We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a find!”

The Smugglers Haunt
Ranked #50 of 662 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open from Easter to the end of September Specialising in fresh food. Steaks, pizza, locally caught fish. Desserts to die for. Local seasonal produce. All dishes are home made and freshly cooked.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A jewel of a find!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were surprised to find this upmarket establishment with fine food and great service in this little beach resort!

We ended up going 2 nights in a row and it was a rare treat. I had the chicken liver parfait...as good as fois gras and the Gower beetroot + goats cheese starters. They also do fabulous pizzas with a modern twist!

Would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indi_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    67
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmm pizza!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Picked up a leaflet at our campsite in nicholaston so decided to get the takeaway pizza on the buy one get one half price deal on Mondays. The road into port enyon is single track at the end so be prepared to pull in to avoid other cars. There was no dropped kerb at the entrance to the car park so was a bit tight trying to get in. We arrived shortly after opening our order was taken straight away ( 1 neopolitana, 1 Padana) and were asked if we were waiting or coming back to pick it up. I asked how it was going to be and was told between 10-15mins- always a sign that food is freshly made, and we had the option to have telephoned the order in advance. We opted to sit outside to wait and 15 mins later 2 piping hot pizzas were brought out. We had a 10 min drive back to our site, but the pizzas were still hot and crispy and very tasty! Not sure I would want to pay full price unless I was eating in, but would definitely recommend from our experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrestonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“You should try it.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner - two nights in August '13

This is a great place. Serving staff very good - kitchen staff fantastic.

We had pizza first night - I have rarely had better. The squid and deep fried Brie starters were good too - easy to get right, but easy to get wrong - no complaints from us. Wine very reasonably priced. All on meal for three with one bottle of wine, two coffees and one desert was £60.00ish. Fantastic

Second night we spent more on more bit equally good quality and good value. Waiter remembered us and spoke to us and out 8 year old with humour - which we like. Hate to think some would think this rude! (Having read other reviews)

We'll go again - next time we are there, and if we lived closer, we'd go once a week!

Atmosphere not full 5 as they are too tolerant of noisy families with kids running around. Per hate of mine - gives people reason to keep kids out of restraunts ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trecynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service and burnt pizza!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was 8min to opening time and the waiter sent us outsite. We asked for a drink while we waiting, he said no. The meal arrived 40 min late! The wine was small and cost £4.5.The pizza was burnt and you couldn't tell what was on it. We had 2 different types and they tasted this same. Staff unprofessional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Smugglers Haunt is a welcoming and friendly place to eat. The menu is excellent offering a range of options from pizza to mouth watering lamb and belly pork!

We ate there several times during our stay in Horton and it's lovely to have a restaurant that you can walk to.

The last evening we ate there it was really busy with an unexpected influx of people ordering take away pizza. The staff were under pressure but they handled everything brilliantly and the service was excellent!

Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers Haunt also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Port Eynon, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Scurlage, Swansea County
 

Been to The Smugglers Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing