We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Coast House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coast House
Ranked #14 of 39 Swansea B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Great room, great view, great breakfast! What more can I say! Would definately recommend :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bakewell
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I would say my stay at The Coast House was nice enough, but not a place i'd have fond memories of, and not a place i'd return to. I stayed on the top floor in a room which was quite cramped - the bathroom was hidden behind a door which looked like a wardrobe - pretty quirky! There wasn't enough room for me and my partner to comfortably spend much time in there as it was simply too much of a squeeze - unless you are lying on the bed!!

A major plus was the WI-FI, which i cannot survive without....and this was great. Was a bit disappointed that the TV had no sound...just a hissing noise. But this wasn't the end of the world for me.

The breakfasts were also OK. fresh juices, nice tea and coffee and freshly prepared fruits etc. The cooked breakfasts were disappointing for me because I do love a full english and i felt a bit short changed! The produce didn't seem good quality to me, cheap bacon and sausage. Another usual thing was that on the first day we were never asked what we wanted, - we were just brought out a plate with one slice of bacon, one sausage, a cooked tomato and scrambled egg + white toast. I'd have liked to choose how i had my eggs cooked, and a choice of white or brown toast. I'd also have liked to be able to have toast after the breakfast too - for jam etc. On the second day we were asked about egg, but we just had egg, bacon and beans. No sausage, tomato, mushrooms, hash brown etc! It was a bit strange.

I was also annoyed at being told there would be a 5 % of the total cost of my stay extra charge to use my credit card....Oh and parking on the road, - no car park.

All in all I was comfortable enough, and the price is reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I write all of my tripadvisor reviews with an expection versus cost view and I have given this property full marks! I've stayed in many bed and breakfasts which simply don't deliver the goods, this one did! We paid for a bed and breakfast, not a five star hotel and it delivered and so long as you remember that, you'll be happy! The rooms are spotlessly clean and if you ask, they have some rooms available with spectacular sea views. Another bonus was the free car park across the way. 100 yards or so either side was pay and display and not overly cheap. Breakfast was of a good standard and the hosts are lovely, welcoming people. We will definitely return in the future. If you're going to this area, choose the Coast House!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Coast House. The couple that own it are friendly and helpful, and the cooked breakfast was great.

The location is great. Our room was on the first floor with a large picture bay window looking out over the sea across the road with chairs so you could sit and watch the (large) tide coming in and out at your leisure! It was a little bit small but not such that it felt cramped. It had also been recently modernised. The only downside was that the bathroom for this particular room was not en-suite but outside the room accessed by a separate key, but private and close enough to not be too much of an issue. I think most if not all other rooms were en-suite, but there is one next to ours at the front on the first floor that had not yet had the modernisation treatment.

There is plenty of free parking directly across the road from the hotel, and loads of pubs and restaurants along the main road that the Coast House is on. There is a bus stop right outside the B&B that can get you into Swansea, and a small land train that runs along the promenade across the road. The marvels of the Gower are also just on your doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

First of all, I must agree with the last review in that this place is anything but weird and I'm not quite sure if the people who wrote that review actually stayed there.
We were met with a warm welcome by the proprietors and felt instantly at ease. The location of the place is exceptional - unadulterated sea views - we spent a great deal of time sitting in the armchairs in the bay windows watching the sunsets.. Our room was clean and functional and had all we needed to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast was great with a nice selection available and presented in abundance.

A top notch place that shouldn't be overlooked if you're heading to Mumbles.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jagopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Well ignore the review that described this place as 'weird' as it definitley is not...its really nice and the owners are too! Our stay was very comfortable and our room on the second floor was compact, adequate facilities with a shower en suite and the view was brilliant, overlooking the bay. If I have to find a fault I can only think that the room was a bit dated but it was fine. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast could not be faulted - the Hotel Inspector would approve I am sure! Very good value for money and I will definitley return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m00ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHFORD, KENT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. Room was very "chintzy" but had comfortable bed with fantastic view across bay, which you could look at from your bed. Also had nice bay window with two armchairs. Good cooked breakfast with plenty of toast, fresh fruit, cereals, tea and coffee. Also had tea, coffee and chocolate in room. Very nice breakfast room with view across bay. Owners are a friendly couple for whom nothing is too much trouble. Only downside, ensuite was rather small and washbasin was in bedroom - not in with shower and toilet! - but this was only a minor detail considering the positives. Would definitely stay here again if we could have same room. If you book here make sure you ask for a front sea view room as these are larger and obviously have the best views. Hotel is very close to several restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRANNYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
0.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
7.5 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Patricks with Rooms
Patricks with Rooms
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast House

Property: The Coast House
Address: 708 Mumbles Road | The Mumbles, Swansea SA3 4EH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coast House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sea front in Mumbles, with spectacular sea views of Swansea Bay, this small charming family run guest house prides itself on its comfortable accommodation and tasty breakfasts. The Coast House has just 4 rooms guaranteeing its guests friendly attentive individual service and a quiet relaxed break. 3 rooms are en suite shower rooms and 1 room has a private en suite shower room ( this is situated next door (no one else uses this bathroom, you have a key) All rooms have hairdryer,fluffy towels, complimentary tea/coffee making facilities and a TV with Freeview digital channels. Breakfast is included which consists of fruit juices, fresh fruit yogurt, cereals and a full cooked breakfast including a vegetarian option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coast House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast House Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing