We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Times Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Alexander(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$75
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$86
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Morgans Hotel(Swansea)
$203
$192
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White House(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$56
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
4
0
2
1
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
0
2
1
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 19 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at this b&b....in the room that has been mentioned, and although the view was lovely, this was the only thing going for the b&b.
When we arrived we went on up to our room, although it was nothing special and we weren't expecting anything more than 3*, it was in need of some updating.
We booked a double room, now to me this means a double bed. Ours was a bit bigger than a single, but a little smaller than a double.
Our room had one tiny mirror in the bathroom, way back against the wall behind the sink, not great when your trying to apply make up or do your hair. No other mirrors in sight.
The wardrobe....hangers all over the place and no door knobs/handles just screws sticking out which could have been dangerous.
Then there was the window. When coming in one night after a lovely night out, we got to our door and all we could feel was a draft. This was due to the little window not shutting properly and a crack in the glass. Considering it was windy on our first night this glass could very well have blown in. All we could here was traffic zooming up and down the road. Disturbed sleep.
Another thing was the bed sheets. There was pet hairs all over our pillow and sheets. Found out later there is a pet cat.....not good for someone with allergies.
Our towels were also dirty. Our light beige towel had a red stain on it. I dread to think what it was.
We didn't even try breakfast. After waking up to the smell of last nights chip fat, which was actually breakfast cooking we decided to head out to breakfast.
I can honestly say i've never been so shocked at a b&b.
The only thing going for it was the owners are quite friendly and i'm sure they would have sorted out our issues, but after reading other reviews stating the same issues we decided not to complain as obviously complaints in the past have not made any difference.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Every time we come to Swansea we stay at the Times hotel and find it a lovely guest house. The owners are friendly and very accomodating with nothing being to much trouble. They try to accomodate for all sorts with no discrimination and if there is any problem they quickly try and sort it out like with a rowdy guest they once had....this may be the reason for the horrible owners coment. They are on the ball and if you are being disturbed by noise in the middle of the night they will sort it out as quickly as possible not like some places which tend to ignore any unwelcome trouble. The breakfast is lovely and the rooms are clean, cosy with some lovely sea views, unfortunately the rear rooms have no views but you cant have it all. As for all the negative coments all i can say is this ....Treat the place with respect and you will not be dissapointed with the service.

Room Tip: ask for room 4 or 10 for excellent sea views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzziegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip t, Manager at The Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I am not a fussy person by any means and i have stayed in quite a few of the cheap B&Bs on Oystermouth Road, but this has by far got to be the worst!
It is no cheaper than most of the other bnbs on this road that are of a much higher standard!
The room was freezing, our towels were dirty and the carpet looked as if it hadnt been hoovered for a very long time.
The bedding wes disgusting, we actaully slept on top of the beds as we were to scared to get in!
All of these i could of lived with, but i walked into the bathroom and there was a whole other issue......Carpet in the bathroom! Un-hygenic is an understatement.
I cannot comment about the breakfast in this hotel, as after seeing the state of the room, there was no way i was eating anything from that place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Again i find myself defending my property against a bad review when the only thing that is true about the review is that the bathroom did have carpet which has now been removed. The room was clean until they left which was a discrace...kebabs, chips, alcohol bottles all over the place and as for the room being cold theres a heater in the room which can be turned on manually so if they were cold all they had to do was turn it on. They came back late after a night out which is to be expected and they missed breakfast by oversleeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Diont even think about staying here they are rude and ignorant do not deserve cutomers,when i asked them to help because i could not get any hot water from the shower,they where rude and in the end we had to leave.and they are agressive,i dont know what type of person stays,there,but please do not think about staying.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

This review is way off the mark. The customer and his companion came 4 hours late and was drunk, he could not work the shower and was intimidating towards my wife when he came down demanding she show him how to work it but the manner in which he behaved made my wife ask him to leave and she give him his money back, when they left he swore at her, she went straight up to the room to find they had left all the taps on trying to flood the place and blocked the waste to cause overflow. The folowing morning he came back with another man demanding he have his aftershave back which he had not left here that was when i returned to find my wife on the doorstep trying to get them to go. I told them in no uncirtain terms what i thought of their behaviour as any owner would before phoning the police. The police came but they had gone so i rang him with the police here to tell him they would like a word with him but he said they were busy and would go to see them later before putting the phone down hasten to say they never went but the police have the incident on report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I won't be very long, on Oystermouth Road in Swansea you can find a lot of B&B and guest houses quite cheap compared to the normal hotels. Some of them have to be avoided. The Times Hotel is one of those, we had a room on the top of the building, it was very old, the walls and the roof were even a bit broken, the toilets were disguisting and really old, the electrical system quite dangerous and to complete the aweful situation, everything was dirty. My boyfriend picked up one of the pillows, and there were pieces of black dust under it. It is unbeliavable how some people can sell it as an hotel. We had to leave and to find another acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francescadoria80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip t, Manager at The Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

This couple were disapointed they didn't have a front room and let us know when they booked in. No soot on bedding so i don't know where they got that from. They went out to find another b & b with a sea facing room before coming back and asking for their money back because something had come up and they had to go back home. They had booked this room weeks in advanced and we turned a lot of customers away because we were full and were quite within our rights to not give them a refund but we did. We were in the process of decorating the room at the time so i can agree that it did need updating slightly but it was not dirty and as bad as they have made out but there remarks have been duly noted and we appologise for any inconveniance occured.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews