We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we stayed here for a wedding found the staff to be lovely and friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and clean and spacious. beds were lovely and comfortable and breakfast was brilliant.. couldnt have asked for better! would highly recommened staying here and would do so again myself.
close to m4 which was also great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly nadine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    220
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
138
150
30
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

situated close to m4 motorway between Newport and Cardiff with bus stops directly outside in both directions-an all day ticket covering both areas costs only£3.50.
rooms are very clean as is breakfast area where a complimentary continental breakfast with good choice of food is worth taking.
staff are very helpful and there is a pub next door with good selection of food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on business. The room and bathroom were surprisingly large and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would not hesitate to stay there again. The price of the room means that this is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matts3872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed for 1 night fantastic hotel the staff were amazing could not do enough to make us feel more welcome .
Justine and David special mention went out of there way could not recommend this hotel and there staff high enough .

Great service with a smile really enjoyed their jobs.
Breakfast fantastic.
Even charged my golf battery for me during the night .
Colm

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newport around 50 nights a year for work and have never had any problems with the hotel.

I work for a sports governing body and we base all of our training camps out of this hotel with its good location to Newport and the surrounding countryside.

The staff throughout the hotel couldn't be more friendly and helpful, it's not just because I am a regular they are friendly to all the guests in the hotel.

The rooms are always cleaned to a very high standard and they have just had brand new TV's installed which is a major improvement on the last set of TV's in the rooms.

Wifi is free for six hours a day in the reception area which is very useful.

The breakfast is usually well stocked and has a good selection, it's not full English but there is more than enough on offer. Breakfast can be busy at times, there is plenty of seating but when large groups or tours are in the breakfast area does become crowded however if the staff are expecting a busy morning they will put notices up around the hotel warning customers and inviting them for an earlier or later breakfast.

The bar area is spacious and the whole feeling of the hotel is very modern and clean. The car park is large and never seems too full.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a stay in the Newport area, with its good links to the motorway it's also and ideal stop for anybody heading on to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the car park side are quieter Mobile phone reception is better in the room the higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MossleyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This review is the same for Newport Wales as I wrote for Southampton, Excellent value all round. They have the same format for their Hotels that I have stayed at in the UK, breakfast is not exciting but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenVBeerwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel four years ago and were happy with our stay that we decided to book in again on our recent visit to Newport. The hotel provides a good service from check-in to departure. Only minor things - Rooms are a tad on the compact side but are modern and clean. Breakfast is standard continental with a few hot items (alas, no bacon!) provided. Free newspapers provided in breakfast room. There is a limited dinner menu served in the lounge area which was pretty good. Would have preferred a room service option as Bar TV was intrusive while eating. Free WIFI offered in foyer area with Internet PC if you don't have own laptop etc. Hotel is away from the town centre so own transport or local cab needed. Plenty of parking available. Very good hotel if wanting somewhere quiet and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneK197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
8.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport
Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking .Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free wireless Internet available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers a free continental breakfast with selected hot items each morning and under-18s stay for free in our Family rooms. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. We are delighted all of our guestrooms have now been refurbished and have a completely new look. We have added in lots of extra features including irons, ironing boards and better hair dryers to make sure that you have even more home comforts when you are away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing