We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always dependable and good”
Review of Tredegar Arms

Tredegar Arms
Ranked #306 of 435 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A recently fully refurbished and relaunched managed pub, serving great food and drink. We also have quiz nights and live entertainment
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always dependable and good”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Good food and service, lovely atmosphere whether it be a sunny day in the garden or winter by the fire.

The manager (tall guy with an earring) doesn't miss a trick and ensures excellent customers service.

Nice pub food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhysjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    64
    32
    55
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Recently visited the Tredegar Arms for the second time and found the food to be of the same high standard.The staff are very pleasant and helpful and I would recommend a visit to this establishment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan28347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good village pub”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here on a regular basis for around six months so my experience of the tredegar arms is that of Many visits rather than just a one off.
I find the food is very good without being spectacular but it is a pub, not a fine dine restaurant. I have gone through much of the menu here and it stacks up well. I have seen chip shops and cafes reveiwed on tripadvisor ahead of fine dine restaurants For this reason I score 5 because it does everything I expect from a village pub.And Peroni on tap!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank euroroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hasn't improved. Avoid.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went back to Tredegar Arms recently following a very bad experience a couple of months ago.Friends had booked this and I didn't want to be a 'damp squid' so gave it a second chance. Food mediocre. Service very poor. Manager again bordering on aggressive with customer that was complaining. I can only confirm that there is a real management attitude problem with the management of this establishment currently. I won't return whatever the circumstances and advise others to avoid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheresaNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Ok food - TERRIBLE service”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I ate here with 12 work colleagues. We have a monthly lunch and like to try different places near to our offfices. I have eaten here before, quite a long time ago, and liked it, so we decided to give it a try.
We all PRE-ORDERED our food on the morning we were going to be eating, hoping that this would make it easier and save us time (being on a lunch hour). We booked the table and arranged for the food to be ready for 12:15pm. All 13 of us were there by 12:15pm, however there was no sign of the food. We asked three times where our food was and each time we were advised 'it'll be there now', however it didn't arrive after 3 requests. The members of staff did not apologise once for the delay, and did not even speak to us in a polite manner. Eventually it arrived around 12:40-45!!! The food that was arrived was average to say the least, if we weren't all so hungry and on a tight timescale we would have made more of a complaint at the time.
Shame as used to be a nice place to go. We will not be visiting again and will not be recommending it to anyone either!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tredegar Arms also viewed

Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 
Newport, South Wales
Rogerstone, Newport
 

Been to Tredegar Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing