We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous home cooked food and lovely owners!”
Review of Poundffald Inn

Poundffald Inn
Ranked #186 of 645 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home cooked food and lovely owners!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visit the Poundffald every time we visit South Wales and we are never disappointed! Keith is the excellent owner and always has a warm welcome for us. The food is wonderful, using fresh, local produce and the specials are exactly that! It's especially lovely in the summer with the beer garden in full bloom! It's very child-friendly too! Give it a try and I am sure you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisamacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    14
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Limited”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a country pub with a lot of character and what food I had was very good. We had the dog so we were limited to eating in the bar which is great, I would never expect to take the dog in a restaurant. However, the menu in the bar was extremely limited and completely different to the restaurant menu. I cannot understand the difference in serving the food that is available in the restaurant and not the bar. Whilst the staff were very friendly, they seemed to evade the question. Thats all we wanted was lunch and have the same selection that was available in the restaurant. Very bizarre. As I said earlier, the food was very good, reasonably priced and well worth a visit,

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have now eaten twice at The Poundffald and each time has been first class. The service is excellent, friendly and welcoming, the food is tasty and homecooked and not over priced and the inn still preserves a pub atmosphere rather than being a restaurant. Nice real ale is a bonus. Set in lovely countryside near Swansea we will definately call again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dreadful service and systemsThere”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

There didn't 't seem to be any systems in place at all!
One person told me to sit down and they would come to the table for drinks and food orders. Meanwhile I saw other people were getting drinks from the bar so I went and ordered drinks but was told to sit down and he would take our order for food. I did this meanwhile the dozy guy served others drinks and then disappeared to the other side of the bar, staring into space. So I went and asked him if he was going to take our order. "Oh yes,"
Order taken, food arrived about 20 mins later. Two steaks. Would you like sauces? 5 mins later sauces arrive. Oh I'll get you lamb now. Gee thanks love. The other two are half way through theirs. I would like a sauce but wasn't asked. I did ask for drinks though. Reply "oh you can't ask m e for drinks... I don't think so and walks off. 15 minutes later is seen serving behind the bar. Down here for a weeks hols if I find a good place I stick with it this lot don't know their beer mats from their sachets of sauces
i was tempted to walk outand go the chippy. My advise don't bother going.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flossie1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very slow service , food ok”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

As title says, we ate at lunchtime and it wasn't particularly busy. The service at bar was slow and the food took a long time. The food is freshly cooked but still shouldn't take that long with a bit of prep!

Good deal on lunch menu if you spot it before you order, staff didn't point it out to us at time of order but luckily most of us e had chosen a main course from the special 2 course deal so they let us have the dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ntjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poundffald Inn also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Oldwalls, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Poundffald Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing