We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montgomerie Golf Course, Celtic Manor Resort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Golf”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lovely golf course, manor expensive to stay n waited too long for service at bar and breakfast n drinks also expensive. Would play there again but not stay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    60
    35
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“2010 course was a thrilling experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband was just thrilled to play in the footsteps of the Ryder Cup players. The staff made the experience unforgettable. He loved it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We managed to arrange a spontaneous night away having arranged baby sitters for the night. We needed somewhere reasonably local and well priced. I had never been to the Celtic Manor previously so we got a great deal online (official web site), at £92 for bed and breakfast. Myself and my wife were extremely impressed and the hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. What a lovely place, the hotel is really impressive, rooms excellent, Forum Health Spa wonderful and the Olive Room where breakfast was served was lovely. Breakfast itself was excellent. Huge choice and the quality of the ingredients was of a high standard. We have both thoroughly enjoyed our night there and can't wait to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hen Wlad FY Nhadau”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just like the iconic words from Land of my fathers by Evan James and his sons, Terry Mathews must be very proud of the iconic resort he has built on the gateway to Cardiff. A behometh of a building and the biggest national flag I have ever seen. Wow factor after wow factor awaits and rarely disappoints. Luxurious accommodation, delicious breakfast, great afternoon tea. Sadly I have not had the opportunity to partake in an evening meal. This was my third visit and I look forward to many more. Bar table service can be a little hit and miss but that is just an observation. This hotel is a real treat and must be experienced. You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wolves v Scotland Rugby”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to as it was cheaper than most if the hotels in Cardiff on match day.

Fantastic venue and superb staff. They too organised our journey into town on a shuttle bus (coach).

Venue is as you'd expect for a hotel of this type excellent.

The staff on the hand are on another level. Extremely professional, polite and attentive.

Brilliant venue and hotel. We will definitely be back.

Excellent hotel can't recommend enough. Oh and wales a wales win too...

Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyC0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomerie Golf Course, Celtic Manor Resort also viewed

 

Been to Montgomerie Golf Course, Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing