We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal”
Review of Junction 28

Junction 28
Ranked #14 of 428 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $47
Cuisines: European, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in pretty Newport in South Wales, Junction 28 restaurant is your first choice in great food. You'll have a unique dining experience, sitting in our converted railway restaurant. There are always 2 different menus available Monday to Saturday for lunch and dinner so there is always a fantastic selection to suit your palate..
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went here on Saturday 19th July 2014 for my wife's birthday. Went with 2 friends.
The 'starters' and main meal (venison) were delicious. Good price for superb meals.
The 'service' was second to none

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brassy1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    186
    85
    32
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have been to this restaurant many times and its hit and miss. Went there in the week and it confirmed that it would be our very last visit. The food was awful I had duck on a bed of what can only be described as a mush it ruined my evening and the service was poor.
I rang the next day to complain again and the manager was really not that bothered and was more concerned that the meal had been taken off the bill. He really missed the point! 20 years ago it was a great place but it's gone down hill.
There are far nicer restaurants in the area to go and some less expensive. I don't mind paying but expect good food and service and at Junction 28 I did not get either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Varied Menu - Overall Very Good”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Visited on a Wednesday night as a party of 13 for a birthday party. Between us we basically ordered most of the dishes off the menu and overall they were very good. A few stand outs were the Monster Pork Belly starter, the Pork Tenderloin main and the Chocolate Millfeuille desert.
The service was efficient and quick.
As it was a special occasion I thought the restaurant could have done something to mark that - even 1 glass of bubbly for the birthday girl?.
However overall very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited on Valentine's Day and will never return. The food was boring, overrated and tasteless. Very overpriced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We travelled from Swansea our son travelled from Warrington to meet up with our daughter and grandson.Junction 28 is one of the best restaurants we have ever eaten in.The welcome from the lovely lady serving the drinks,fantastic beautifully presented food served by first class waiters.Made our day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlwenMuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junction 28 also viewed

Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 
Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to Junction 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing