We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day out”
Review of Newport Wetlands

Newport Wetlands
Ranked #5 of 41 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

What a great family day out. Free entry, great walks, lovely park and picnic tables and a lovely cafe. The staff are all so friendly and accomodating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    73
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a summer picnic”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I recently came here with a friend for lunch at the café and it was lovely to sit outside and take in the view across the Wetlands. Although the site was very busy this didn't spoil our visit and it was lovely to spend a peaceful hour taking in the scenery. It would be nice if the café offered some more substantial options at lunchtime but I'm guessing they've only got room for a small kitchen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for toddlers”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had my 3 year old granddaughter for the day and decided to go to the Wetlands. On the way she kept telling me she was looking forward to going to the kingdom and had seen pictures of a lion on signposts on the way from Monmouth! I was a bit worried that she was expecting a zoo and would be a bit disappointed at a few birds!! However, we had a lovely walk out to the lighthouse, over the bouncy bridge where we saw 2 swans with 4 cygnets and numerous coots, ducks and moorhens. She ticked off species spotted on a sheet, although we didn't hear a cuckoo today or see a tortoiseshell or peacock butterfly, so she didn't get a prize! She was able to tell me from pictures around the reserve, which species she has seen on Springwatch!! She had a little play in the playpark there and was the only one there so we played pirates in the boat, watched by 2 Canada geese and their 2 babies! Then we came home and had a picnic in the living room and spent a lot of the afternoon looking through a british wildlife book, again identifying all manner of creatures, familiar and not so familiar. Will definitely buy her RSPB membership for either her birthday or Christmas.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank motherofthebrideroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“if you like birds and walking then this is for you.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

lovely few hours out,nice walks little cafe to sit in and have a snack they do lunch boxes for children hot and cold snacks.best to wear wellies if it has rained,there is a lovely play area for children but can get muddy under foot.you can see some lovely birds if you look carefully and some very rare,can get very busy but there is a lovely big car park which is free.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smokey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Newport Wetlands - RSPB”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First visit for some time, what a transformation. What a delightful place to have on the outskirts of Newport. We had a picnic lunch on the picnic site then spent a couple of hours bird-watching which was fruitful.
We were surprised that it was free but it does mean that it will encourage non-members to visit the site, appreciate both it's quality and see what the RSPB does.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Wetlands also viewed

 
Newport, South Wales
St. Brides Wentlooge, Newport
 

Been to Newport Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing