We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Me and my Girlfriend stayed over on the Bank Holiday weekend. As for the Hotel itself, i can't really say a bad word about it. As i read in someone elses report, yes you can smell the swimming pool as soon as you walk into the reception, but not that much, and who care's. I did request for an early check in but didn't get that. Wasn't to bothered as just had a little browse round town. The Room was as the description, very roomy and very nice. The food was of a standard you would expect. The only down fall of the place is the "Gym" and i use that term lightly. It really isn't a gym, just 4 or 5 bits of equipment on a spare bit of space they had, but in saying that you don't go away to use the gym unless your a bit weird like me..:-)

All in all excellent

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PhilipBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2008

Spent an enjoyable night at the Swansea Marriott to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel honored our request for a room with a high floor and view of Swansea Bay which was lovely - see photo. The room itself was adequate in size, clean and modern. Most of the fittings were in good repair; the exception was one of the two(!) toilet roll holders in the bathroom which was listing alarmingly.

As we've come to expect from the Marriott, everything was clean and tidy, and the staff were friendly without being obtrusive. Scott at reception deserves a special mention for his friendly welcome. Breakfast was the standard buffet, with plenty of choice (cooked, cereals, juices, continental, make-your-own toast and pastries), but the room seemed fairly small so might get busy when the hotel is full. We had no problems arriving just before 9am on a Sunday.

Unfortunately, the view over the marina from the restaurant (and other half of the bedrooms) is being obliterated by a huge apartment block currently under construction, so anything billed as being "marina view" would probably not actually have anything like as good a view as might be expected.

We found lots to see and do within walking distance (bars, cafes, shops, museums and beach) and with free parking in the hotel's large car park we found the rate of £122 for a deluxe double including breakfast to be pretty good value.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Stayed here in December. Hotel was about average nice rooms , very modern and clean but was greeted by smell of chlorine from swimming pool on entering hotel foyer which was a bit offputting. Bar area and restaurant very average and quite small. Expected something a bit more classy from Marriott.
The location is great though and the view from the bedroom was superb even in the middle of winter.
Staff were very good and did their best to ensure a comfortable stay

Stayed: December 2007
Thank HappyTraveller007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We enjoyed our time at the Marriott Swansea very much.
We stayed in a deluxe king room, which was beautiful and clean, and had a view on the marina. We slept very well ; the hotel is so quiet.
Sheets, pillows and towels are very soft and clean. Toiletries are very nice. Same for the choice of teas.
We used alternatively heaters and air-conditioning and they were efficient and silent, and the room was never ‘stuffy’. It makes a change.
The highlight of the place is the beach nearby, which was great for our little boy and despite being nippy March we spent a long time picking up shells making castles etc.
The hotel pool is OK but the water is far too cold so we stayed in the jacuzzi all the time. We took our son with us despite being not allowed but the pool was too cold for him as well.The gym is tiny but well equipped.
Other than that the staff are so lovely. I was impressed at all times.
I can’t comment on food other than breakfast which was alright.
Now can’t wait to return there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecilette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Stayed at the Marriott for one night over the weekend.

Arrived around 20.00 and were checked in VERY efficiently. Car Park to room in about 5 minutes.

Room very nice - exactly what you'd expect from the Marriott brand. Two double beds, clean bathroom, coffee & tea facilities. Don't think it's the Marriott Revive bedding but certainly comfortable enough. Very good night's sleep - we were on the 3rd floor overlooking the Marina - very quiet, no noise from the corridor overnight.

Had dinner in the hotel - was £50 for 2 including wine and food was first class.

Had breakfast in the morning which was about £10.50 each - great selection (again standard Marriott fare).

Internet access in the room is quite pricey - £15 for 24 hours. We managed to log on to Swansea Marina Internet which was £2 per hour dropping to about £10 per day.

Car park is secure - CCTV all over the place. Don't really know the area around the hotel, but seems quiet and nice.

Overall - a perfectly good stay with no issues to mention!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank THJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed one night and got upgraded to double queen size beds. The hotel is easy to find with a nice situation next to the marina.

Room was clean and spacious though one of us thought their linens seemed a tiny bit musty.

Breakfast was fine, we got an inclusive rate.

The one surprise is the lack of restaurants around the marina. We found only a chinese buffet and pub. We went for the pub where the beer was good but the food inedible. I guess we should have eaten in the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbgeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

I recently stayed at the Swansea Marriott and find it to be rather a mixed bag.
The staff are excellent - efficient, polite and professional and our recently refurbished bedroom was lovely with fresh decoration, a huge comfortable bed, quality furniture and a nice view over the marina. However, the bathroom was small and although clean, really nothing special and a little on the basic side. Room service was prompt and reasonably priced.
The weakest point of the hotel is the restuarant and the food that they served there. It is a very small restuarant for a Marriott hotel and has absolutely no ambience or atmosphere whatsover, with basic decor and bland furniture. As per my review title, it really is like a Little Chef and not of the standard for a four star hotel.
Maybe we were unlucky but the food was very poor. Soggy overcooked vegetables that were shared between 2 vastly different meals and so didn't compliment the food, sauces sloppily poured into dishes and dripping all down the sides and an absolutely unidentifiable bit of fish that was inedible.
Breakfast again was mixed. Plenty of cereals and a lovely fresh fruit salad but the cooked elements were dreadful with over cooked sausages and the most horrendous dried, powdered scrambled egg that reminded me of baby's cradle cap - revolting! There were an awful lot of semi full plates left at the surrounding tables - not a good sign!
To sum up - would stay again but on a room only basis!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
778 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Marriott Hotel

Address: Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#4 Family Hotel in Swansea
#4 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $109 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling Maritime Quarter on the enchanting Swansea Bay, the Swansea Marriott Hotel captures the charm and beauty of its Gower peninsula surroundings. A gentle stroll to the city centre is complete with lively markets and attractions. Surrounded by the very best of Wales' golf courses, a short distance from the Liberty Stadium and Ffos Las Racecourse, the Swansea Marriott Hotel has appeal for all. Experience a superior level of service and the warmest of Welsh welcomes. Our spacious guest rooms offer supreme comfort and functionality. Make use of your in-room workspace, before unwinding in our Leisure area, with mini gym, pool and sauna. The hotel restaurant serves local produce complemented with fine wine, which follows through to our extensive room service menu. The Swansea Marriott Hotel has an impressive Conference and Banqueting facility, complemented by expert catering. Whether you're on business or a relaxing break, the Swansea Marriott is the ideal venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swansea Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swansea
Swansea Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing