We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Holiday Inns I've stayed in,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best Holiday Inns I've stayed in,”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Arrived with a coach party of 25 women football players for a one night stay prior to a game the following day in Cardiff. From the moment we arrived staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Rooms and the Hotel were very good and clean. The food we had for our evening meal was very good and followed our dietry guidelines well. We tend to use Holiday inn hotels. This was one of the best we have stayed in. Thanks to all again!.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with 300 appeared to be in a quieter location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

I am extremely pleased to read that your football group enjoyed their stay. We are widely known for the levels of service we provide to our guests each and every time and along with your review this is testament to this statement.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newport and myself and my team look forward to greeting you at our hotel again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    222
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
138
151
30
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stopped here for 1 night on way to the ferry, it was ideal,close to the m4, really friendly and helpfull staff. There was a park within walking distance for the kids to run around after a long car journey and the free breakfast filled us up for our onward journey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeePrice01, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

I am extremely pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us and that my colleagues were friendly and helpful during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Philippa Ebdon
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

"I and a party of teenagers [and equally immature dads !] stayed at the hotel on Saturday 5/4/14.

I am writing to thank you for an excellent stay, and to commend your helpful and patient staff for making our visit to Wales so enjoyable and comfortable.

I am afraid I can not remember all the names of the ladies and gents on reception and the bar, but they were all fantastic. Thank you again ! Kind regards, Richard N. Gommo."

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeePrice01, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Newport.

I am pleased to see you had an excellent stay with us and I will pass on your lovely feedback to my colleagues.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Philippa Ebdon
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Its a new and very much 'factory' hotel where there's minimum fuss or care taken. All rooms are the same, the staff are courteous but somehow it just feels a bit unwelcoming and the lack of facilities and food choices means you need to walk next door to the Dragonfly (a theme style pub).
Great if you have a short stay. Relatively expensive compared to what you might get by shopping around - full price is pretty similar to a 4* hotel.
Rooms are big, clean and beds are comfy. In room facilities are great - food choices are pretty poor and comprise largely cook-chill items.

Room Tip: Check out where the road is - and make sure you're on the car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeePrice01, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Newport.

We value all feedback, good or bad; as it allows us to continuously improve our services and facilities we have on offer at the hotel. I am disappointed to read that you found the hotel to be unwelcoming and I would like to assure you this is not our standard of service.
I hope this does not deter you from staying with us again in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Philippa Ebdon
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

An efficient artificial option: travellers sleep factory.. Wherever you go they look the same. Bedrooms a reasonable size and clean, linen is particularly good, pillows fine, bed OK- but I like them softer. There is plenty of lighting, a place to hang clothes, desk space with lots of plugs, a sofa which I expect turns into a bed. Big TV.
Nothing is lavish- two standard coffee straws, two standard tea bags, wash-gel bottle firmly attached to the wall in the shower room. Good shower, but a shower curtain, for heavens sake, rather than a door! Clings coldly to the body, as it doubtless has done to the body of the guest the night before, ough! Plenty of good size towels.

Their prices are not that low, depending on how you book,(it says £120.00 a night above the desk, but I wonder how many people pay that?) but it feels determinedly budget.

It has a 'free breakfast', where most hotels would do B&B at the price anyway. So the breakfast is probably the poorest I have eaten anywhere, the only cooked choice is scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans. Otherwise, it is pretty horrid sliced bread for DIY toasting, a few bits of fresh fruit, cereal, packaged yogurt, jam etc.
Dinner menu, served until 9 is a textbook example of instant heart attack. Everything is processed, mostly deep fried, even the vegetarian option is a quiche, no fresh food any description. You can take it to your room yourself if you want room service.
I do not know why I cannot love this hotel more, I have been there several times. There is the minimum number of staff- doubling up on reception, bar , restaurant etc., but they are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin Goodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Robin Goodfellow,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I certainly apologize that the breakfast selection did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location just off the M4, easy to access, lots of parking, a warm welcome, good sized clean rooms, food at reasonable prices, attentive staff and a "free" breakfast and "free" (good strength) wifi - what more do you want? Holiday Inn Express hotels "do what they say on the tin" and this is a prime example.

No complaints, lots of positives and all at a reasonable price. Yes I will be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for the purpose of visiting mother in law in Royal Gwent hospital. Easy to get to from train station, clean, comfortable, warm and welcoming. Dragonfly pub next door perfect for evening meal. Breakfast perfectly adequate. Will definitely be staying again as good value for money

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on the Holiday Inn Express Newport.

It is extremely pleasing to read that one of our guests has enjoyed their stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service to each and every guest at the hotel.

Also thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast offerings, we are currently in the review stages of our breakfast and to know that the offerings we have are "perfectly adequate" is a pleasure to hear.

I look forward to hopefully greeting you as our guest again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
8.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport
Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking .Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free wireless Internet available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers a free continental breakfast with selected hot items each morning and under-18s stay for free in our Family rooms. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. We are delighted all of our guestrooms have now been refurbished and have a completely new look. We have added in lots of extra features including irons, ironing boards and better hair dryers to make sure that you have even more home comforts when you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing