, 24-hour room service, daily housekeeping and 24-hour reception. When staying at The Dragon Hotel all guests can benefit from Free access to the Leisure Club that features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male & female saunas, gymnasium. Beauty treatments are also available to book in advance. When it comes to dining, The Dragon Hotel has a stylish yet relaxed Brasserie & Cafe Bar which serves AA Rosette awarded European style cuisine and a range of light snacks. Bar facilities are available from The Dragon Brasserie & Cafe Bar, offering a wide selection of alcoholic drinks. An all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is available each morning, which includes traditional British breakfast and a wide continental selection. The Dragon Hotel is one of the few city centre hotels that can offer on-site car parking, charges do apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing