We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - rubbish managers”

Turtle Bay - Swansea
Order Online
Ranked #35 of 852 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food & drinks at reasonable prices but incredibly slow service. The waiters, waitresses & bar staff all worked hard but it seems everything has to go through the managers. The trouble is the 2 managers were more interested in mucking about with each other and so had no idea of their customers needs.
It took 20 minutes to be asked for a drinks order and it seemed take almost as long to pay the bill. Turtle Bay would have taken more money off us if the managers did their job.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank SeanDSDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Co-ordinator at Turtle Bay - Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello
We try our hardest to keep our standards up across all of our restaurants, so it's a shame to hear your review. We’re sad to hear things weren't right on this occasion, would you be able to tell us a little more about it on our email feedback@turtlebay.co.uk?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant on a Saturday evening with friends. Busy vibrant atmosphere with great offers on the best tasting cocktails. Staff were so friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed too much to ask - very attentive staff as we were asking for recommendations on food and drinks and they were very knowledge about the menus and what combinations work well. Melissa our server really stood out and we could not have asked for better service. Food and drinks were so tasty as well as being very well presented.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Catharine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Co-ordinator at Turtle Bay - Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

This is such a lovely review, thank you Melissa! We're so glad you enjoyed your first visit and hope you'll be back again really soon to try some more of our delicious food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very enjoyable evening with family at Turtle Bay. Great service from Phoebe. Lovely atmosphere and surroundings. Delicious Food would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank AquaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Bay - Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're so glad you all had a fantastic time and loved the food, drink and service! We really appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you all again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The starter was deep fried chilli squid. This was cooked well and the squid was good. Main course Goat curry with rice and peas and jamaican dumplings. Plenty of flavour in the curry with the scotch bonnet chillies tingling the taste buds.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank SimonH159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Experience Team at Turtle Bay - Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks SimonH159,

Sounds like your picked some of our best dishes! Scotch bonnet really does add a kick and well, we take our hat off to you for giving them a go and leaving us this awesome review.

Make sure you check out our app before your next visit.

Until then,

One Love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Always have a great experience at turtle Bay, and not been to this one before but did not disappoint!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank kellys185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turtlebayuk, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Bay - Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi kellys185,

Thanks for leaving us a lovely 5 star review! We're so pleased to hear you are such a fan of Turtle Bay. We love our team in Swansea and are happy to hear that you had a good time there. We can't wait to see you again soon, remember you can always join us for a drink in the bar before your visit to catch more of the 241 cocktail happy hour!

All the best,

Natalie and the Turtle Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay - Swansea also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Turtle Bay - Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing