We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Patti Raj

Patti Raj
Ranked #92 of 662 Restaurants in Swansea
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were very disappointed, service was very slow and the food really not worth waiting for. There are definitely better Indian restaurants in swansea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    152
    95
    62
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but dreadful service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here a few times before and we had previously enjoyed the experience. Tonight a group of 5 of us decided to visit the patti raj on our quarterly curry outing. After being seated we waited some time for our drinks order to be taken - not a good sign. A friend who arrived slightly late had to go to the bar himself to get his drink as no waiter was to be seen. We ordered starters. 3 came at the same time, the other 2 arrived after everyone else had finished. About 45 minutes wait for mains. Food was actually very good when it arrived but no excuse for poor and amateurish service. We decided we would not visit again. We had intended holding a 50th birthday party there for a relative but will definitely not do so now. That's their loss not ours as there is plenty of choice in Swansea.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service ruins the experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were a group of 12 who visited for a friend's birthday on a Tuesday evening and had booked a week in advance.
We ordered our food and had to wait over an hour and a half for it to arrive despite the restaurant being relatively quiet. In that time we were ignored by all staff members who spent their time stood behind the bar chatting to each other. If there is a large group of customers who have been waiting for a very long time I think it only courteous to offer them drinks, a tray of complementary poppadoms or breads... After more than an hour of waiting we asked if they knew when our food would be arriving to be told it was on it's way out (only for us to wait another 20 minutes).
When our food eventually arrived there was no apology for the delay, and no 'enjoy your meal' as the staff continued chatting and joking between themselves, ignoring us completely. It was good food, the lamb saag and paratha bread were nice. Overall things were tasty (after almost two hours I wouldn't expect any less) and good for the price.
If it wasn't for the extremely poor service I would visit again as it's in a convenient location and the food was good value for money. But the lack of service, long waiting time and general rudeness did not make the food worth it. Go elsewhere!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EKG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Customer service is really important to me, and there is not much of it here!
No one acknowledges you when you walk in, although they do push past you.
You can't have popadoms while you wait for the rest of your party because 'you might get the menu sticky'.
White wine is placed on the table and left to warm up! When asked for the wine cooler, a room temp one appeared with no ice or water!
The food was nice and most of the party preferred their starter which was delicious.
However the bar bill was interesting- ripped of pages from a notebook with various numbers and prices and lots of doodles. You could not decipher it.
I felt the service was really bad, especially when we queried the bill and they showed us their artistic skills! However there was one young lady who was very nice and helpful when she was allowed!
Overall- good food, poor service and strange 'rules'.
Would I go again? No.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysontheroad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet - Swansea”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We have tried pretty much every Sunday Buffet at the main Indian Restaurants in Swansea over the last two years, more than once to be certain.

Unfortunately the Patti Raj today 6th April has to rank amongst the worst I have had.

I was so looking forward to an interesting meal of good quality, unfortunately I found neither.

Service was lack lustre, there was a wide selection if food to choose from but to be brutally honest it was not of a high standard.

There was also some very odd choices, vegetable Passanda where you had to play guess the vegetable, a lamb Balti which was made with meatballs??? Surely that's a kofta curry??

Food replenishment was also very slow so availability of the dishes was sporadic, for example I had to go to the line a second time to get a naan bread, also we had to request the poppadums when get usually come upon arrival at your table.

Overall very poor, I think we will be sticking to the Rose Indienne from now in and not shopping around.

Well time to get the check and get out of here...

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patti Raj also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Patti Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing