We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,171)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveler rating
348
469
233
78
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
469
233
78
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two double beds marina view restaurant staff car park public areas city centre reception area sea front stayed here for one night reception staff lovely location breakfast was excellent family room saturday night gower peninsula wedding gym
Filter
Updating list...
990 - 995 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We've been using this hotel for more than 20 years. My family roots are in Swansea, so the Marriott has become our default base for weekends away, catching up with cousins (the conference facilities and catering are great for family gatherings) and general relaxation, knowing that there is a well-organised oasis at the end of the M4.

To the west, you have a stunning view across Swansea Bay and wonderful sunsets. To the east, you look down into Swansea marina and you'll witness some impressive sunrises.

The restaurant is small by most Marriott standards. There are no suites. There are two basic sizes of bedroom (re-furbed a couple of years ago). Everything works. The cupboard/wardrobe space in the rooms is average (would benefit from expansion during the next refit).

We laugh every weekend, when we see the sign by the lift warning us to expect delays at tomorrow's breakfast because "the hotel is very full". In fact, the well-trained, well-organised and well-led staff always find space and we've never had to wait (maybe some customers are hyper-sensitive and can't stand a queue of one ahead of them???). The management team will always roll up their sleeves and help out in the restaurant. Over the years, we have seen many staff come (and very few go!) but the management/team ethos is clearly broadcast and - this place just works, very well and repeatedly. It's a great testament to the management ethos.

After years of having cigarette smoke blown through the reception and restaurant on windy days, we were delighted to note this time that the smokers have been banished to a purpose-built gazebo about 30 yards into the car park (see photographs). Fresh air at last!

We love it and we keep coming back.

Well done, Marriott Swansea!

The leisure club is fine and meets our needs

Room Tip: Book early. Remember to register your car details - they've got one of those annoying camera systems.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

For once a hotel that offers free parking. Our room was a family room, which had 2 double beds, not ideal for 2 children but ok. The room was clean and well fitted. The restaurant was good, with some nice choices on the menu. The food was well cooked, and the staff took time to talk to us. I did not think including dinner at the time of booking was very good value.

The pool area was clean but the "gym" was just a couple of machines at the side of the pool To be fair we booked this through an agency so did not pay the full price, so was quite happy

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wcwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We arrived at the Marriott Swansea and was impressed at the bar/ reception area, even though we noticed that there was a wedding going on, with guests all over the reception area. When we arrived at our £125 a night room we were very disappointed, the double bed wasn't a double bed, it was tiny, the room was way to hot to sleep and the music and noise from the wedding reception was also interrupting our sleep, on the second night of our stay there was another wedding reception with more loud music and drunk guest taking over the reception area. I would not mind this is it was a budget hotel such as a travel lodge but for a total price of £250 pounds i found it very upsetting. We booked this holiday to relax and refresh our self's, but we left the place extremely exhausted because of the lack of sleep we experienced. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was £15.00 each! which was ridiculously expensive. For £250 pounds we could have had a weekend in the hilton or a holiday cottage. The hotel is very tired , the bathroom was tiny and the air conditioning was so old fashioned! A room in the Premier inn is better than the room we had, I shall not be returning again, I feel robbed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I like the Marriott in Swansea as it is close to the beach, not to say, at the beach. The hotel is classical Marriott style, the rooms comfortable and clean. The bar is very nice and relaxing even on rainy afternoons ;D. The restaurant and bar services are very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. The parking is directly infront of the hotel entrance. The marina is around the courner and the next shopping possibilities are in a few minutes by car. The same is applicable for the old centre of Swansea. I only can recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

There is nothing wrong with the hotel. But there is nothing to set it apart from the others or define it. So nothing particularly great about it either. It lacks the "wow" factor completely. On the upside - It was clean, the breakfast was pretty good and although they were extremely busy, it was pretty well organized. Check in was very good and overall the staff are up to the job. On the downside - I did not get the type of bed I had been guaranteed, the room was freezing cold as they have that antiquated method of heating which has to be switched on - something like a fan coil I assume, 1 bar of soap, empty minibar - why bother having it in the room at all if you are not going to stock it - and I object very strongly to paying for wifi nowadays - although that was not the individual hotel's fault, as one pays for wifi in a Marriott. (Stupidly....) VFM - not really, compared to similar hotels in the area but we stayed there as the location was perfect for visiting someone who lives almost next door. It is ok - in my opinion, lacking in character and nothing exceptional, but passable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retro46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews