We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Comfort, Friendly Staff, Great Food and Bad Weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Marriot Swansea over the Jubilee Weekend and we were satisfied with what the hotel had to offer.

It was my birthday and our first anniversary, we stated this as a special request and requested a sea view room but instead we got a room overlooking the car park. We were a bit disappointed but since we booked with a third party website the special requests may not have gone through to the hotel, we decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and didn't even bother complaining.

First arrived, ample parking at the car park, exterior looked a bit 1990s but never mind we thought, made it to the reception and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. I wish I remembered her name but she was extremely helpful. She asked if we were dining with them that night and when we said no, she showed us all the nice places to eat near by. She answered every question we asked and was very helpful!

The room was a good size, everything was squeaky clean! something I have to emphasize though, THE BED WAS AMAZING!!! THE BEST BED I HAVE SLEPT IN! Very comfortable!

We went in to the city that night and was glad the hotel was close by as it was pouring down on the way back!

The breakfast was very good! A good selection! with most food being freshly made! The only negative point is that there was a long queue for breakfast as the restaurant is quite small. The woman at the restaurant sorted everything out very quickly. To be fair, we were quite late to come down for breakfast and it was a busy bank holiday weekend!

We went down to the beach after breakfast and were amazed! We didn't expect it to be that clean and picturesque. We had a long walk on the beach and back to the hotel via the marina which is equally nice. After exploring Swansea and Tenby during the day we were too tired to go out that evening, we decided to hit the pool and the hot tub which were very nice and again clean! We had dinner at the hotel that night and found the food good although the menu was quite limited.

We had breakfast the next day, again, there was queue. The food kinda made up for this! Oh, very good coffee by the way! Not the usual cheap stuff!

Check out was good. again, very friendly staff!

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

just had a short five day break at the Marriott hotel in Swansea, and can honestly say that it is one of the most enjoyable hotels we have used. the staff were delightful - helpful and friendly - always pleasant - nothing too much trouble. the hotel itself was comfortable and clean, also in a prime position being close to the waterfront and near to the shopping centre and all the other attractions. food good. what more can i say...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineguest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a lovely stay for a night here, was on the ground floor and thought it might be noisy as there was a wedding on but never heard a thing! The rooms were spotless and modern. Breakfast was very good, a nice selection was offered. Check-in was a bit slow but it's in a really good spot in Swansea, right on the beach, next door to the marina and very close to the city centre for restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilburnAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This marina Marriott has all the "mod-cons" expected from Marriott but in addition the Welsh hospitality was exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dl15man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been staying at the Marriott Swansea for over 6 years now and can honestly say that the staff here have made it a home from home. The location is superb, with beautifull sea and marina views and within walking distance to the local amenities. The hotel offers a homely feel with staff understanding your needs and making you feel as part of the family. I would like to give special credit to Julie the restaurant manager along with Hilary at breakfast who always remembers my liking to porridge and Vanessa and her team who make me feel welcome every time I check in. I have stayed at other hotels in the city when unfortunately this hotel is full but nothing has compared to the service that I have received here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room but check first in case there is a function on as you may be kept awake by p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This would probably have just scored a 4 had we not crossed the Front of House Manager as we checked out, hence only a score of 3. Check my record, but I think this is the first time I have scored a place as only 3.

The good points - location is good and right next to a lovely sandy beach and a promenade. It is about 6 or 7 minutes walk to the main shopping area of Swansea. It is easy to find and close the main east/west road that runs through the south of the City - from J42 of the M4 keep following the same road and you will eventually start to see brown road signs for the Marriott which will take you that last mile or so. The room was good with air conditioning, decent bathroom and the hotel was clean and tidy. Some staff were excellent, particularly James, the Restaurant Manager, and the young man on Reception who arranged for us to have bath robes so we could walk into the Leisure Club even thought they were not part of the package for our room. The Leisure Club has a good pool and Jacuzzi, small sauna but the gym (and I’m not sure you can call it that) is just an area on the poolside with four piece of equipment.

Niggles - the hotel lacks any character. It may say “Marriott” on the outside but inside it could be any mid/low end chain. I have never been in a Premier Inn but I would image that this is what one would look lie. Décor was well maintained but dull and uninspiring - mostly cream walls and light wood, not the modern, up market feel we have seen in all the other Marriotts we have stayed in. Everything is small, small reception area, small bar and small restaurant. Food was hit and miss. Breakfast was generally up to standard but eggs are cooked to order - if you have time to wait and, even then, the quality was sometimes questionable. The lunch and dinner menus are the same except it costs more in the evening. We had lunch one day and food, what there was of it, was well cooked and tasty but the menu is basic and the whole restaurant has the air of a mid market café rather than an up market hotel.

Overall, if you need somewhere to stay in Swansea this will be fine but don’t expect Marriott standards. Maybe we have been spoilt as we have previously stayed at various UK Marriott Country Clubs as well as a number of Marriotts in European capital cities. We also came straight to this hotel from a very upmarket Hilton.

Finally, do try to avoid Vanessa --, the Front of House Manager, because she appears to know the Marriott rule book inside out but will not even try to take into account how her customers might be feeling if they dare to challenge her!

Room Tip: Rooms with Marina views are better than the other side which just look over the Car Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

advantages : clean, there is a pool and a sauna and its close to the centre of Swansea and the shops.

disadvantages: the images on the website are not an accurate representation of the hotel. The pool is very small, the 'fitness centre' is a small collection of 3 or 4 step machines in a tiny open space in the corner of the pool. the hotel is old and outdated, the pillows become flatter as the night goes along. Most of the staff is indifferent or cold and unfriendly .the only luxury is maybe the fact that there is a tv infront of the average sized 'double' bed because The bathroom is very old style. I expected more from the breakfast for a 4* hotel. the view from the window is boring even if it is a sea view.

if you only want a room to to have somewhere to sleep for the night and dont mind paying minimum of 100 pounds for the night then this is the place for you , otherwise prepare to be disappointed by this supposed 4* hotel, I am sure it is not 4* buy the standards of the 21st century. may be 4* in the 1960s more like.

Room Tip: yes, dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
778 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 22 in Swansea
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Marriott Hotel

Address: Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 3SS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Swansea
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swansea
#4 Business Hotel in Swansea
#4 Family Hotel in Swansea
Price Range: $109 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling Maritime Quarter on the enchanting Swansea Bay, the Swansea Marriott Hotel captures the charm and beauty of its Gower peninsula surroundings. A gentle stroll to the city centre is complete with lively markets and attractions. Surrounded by the very best of Wales' golf courses, a short distance from the Liberty Stadium and Ffos Las Racecourse, the Swansea Marriott Hotel has appeal for all. Experience a superior level of service and the warmest of Welsh welcomes. Our spacious guest rooms offer supreme comfort and functionality. Make use of your in-room workspace, before unwinding in our Leisure area, with mini gym, pool and sauna. The hotel restaurant serves local produce complemented with fine wine, which follows through to our extensive room service menu. The Swansea Marriott Hotel has an impressive Conference and Banqueting facility, complemented by expert catering. Whether you're on business or a relaxing break, the Swansea Marriott is the ideal venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swansea Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Swansea
Swansea Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing