We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of The Coast House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coast House
Ranked #14 of 40 Swansea B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2013

we made our decision to stay here based on advisor review and pics on its own website. As soon as we went in the front door my opinion was set. The stale kitchen smell and dark stained ill fitting carpet up the narrow steep hallway did it for me! I really wanted to leave when I saw the room but felt that was too rude. The website makes the rooms look almost boutique not the case in reality. We had room 6 on the top floor dismal an tired. Just very disappointing. the owners have made an effort with coordination colours etc but decor not done to a good standard. and things starting to look tatty Seemed clean until I looked for a socket for my phone charger behind bedside chest. Peeling wallpaper and at a thick layer of dust. There is a mirror over the chest of drawers which is too low to stand and dry your hair but use the only seat provided and the mirror is too high. Parking awkward and limited we had to pay to park. Shower room OK.
On the good side people were friendly breakfast was good service attentive. Bed soft but comfy Pub next door was good. Don't eat at the "good" italian restuarant overpriced average food with little ambience
we would never return to this place or reccomend to anyone we know.

Room Tip: other rooms may be betterr avoid room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilikeniceplaces4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed there over the Easter weekend with my family, good points, nicely decorated, near to everything, very very clean, lovely breakfast which really set us up for the day, made to feel very welcome and absolutely lovely views. Most importantly excellent value for money. Only two improvements, decent showers and a king size bed would have made it perfect, was a real struggle getting a good nights sleep in a tiny bed!

Room Tip: Views from the rooms at the front are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaT11572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights over Easter
We all thought that the hotel was great value for money, clean, warm, cosy and a great breakfast too. Lots of choice for continental option and any hot items cooked to order all came out piping hot and perfectly presented. Good quality ingredients too
It is a great spot to stay, close to lots of great restaurants
Out of the Blue
SA3
Patricks with Room
The views are spectacular across Swansea Bay and it is not far to drive to some wonderful beaches and loads of stunning scenery too
A little gem of a place
A huge thanks to all concerned

Room Tip: No tips all are Ok as it is a small B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseWestSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the coast house at Easter weekend for 2 nights. The location is great, easy to find along the main coast road and some free parking available on the the road. Room was warm, light and comfortable with beautiful sea view. Our room had an external shower room, but we had a key for just us to use it so was fine. Breakfast was excellent, home made quality cooked breakfast served to you. Worth noting they do ask you to pay cash or it's 3% extra credit card charge. Homely and pleasant rather than luxury, but all clean, friendly and excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a relaxed hotel/b&b with location being a must then this is the place for you. It's a stones throw from the promenade and sea beyond!

Downside is size of bathroom with a trickle of a shower...takes about 10 minutes to warm up and then about another 5 to get wet! However, the small en-suite was very clean and modernly decorated which was nice.

Room was spacious enough for two.
Bed slightly too small for my liking but then at 6ft 4ins tall I was expecting this.

My wife and I didn't have breakfast as we left early but I imagine the morning staff were very friendly...

Friendly welcome, a bed was needed, job done.

Yes, I would stay again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JammyJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stay here regularly for work during the week due to its location (overlooking the sea), the atmosphere (two generations of a lovely family run it), the price (sensible for long-term stays) and the spotless rooms. It's also a short drive away from some fantastic beaches. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 6, top floor, with window to side, sea view, and bathroom that looks as though it's in a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

guest house was lovely and clean and comfortable ,very friendly and lovely breakfast would go back again.mumbles is a lovely friendly resort with lots of nice cafes and restuarants.this guest house is on the seafront with a view over swansea bay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
0.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,014 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast House

Address: 708 Mumbles Road | The Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coast House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sea front in Mumbles, with spectacular sea views of Swansea Bay, this small charming family run guest house prides itself on its comfortable accommodation and tasty breakfasts. The Coast House has just 4 rooms guaranteeing its guests friendly attentive individual service and a quiet relaxed break. 3 rooms are en suite shower rooms and 1 room has a private en suite shower room ( this is situated next door (no one else uses this bathroom, you have a key) All rooms have hairdryer,fluffy towels, complimentary tea/coffee making facilities and a TV with Freeview digital channels. Breakfast is included which consists of fruit juices, fresh fruit yogurt, cereals and a full cooked breakfast including a vegetarian option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coast House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast House Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing