We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Times Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Swansea
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Beachcomber(Swansea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oyster Hotel(Swansea)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Alexander(Swansea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Morgans Hotel(Swansea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
4
0
2
1
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
0
2
1
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 19 of 19 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I am not a fussy person by any means and i have stayed in quite a few of the cheap B&Bs on Oystermouth Road, but this has by far got to be the worst!
It is no cheaper than most of the other bnbs on this road that are of a much higher standard!
The room was freezing, our towels were dirty and the carpet looked as if it hadnt been hoovered for a very long time.
The bedding wes disgusting, we actaully slept on top of the beds as we were to scared to get in!
All of these i could of lived with, but i walked into the bathroom and there was a whole other issue......Carpet in the bathroom! Un-hygenic is an understatement.
I cannot comment about the breakfast in this hotel, as after seeing the state of the room, there was no way i was eating anything from that place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Again i find myself defending my property against a bad review when the only thing that is true about the review is that the bathroom did have carpet which has now been removed. The room was clean until they left which was a discrace...kebabs, chips, alcohol bottles all over the place and as for the room being cold theres a heater in the room which can be turned on manually so if they were cold all they had to do was turn it on. They came back late after a night out which is to be expected and they missed breakfast by oversleeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Diont even think about staying here they are rude and ignorant do not deserve cutomers,when i asked them to help because i could not get any hot water from the shower,they where rude and in the end we had to leave.and they are agressive,i dont know what type of person stays,there,but please do not think about staying.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

This review is way off the mark. The customer and his companion came 4 hours late and was drunk, he could not work the shower and was intimidating towards my wife when he came down demanding she show him how to work it but the manner in which he behaved made my wife ask him to leave and she give him his money back, when they left he swore at her, she went straight up to the room to find they had left all the taps on trying to flood the place and blocked the waste to cause overflow. The folowing morning he came back with another man demanding he have his aftershave back which he had not left here that was when i returned to find my wife on the doorstep trying to get them to go. I told them in no uncirtain terms what i thought of their behaviour as any owner would before phoning the police. The police came but they had gone so i rang him with the police here to tell him they would like a word with him but he said they were busy and would go to see them later before putting the phone down hasten to say they never went but the police have the incident on report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I won't be very long, on Oystermouth Road in Swansea you can find a lot of B&B and guest houses quite cheap compared to the normal hotels. Some of them have to be avoided. The Times Hotel is one of those, we had a room on the top of the building, it was very old, the walls and the roof were even a bit broken, the toilets were disguisting and really old, the electrical system quite dangerous and to complete the aweful situation, everything was dirty. My boyfriend picked up one of the pillows, and there were pieces of black dust under it. It is unbeliavable how some people can sell it as an hotel. We had to leave and to find another acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francescadoria80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip t, Manager at The Times Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

This couple were disapointed they didn't have a front room and let us know when they booked in. No soot on bedding so i don't know where they got that from. They went out to find another b & b with a sea facing room before coming back and asking for their money back because something had come up and they had to go back home. They had booked this room weeks in advanced and we turned a lot of customers away because we were full and were quite within our rights to not give them a refund but we did. We were in the process of decorating the room at the time so i can agree that it did need updating slightly but it was not dirty and as bad as they have made out but there remarks have been duly noted and we appologise for any inconveniance occured.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Meerblick bei der Buchung beachten, lohnt sich! Fahrrad in der Umgebung mieten
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews