We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthwatering homemade treats”
Review of Maddocks' - CLOSED

Maddocks'
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Maddocks' Tea Room is now closed. We would like to thank visitors for their custom, support and kind words over the last 6 years. We will treasure many happy moments spent in the Tea Room with our customers. We are looking forward to our retirement together. Maddocks' Tea Room on the Gower Peninsula. We are all about using the best quality ingredients and wherever possible local produce. All items are homemade and freshly prepared on our premises. We offer warm friendly service and traditionally cooked cakes, pastries, breakfasts, luncheon items and afternoon teas. Maddocks' Tea Room is the perfect place on Gower to enjoy a hearty meal or delicious cakes with quality leaf teas and freshly ground coffees. Many customers stock up on a favourite cake or sandwich item before setting out on a lengthy coastal ramble along the cliffs to one of the nearby sandy beaches including Three Cliffs bay or to relax and 'refuel' for their journey home.
swansea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering homemade treats”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you have not been to maddocks tea room in Pennard yet then you do not know what you are missing.There are not many eating places in swansea that make all there own food from start to finish with the best quality,local produce but this is one.The byword here is excellence,from the welcome you get as you walk through the door,the service you get from the waiting staff and the mouthwatering homemade treats you get to enjoy.The breakfasts are fantastic,the homemade pies and quiche are to die for,and then there's the homemade puddings and cakes, lush! plus a vast selection of Tea's and coffee's.Oh, did i mention the pancakes,yummy
Don't be put off if all the tables are full and there are no seats,tell the waitress you are waiting and they will keep the next available table for you,it wont be long and believe me its well worth the wait....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigaliSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    6
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
“Stunning!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been here on numerous occasions since the tea room opened! We have always experienced the best service no matter how many of us there are ( 12 on one visit including 2 babies). Very friendly and accommodating staff and very family friendly. Couldn't recommend anywhere more! Prime location also will be back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beccacme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“irresistible”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Each time we go to the Gower, we go to Maddocks. We make it a part of our walking itinerary.It is just a perfect end to a perfect walk. The owners and other staff are very friendly .All the cakes are home- baked by them. They are absolutely delicious .Their meals are as scrumptious and beautifully presented. The coffees and teas are amazing.The tea room is clean, well presented and welcoming.
There are things in life you do not forget and Maddocks is one of them.Anyone walking past without stopping misses a magic moment.
Bertie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertie186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly tea room”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We called in here for take-away sandwiches and were nearly seduced by the lovely menu. The breakfast looked lovely, but we were travelling home and didn't have time to stop. We will definitely call in again next time we are in the area.
The sandwiches we took away were generously filled and very good value, and the welsh cakes which we took home with us were the best we had ever tasted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I just love it ! - the food is just so good - you will not waste a morsel - cannot wait to go again- friends came over from Canada and they loved it - the bake well tart and home made custard is just out if this world ! Enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maddocks' also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing