We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights, and was pleased with the standard of the room and the service provided.
Some constructive feedback:
Firstly, the breakfast was spoilt by the strange fishy taste of both the bacon and the scrambled egg.
Secondly, there were no plug points easily accessible to leave a mobile on charge overnight.
Thirdly, overhead lighting would be useful, as the side lights are not adequate.
Fourthly, the transparent curtain rods are a health hazard, as they are invisible and fly up in your face when you try to open the curtains.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birgitta_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
There are newer reviews for Swansea Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott in June while attending a conference in Swansea. The hotel is located right on the water near the town center. I think it’s a good location overall. They have free parking for hotel guests too which is a plus.

Rooms are large and very modern. It reminded me more of a U.S. hotel in that respect than what one often finds in the UK and Europe. The bed, TV, bathroom, etc., all were modern and updated. It was fairly warm when I was there in Wales and the A/C unit didn’t seem to do too good of a job cooling the room. It felt somewhat warm and humid in the room.

The people behind the front desk and in the lobby were very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was included with the room and was very good, included both hot and cold items and had a variety of foods to choose. Wifi was free in the lobby, but was a pay service in the rooms. The rates seemed very expensive to me. The connection and signal strength was good – I had no problems connecting or getting work done.

Overall, I’d definitely recommend this hotel. I think its positives far outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FwaysGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week on business with my wife in tow. I spent very little time in the hotel but she was able to walk the city and the beach and make the stay into a ral vacation. Hotel was in good shape, exterior a little worn from the sea and the interior was tasteful. Service was good, nothing can be said about the hotel. Hotel spa was not functioning as well as it should one of the pumps was out and had not been replaced but was good for soaking the old bonme after a day on your feet

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a view of the Marina, so much better than the parking lot
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I hadn't stayed her for some time and the area is more built up than previously, spoiling the sea view on the east side a bit. The room was as expected and the bed comfy. Despite the hotel being full, I had a quiet night. The air con isn't great and no the windows don't open very far = probably for safety and so the room was hot. Other than that the only gripe I really had was the cost of using the wifi - unusual to even charge these days. So I didn't bother to use it. However, the best is all about the staff - the same friendly staff greeted me and Sarah even remembered me! how great does that feel.

Room Tip: high up west facing for the view
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is right next to the marina and near some nice restaurants and bars. We didn't get any noise at night but rooms on he other side of the hotel got the noise from a wedding reception. Get a room facing the marina!!

We enjoyed our stay, the price was good and the staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast was really good and I would stay here again if back in Swansea.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the marina for a quiet night's sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The rooms are fine the staff is polite and helpful. Sea views are amazing, breakfast is fine. The room was comfortable, tasteful and modern.
Overall a positive experience. Lots of rain most of the time but enjoyable walks on the beach too.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 4th floor which had amazing views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaritaCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Swansea Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel.

I was delighted to read you had a fantastic time at the hotel and Swansea itself and do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Michael Downie

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I never knew about Swansea Bay. The hotel is well located there and my room had a sea view. The weather was very good and although I was there on business, the long sunny evenings made me feel like I was on holiday.
My room was fine, quite comfortable with the usual facilities. The windows were locked so there was no air flow and I found it hot at night. There was a very noisy air conditioning unit but I never found it to be very effective.
Another issue is the slamming of doors. I wish hotels would install non slamming doors for the hard of thinking guests.
Food was good. The bar menu is limited but very tasty and breakfast was efficiently served.
The staff were very professional and friendly.
Overall, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view is very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryHappyHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.5 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 22 in Swansea
963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,702 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
754 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#17 of 22 in Swansea
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Marriott Hotel

Address: Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#4 Business Hotel in Swansea
#4 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $103 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling Maritime Quarter on the enchanting Swansea Bay, the Swansea Marriott Hotel captures the charm and beauty of its Gower peninsula surroundings. A gentle stroll to the city centre is complete with lively markets and attractions. Surrounded by the very best of Wales' golf courses, a short distance from the Liberty Stadium and Ffos Las Racecourse, the Swansea Marriott Hotel has appeal for all. Experience a superior level of service and the warmest of Welsh welcomes. Our spacious guest rooms offer supreme comfort and functionality. Make use of your in-room workspace, before unwinding in our Leisure area, with mini gym, pool and sauna. The hotel restaurant serves local produce complemented with fine wine, which follows through to our extensive room service menu. The Swansea Marriott Hotel has an impressive Conference and Banqueting facility, complemented by expert catering. Whether you're on business or a relaxing break, the Swansea Marriott is the ideal venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swansea Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swansea
Swansea Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing