We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable but what a night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night the room was lovely the bed comfy and the bathroom very well designed.

But this stay was memorable purely on the antics of the night.

We were just going off to sleep whenI thought I heard the door latch go. Then suddenly two members of staff came storming through the door. I shot up in bed in shock and they to one look at me and looked just as shocked to see us, they turned on their heals and got out of the room as quickly as they appeared.

Later In the night we had just managed to get back to sleep when the fire alarm went off. We didn't know what was going on or what to do. After 5 mins I ventured out into the corridor to see what was happening and just found lots of other people wandering around in the night clothes. No staff to be seen, we didn't know if we should get out or what. Eventually someone went down to reception, came back and said the staff said they were sorry it was a false alarm! Then the alarm stopped and we all wondered back to our rooms and back to bed.

We woke up to a letter find a letter of appoloy for the fire alarm, shoved under our door.

Breakfast wasn't great. Not much for veggatarians.

When we went to book out and reported what had happened they appologised and gave us a free stay in the future.

We will go back and use that free stay as the hotel room was lovely and maybe when the hotel isn't as busy as it was that weekend the breakfast will be better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gas700girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 618 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have tried other hotels in the area, and found this one to be the best for, service, comfort, location, breakfast and facilities. The staff are pleasant and helpful. At breakfast 01/04/2012 a group of guests were being very difficult, the staff dealt with the situation in a calm, dignified way,and made sure the rest of us had everything we required. Thank you to Heather, Nicola and Sarah. Elizabeth S

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very clean hotel, room was nice and I had a good night sleep. Ideal for the weary business traveller

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Have stayed at this particular hotel on several occasions so feel that I can give an informed opinion. The staff at this hotel are extremely professional and friendly. Any queries were dealt with promptly and front desk staff were very helpful with regard to local services/amenities. Rooms are excellent - well maintained and clean. Restaurant/bar staff always very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Always asked for room on car park side which is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeePrice01, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for your continued support. We are committed to delivering the best customer experience and I am pleased to hear that the staff made your stay such an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I was really pleased with my stay, the staff were excellent the room was excellent the only thing stopping a full five dots is no bacon in the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel in a large group several times when our sports club competes in Cardiff. It's very accessible just off the M4 and only half an hour from Cardiff central. The hotel is quite big and has a lovely open reception and bar area with comfy leather seats and flat screen TV. The staff are very friendly and work very hard, but were a bit overstretched as there seemed to be only two staff running reception, the bar and housekeeping the evening we stayed. You're able to either order take aways to be delivered to the hotel reception/bar area which many people do (menus available at the hotel), or else eat in the pub just next door. The reception/bar is a great sociable area to meet up with friends and chat with other guests.

The bedrooms are a nice size with flat screen tv and a kettle etc. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bedding is clean and crisp. The bathroom is also spotless with a great power shower (liquid soap is provided by the sink/shower) and the door is cleverly designed so that you can still get to the sink/mirrors if someone is using the loo. The air con was quiet and efficient. All very clean and comfortable indeed.

The breakfast is adequate but it would be nice to have a decent cup of coffee instead of those dispensed out of the machine or having to make your own with sachets. The only other moan is that we, like others, had problems with the electronic room keys and had to return to reception a couple of times to get them reset.

We'll happily come back to this hotel for our next Cardiff trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel is by far the best place you will find in terms of customer service and satisfaction. We started staying at this hotel a couple of years ago, and we will never look back. We have now stayed here numerous times and I can honestly say that you will not be disappointed. The rooms are very clean, spacious and have tea/coffee facilities. This hotel is immaculate- you will not find a clearer hotel in Wales (im sure of that)! The last time we stayed here we had a slight issue- but was dealt with immediately and rectified immediately by the great manager (Lee) that runs this hotel. The staff in this hotel would help in any way they possibly could to help your stay be as comfortable as possible. They all go beyond what is expected of them. The team within this hotel is the best we have experienced (and we stay at hotels monthly with work) so this should fill you with confidence. Breakfast is included in the room rate- which has always been hot and replinshed quickly by the lovely staff.
I am absolutely amazed with the service and care that this hotel offers, I would like to thank you all very much.
Keep up the hard work, we will be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellrodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
607 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 18 in Newport
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $46 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking. Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free Wi-Fi available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers an inclusive continental buffet breakfast with selected hot items each morning and kids stay free in our family rooms when sharing with a parent. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. Our comfy guestrooms are perfect for unwinding in. Inside, you'll find lots of handy features including 32-inch TVs with Freeview, en suites with a power shower and complimentary tea/coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Express Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing