We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and charming B&B in a stunning location”
Review of The Coast House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coast House
Ranked #14 of 39 Swansea B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful and charming B&B in a stunning location”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

First of all, I must agree with the last review in that this place is anything but weird and I'm not quite sure if the people who wrote that review actually stayed there.
We were met with a warm welcome by the proprietors and felt instantly at ease. The location of the place is exceptional - unadulterated sea views - we spent a great deal of time sitting in the armchairs in the bay windows watching the sunsets.. Our room was clean and functional and had all we needed to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast was great with a nice selection available and presented in abundance.

A top notch place that shouldn't be overlooked if you're heading to Mumbles.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jagopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Well ignore the review that described this place as 'weird' as it definitley is not...its really nice and the owners are too! Our stay was very comfortable and our room on the second floor was compact, adequate facilities with a shower en suite and the view was brilliant, overlooking the bay. If I have to find a fault I can only think that the room was a bit dated but it was fine. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast could not be faulted - the Hotel Inspector would approve I am sure! Very good value for money and I will definitley return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m00ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHFORD, KENT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. Room was very "chintzy" but had comfortable bed with fantastic view across bay, which you could look at from your bed. Also had nice bay window with two armchairs. Good cooked breakfast with plenty of toast, fresh fruit, cereals, tea and coffee. Also had tea, coffee and chocolate in room. Very nice breakfast room with view across bay. Owners are a friendly couple for whom nothing is too much trouble. Only downside, ensuite was rather small and washbasin was in bedroom - not in with shower and toilet! - but this was only a minor detail considering the positives. Would definitely stay here again if we could have same room. If you book here make sure you ask for a front sea view room as these are larger and obviously have the best views. Hotel is very close to several restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRANNYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We spent three days at the Coast House and were very pleased. Great location, right across the street from Swansea Bay. Our room, on the third floor, was clean and spacious, with a great view of Swansea, the bay, and both sunrise and sunset. Breakfast , while not "special" was sufficient and our hosts provided us with great informaiton about places to go, directions, and the timing of the tides (important since we wnated to walk out to Worm's Head). Parking is free and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, oh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

The Coast House is called a bed and breakfast, but it is really a small weird hotel that people live in. The outside of it is beautiful. It is in a perfect location in Mumbles, right on the coast... literally about 30 meters from it. You can hear waves from your window.

The staff are weird old people.

The rooms are old, old, and more old. The beds are not comfortable. I stayed in a room with a full bathroom in it. When I walked in the room, I didn't see any bathroom! Upon opening a closet, ducking my head, and walking through, I realized there actually was a weird bathroom. Everything worked in it, but it certainly wasn't fancy or anything.

Breakfast was nasty. They have their own breakfast room, or restaurant if you dare. The tomoates were nasty, and if i remember correctly, they put beans all over your plate.

The place is not very expensive. It's in a great location. You get what you pay for here. I would recommend staying at some better place in Swansea.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — ugly and uncomfortable
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrevere1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
0.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
7.5 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Patricks with Rooms
Patricks with Rooms
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast House

Property: The Coast House
Address: 708 Mumbles Road | The Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coast House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sea front in Mumbles, with spectacular sea views of Swansea Bay, this small charming family run guest house prides itself on its comfortable accommodation and tasty breakfasts. The Coast House has just 4 rooms guaranteeing its guests friendly attentive individual service and a quiet relaxed break. 3 rooms are en suite shower rooms and 1 room has a private en suite shower room ( this is situated next door (no one else uses this bathroom, you have a key) All rooms have hairdryer,fluffy towels, complimentary tea/coffee making facilities and a TV with Freeview digital channels. Breakfast is included which consists of fruit juices, fresh fruit yogurt, cereals and a full cooked breakfast including a vegetarian option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coast House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast House Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing