We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the best locally, without a doubt”

New World Chinese Restaurant viii
Ranked #121 of 466 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $42
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 8, 2013

There all you can eat buffet.
you order they cook.
you keep ordering?
They keep cooking.
Starters and mains are included.
puddings are extra.
staff are friendly and helpful.
If you want something which isn't on the menu
They will try to accommodate you if they can.
Portions are small?
But this isn't a bad thing just means you order more.
If you want lots of one item?
Just order to portions.
Robert is a great cook and when ever he gets a chance
he comes out and checks everyone is ok.
Great place for romantic evening, small little snug areas.
But also great for large parties.
Will i return?
YES
always have and always will.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank allen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We found the restaurant via Vouchercloud offering a 2-4-1 on Main Courses but on arrival at restaurant realised the buffet option was far better value and all food was chosen off the menu and cooked fresh, as much as you can eat. No food under heat lamps with utensils used by everyone else just fantastic quality freshly cooked food. Food arrived quickly and had wonderful taste.

The staff were friendly and informative.

We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 children) and all enjoyed the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank pathfinder400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldChinese, Manager at New World Chinese Restaurant viii, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

We are happy that you found us through voucher cloud, even more please that found our buffet of great value. Hope to see you, your family and friends soon.

Thanks you for taking the time out to write us this most excellent review, which no doubt, I believe would be of help to other travellers to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best Chinese in Wales.
Great food and great friendly service. It is so good we went back the next night to try more of the 167 different dishes on offer on the buffet menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Suzanne1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldChinese, Manager at New World Chinese Restaurant viii, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

We are happy that we can be of service, and to merit a return the very next day. Hope to see you next time when you are passing through Newport.

Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Everything about the New World restaurant is quite a double punch combination, for example as their menu is both extremely competitive priced while providing spectacular tasting food.

Then, staff are both very friendly and chilled out, while also providing an extremely quick and efficient service.

It's definitely enjoyable during each visit re-confirming what I had previously only heard word of mouth from my friends and associates that the New World Chinese restaurant is the best in newport (...sadly my only real issue is the enjoyable large portions means it a sorry future going forwards for my waistline).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Scottch999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWorldChinese, Manager at New World Chinese Restaurant viii, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves.

As you mention the portion was large, we assume you went with the A La Carte menu.

Many thanks for your time in writing the review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Food very good service to be had here is also very good come and try it the only way to find out for yourselfs is to come and try it for yourselfs

6  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New World Chinese Restaurant viii also viewed

Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to New World Chinese Restaurant viii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing