We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

No chance to enjoy full facilities as just overnight stay. Otherwise it was excellent. Staff went the extra mile to help, restaurant a delight and food great. Excellent location. Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Good offers for certain days of the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    398
    178
    55
    27
See reviews for
212
320
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were looking for somewhere nice to have a family afternoon tea and settled on the Marriott in Swansea due mainly for the location right next to the Marina. Dissapointment is really not a suitable word for the expereience as there were some good points although these were outweighed by some very low points. I telephoned beforehand to ask if afternoon tea was on the menu and was put through the resturant, however the telephone dafaulted back to reception before it was answered, on the second attempt I was connected and they had to call me back after checking with the chef what was on offer. They called back within 15 minutes and I informed them that if I was going to go I would confirm a little later. About an hour later I called to confirm only to be told that the manager had already booked me in. Upon arrival, the look of confusion suggested that they were not expecting us and we were questioned as to the fact that I was going to confirm by telephone prior to arriving. We were shown into the bar area to wait for the kitchen and then shown into the resturant where the chef was having a meeting with his staff. The waiter then took our order and had a varied selection of sandwiches on offer. We made our choices and waited for the Tea & Coffee & orange juices to arrive. When it did one cup was dirty and had to be replaced, the tea and coffee were in stainless steel and not china and the orange juices in chunky half pint glasses. The cake stand duly arrived with two finger sandwhiches each containing what we ordered and totalled 8 in all. (Two each) They arrived on Wheatmeal bread with crusts cut off, the bread was nice, fresh and light, however, it may have been nice to request the type of bread we would have prefered. The Scones came already with cream and Jam in, I have a dislike for Jam, although like a nice scone. The cakes were either Walnut and Banana sponge, very light and tasty but eight slices and warm Treacle Tart four slices. we were given a plate each and a knife, no serviettes, no forks and no spoons. It would have been nice to have had some extra hot water, A fork to eat the Treacle Tart with and also someone to ask if everything was to our satisfaction, of which it wasn't. 4 Stars? hardly, it would have been better if we went out for a meal rather than afternoon tea. as it was very much a 4 Star Price. £32. The atmosphere of the resturant was very cold, no music, not much of anything really very nondescript. Not one of my first choices if I ever want to treat my family to afternoon tea

Room Tip: For afternoon tea - Forget it, cannot comment on accommodation or other facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Regular visitor to this hotel. Last visit in March 2013 for a 3-night stay. Good base for Swansea and the Gower and excellent train service for visiting Cardiff for big sporting events. Provides a cheaper alternative to staying in Cardiff when these events are held. The hotel is reasonably well appointed. Breakfast is very good. Dinner menu is limited although what is provided is excellent. Staff are friendly and efficient. Rooms are lovely, especially those overlooking the marina which have two double beds. Downside has been that even though our car was registered correctly with reception after having returned home we have twice been issued with a fixed penalty parking fine for using the hotels car park.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely position over looking marina from one side of the hotel and the beach from the other side. Room was a very good size with comfortable beds and standard facilities. A minor criticism on the room is the water temperature in the shower. Whilst stood under it , it would fluctuate from warm to boiling hot to cold. It was slightly annoying and I probably would of mentioned it to the hotel if I had been showering children. Restaurant in the hotel was pleasant with very tasty , well prepared and presented food. Breakfast had plenty of choice. Staff seemed as though they wanted to please their customers and were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend break (3 nights). We had a nice room on the third floor overlooking the bay. We had relatives nearby so only had breakfast in the hotel. Found out by accident that the hotel give vouchers for a reduced price breakfast, so we made use of this. It was an excellent buffet breakfast, all freshly cooked. Used the leisure facilities, lovely pool and a mini gym.

Room Tip: ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen67070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid glamorgan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for a two night break with my husband 7th and 8th March to celebrate our birthdays, greeted at reception desk by very freindly staff. Room had lovely view of the Marina and was a very good size, very clean and contained everything we needed eg tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and safe. Pool and spa small but suited our needs for a relaxing visit. On the first night we had a snack in the bar bacon and brie paninis very nice! breakfast very good lots of choice cereals, cold meats and cheese, pastries, then buffet hot breakfast with plenty of choice plus could order fresh pancakes, waffles, pancakes, kippers and choice of eggs. Evening meal excellent we had the 3 course set menu £21. During our stay walked from the hotel to verdis in mumbles, lovely walk along the beach and the promenade and then back - we could hardly move following this approx 12 km walk. Also worth a visit is the Grape and Olive restaurant behind the hotel located on the 28th floor fantastic views over bay and city we had a coffee and light snack after our mammoth walk.
I have no negatives to say about our stay to sum up staff all very freindly and helpful, food of high standard, room clean with lovely view, lovely positon on the sea front , will definately return.

Room Tip: I rang the day before and asked if we could possibly have a marina view, this could not be guarantee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having arrived quite late on our first night, we were joined by family to eat in the restaurant. The restaurant itself seemed quite dated however there was a St Davids Day Special menu which was a very reasonable £21 for 3 courses. The food was delicious. We had a selection of main courses and all agreed, they were very tasty and well cooked.
The restaurant staff were very accommodating despite us being late vacating the restaurant.
The bedroom itself was quite spacious (triple room which had 2 double beds for the two of us), with heavy curtains that kept out the light. Breakfast was a choice of continental/full Welsh breakfsat with additional hot bacon baps on Sunday morning.
The location is excellent, right next to the beach front. We had a comfortable stay, but I would agree with previous reviewers that it is in need of a bit of a facelift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayceeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#14 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Marriott Hotel

Property: Swansea Marriott Hotel
Address: Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#4 Business Hotel in Swansea
#4 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling Maritime Quarter on the enchanting Swansea Bay, the Swansea Marriott Hotel captures the charm and beauty of its Gower peninsula surroundings. A gentle stroll to the city centre is complete with lively markets and attractions. Surrounded by the very best of Wales' golf courses, a short distance from the Liberty Stadium and Ffos Las Racecourse, the Swansea Marriott Hotel has appeal for all. Experience a superior level of service and the warmest of Welsh welcomes. Our spacious guest rooms offer supreme comfort and functionality. Make use of your in-room workspace, before unwinding in our Leisure area, with mini gym, pool and sauna. The hotel restaurant serves local produce complemented with fine wine, which follows through to our extensive room service menu. The Swansea Marriott Hotel has an impressive Conference and Banqueting facility, complemented by expert catering. Whether you're on business or a relaxing break, the Swansea Marriott is the ideal venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swansea Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swansea
Swansea Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing