We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveler rating
349
474
243
81
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
474
243
81
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marina view two double beds restaurant staff car park public areas city centre reception staff sea front stayed here for one night breakfast was excellent lovely location family room saturday night good nights sleep leisure facilities gower peninsula gym
Filter
Updating list...
984 - 989 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

just had a short five day break at the Marriott hotel in Swansea, and can honestly say that it is one of the most enjoyable hotels we have used. the staff were delightful - helpful and friendly - always pleasant - nothing too much trouble. the hotel itself was comfortable and clean, also in a prime position being close to the waterfront and near to the shopping centre and all the other attractions. food good. what more can i say...

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineguest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a lovely stay for a night here, was on the ground floor and thought it might be noisy as there was a wedding on but never heard a thing! The rooms were spotless and modern. Breakfast was very good, a nice selection was offered. Check-in was a bit slow but it's in a really good spot in Swansea, right on the beach, next door to the marina and very close to the city centre for restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilburnAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This marina Marriott has all the "mod-cons" expected from Marriott but in addition the Welsh hospitality was exceptional.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dl15man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been staying at the Marriott Swansea for over 6 years now and can honestly say that the staff here have made it a home from home. The location is superb, with beautifull sea and marina views and within walking distance to the local amenities. The hotel offers a homely feel with staff understanding your needs and making you feel as part of the family. I would like to give special credit to Julie the restaurant manager along with Hilary at breakfast who always remembers my liking to porridge and Vanessa and her team who make me feel welcome every time I check in. I have stayed at other hotels in the city when unfortunately this hotel is full but nothing has compared to the service that I have received here.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view room but check first in case there is a function on as you may be kept awake by party goers.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This would probably have just scored a 4 had we not crossed the Front of House Manager as we checked out, hence only a score of 3. Check my record, but I think this is the first time I have scored a place as only 3.

The good points - location is good and right next to a lovely sandy beach and a promenade. It is about 6 or 7 minutes walk to the main shopping area of Swansea. It is easy to find and close the main east/west road that runs through the south of the City - from J42 of the M4 keep following the same road and you will eventually start to see brown road signs for the Marriott which will take you that last mile or so. The room was good with air conditioning, decent bathroom and the hotel was clean and tidy. Some staff were excellent, particularly James, the Restaurant Manager, and the young man on Reception who arranged for us to have bath robes so we could walk into the Leisure Club even thought they were not part of the package for our room. The Leisure Club has a good pool and Jacuzzi, small sauna but the gym (and I’m not sure you can call it that) is just an area on the poolside with four piece of equipment.

Niggles - the hotel lacks any character. It may say “Marriott” on the outside but inside it could be any mid/low end chain. I have never been in a Premier Inn but I would image that this is what one would look lie. Décor was well maintained but dull and uninspiring - mostly cream walls and light wood, not the modern, up market feel we have seen in all the other Marriotts we have stayed in. Everything is small, small reception area, small bar and small restaurant. Food was hit and miss. Breakfast was generally up to standard but eggs are cooked to order - if you have time to wait and, even then, the quality was sometimes questionable. The lunch and dinner menus are the same except it costs more in the evening. We had lunch one day and food, what there was of it, was well cooked and tasty but the menu is basic and the whole restaurant has the air of a mid market café rather than an up market hotel.

Overall, if you need somewhere to stay in Swansea this will be fine but don’t expect Marriott standards. Maybe we have been spoilt as we have previously stayed at various UK Marriott Country Clubs as well as a number of Marriotts in European capital cities. We also came straight to this hotel from a very upmarket Hilton.

Finally, do try to avoid Vanessa --, the Front of House Manager, because she appears to know the Marriott rule book inside out but will not even try to take into account how her customers might be feeling if they dare to challenge her!

Room tip: Rooms with Marina views are better than the other side which just look over the Car Park.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews