We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I only stayed one night but was very pleased with the overall comfort and standard of this hotel. Breakfast offered a good variety of choices, and other meals are also available. On arrival I was greeted by very friendly staff. I liked having a sofa to sit on while watching TV in my room. I know this was probably to provide an extra bed if needed but was very comfortable. Little touches like a choice of firm or soft pillows, easily available hair dryer, and the door to the en-suite opening back to form a door to the toilet cubicle within the en-suite, showed that thought had been given to design and comfort. Some noise did filter through from the room above but it's hard to avoid in most hotels and it didn't bother me. I unfortunately had a problem with plumbing in my room but when I reported this the next morning I was told that if they had known I would immediately have been moved to a new room. On my return home the Manager updated me on what this problem had been and what had been done to prevent it happening again and I was very satisfied with customer service. It seems unlikely there would be a problem staying here but if there was my experiences indicates that the staff would immediately deal with it. The only drawback for someone like me who travelled to Newport by train is that the hotel is situated some way out of town, further than I had realised. Fine for those travelling by car but it was a £10 taxi ride from the station. It was dark and rainy when I arrived and I left quite early in the morning so cannot say more about location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    220
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
137
146
29
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the Newport Holiday Inn Express for a single night during Oct 2012 on a business trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a short break or particularly anyone travelling alone for business. I found the facilities and service to be as good as or better than a full-service Holiday Inn: friendly staff from the outset; no charge for parking; the building and bedroom were modern, warm and comfortable; the towels were soft which is not always the case in hotels; the shower head was not in a fixed position (ie handheld was an option); the hairdryer had a decent power level; the television had a tv guide/info facility which is not always available in hotels and food was available at a reasonable price on-site. My only slight frustrations were the lighting level in the bedroom which could have been brighter and paying for internet access where this is included in the room-rate for priority club members at other locations. That said, I would certainly choose to return to this hotel and personally like that breakfast is included in the room rate. I would choose this brand for comfort and value for money over its main competitors as a clear preference.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor which was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I stay at Holiday Inn Expresses all over Europe and this has to be one of the best ones around.

The staff are really friendly and they make sure that everything is perfect for you. The location is great and the pub next door serves great food at reasonable prices.

Would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling into Wales

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Garya2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

we stayed here for a wedding found the staff to be lovely and friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and clean and spacious. beds were lovely and comfortable and breakfast was brilliant.. couldnt have asked for better! would highly recommened staying here and would do so again myself.
close to m4 which was also great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly nadine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

situated close to m4 motorway between Newport and Cardiff with bus stops directly outside in both directions-an all day ticket covering both areas costs only£3.50.
rooms are very clean as is breakfast area where a complimentary continental breakfast with good choice of food is worth taking.
staff are very helpful and there is a pub next door with good selection of food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on business. The room and bathroom were surprisingly large and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would not hesitate to stay there again. The price of the room means that this is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matts3872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed for 1 night fantastic hotel the staff were amazing could not do enough to make us feel more welcome .
Justine and David special mention went out of there way could not recommend this hotel and there staff high enough .

Great service with a smile really enjoyed their jobs.
Breakfast fantastic.
Even charged my golf battery for me during the night .
Colm

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
8.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport
Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking .Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free wireless Internet available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers a free continental breakfast with selected hot items each morning and under-18s stay for free in our Family rooms. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. We are delighted all of our guestrooms have now been refurbished and have a completely new look. We have added in lots of extra features including irons, ironing boards and better hair dryers to make sure that you have even more home comforts when you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing