We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, staff a real let down”

Dutchy's Jamaican Jerk Shack
Ranked #8 of 428 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Newport
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was great, staff a real let down”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Started very well, but after mains our party felt rushed, extras added on to our final bill. Wouldn't ever go here again, real poor service, the young ladies working there need education in customer service ASAP

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jolered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    60
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service ends when you get your bill”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Food was lovely, service leaves a lot to be desired. Apparently we are all meant to pay attention to the fact that there is a sign in the window saying no card payments. So when we were ready to pay for our bill, we were told that they could not accept cards and two of our three people party had to trek into town to find a cash point machine. In the meantime I was left sitting at the table on my own in an empty restaurant for 20minutes completely ignored by the staff. But apparently that is ok because once you've been given your bill, your service stops 'quote the owner'. Very very poor, customer is always wrong. If it was my restaurant I would have offered the one customer a drink and certainly not have cleared the table to leave them on their own. Won't go again, very poor customer service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had amazing food and the atmosphere was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed the steel drums playing and the staff we very friendly and helpful. The staff even came over at the end for a chat, which was a nice touch! I had prawns, jerk chicken and chocolate orange rum cake for dessert. It was perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenkelly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ambiance Personified”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Do not be fooled by the area or the outside, this little gem is a piece of the Carribbean which has floated over the Atlantic & up the Severn Estuary.

We visited on a Sunday evening, it was quiet, just one other couple dined whilst we there, & we were told by a delightful hostess that Friday & Saturday nights were lively & well worth a visit.

The rum cocktails were divine, to die for for in fact, however, not a good idea on an empty stomach!!

The food was a good standard, very authentic, & all in all, it was an enjoyable visit.

We will be returning on a weekend evening to see if the four stars can be made into five :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mr Lynch”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Great food and an even better atmosphere with steel drum band playing whilst eating our food. I had ribs for starters which were quality and goat curry for main. Massive portion and the food was excellent...highly recommend this place as it is a little diamond within Newport. Redstripe on draught washed down the food nicely and the cocktails were enjoyed by my wife. Rum and raisin ice cream for the wife and we were both stuffed...2 courses and 3 pints for me and 3 courses and 3 cocktails all for under £60. Bargain and great quality food.

Helpful?
Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutchy's Jamaican Jerk Shack also viewed

 
Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to Dutchy's Jamaican Jerk Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing