We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crescent Guest House

Crescent Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crescent Guest House
Ranked #9 of 34 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

In the unlucky event to visit Newport, I definitely recommend to book a room in this beautiful, warm and cosy guest house.
Our room was incredibly spacious, clean, well furnished and bright (despite the Welsh weather). Bathroom had everything you need... Good full English breakfast. Let me say that the Crescent it is more a 4 stars hotel than a guest house.

Moreover, the friendly owner will make your stay cosy and extremely comfortable.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
21
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rainhill
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made most welcome by the owner Genia. The only regret is that we did not stay longer. We were given a choice of room, and stayed in room 10. Very well maintained room, with flat screen television, DVD player, extensive courtesy tray, large sofa, iron and ironing board, comfortable bed, separate bathroom with high quality toiletries to use. Breakfast was again excellent. Well done Genia.

Room Tip: We use room 10, on the top floor which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philRainhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a fantastic 1 night stay last night. The accommodation and hospitality is 1st class. The hotel is a home from home. The hostess is friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is 1st class and a great way to start the day. Would recommend this hotel as the best place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanEdwards43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

spacious and very clean room. No problems with hot water, but it takes time to appear! (see poor review). The proprietress went away for the weekend we were there, but her friend Sue prepared a tasty breakfast for us. Much better than a Premier Inn or similar!

Room Tip: Remember to take the fan that you are offered into the room when there is a heatwave! We forgot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebrew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Crescent Guest House for 2 weeks. The warm welcome from Genia was above and beyond expectations. The rooms are clean, bright and have all been given that special extra touch.
Thank you Genia...I would definitely recommend this place to family or friends

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely Victorian building with spacious clean rooms. The proprietor is very friendly and helpful but there was no hot water in my room and I discovered that my colleague in another room had the same problem. It soured an otherwise good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were welcomed with warmth and a huge smile by Gennia, the lovely owner of Crescent Guest House, and shown to our twin room on the ground floor. It was an extremely attractive room with a big bay window, comfortable beds and two nice big armchairs just made to sink into. There was also a desk, flat screen TV and good lighting. WiFi access was reliable. Spotless bathroom with fluffy towels and good toiletries. A generous courtesy tray awaited us with all the usual teas and coffee - but with an extra touch of instant soups. Great idea!

Breakfast, as others have written, was fantastic and served in a small, elegant dining room. In fact, the presentation of the breakfast added to our enjoyment of the plentiful food. Pretty table settings, quality dinner ware and proper cloth napkins. A delight!

Crescent Guest House is located not very far from the city centre. We walked there and back quite easily even though there is a hill leading up to the guest house. Parking is either on the property itself or on the street. Crescent House is a Victorian townhouse in a lovely leafy suburb and the park quite nearby was great - and full of cheeky squirrels.

But the very best bit of this B&B was Gennia who was vivacious, warm, kind and a mine of helpful information. A lovely stay, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Knoll Guesthouse
The Knoll Guesthouse
#13 of 34 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Guest House

Property: Crescent Guest House
Address: 11 Caerau Crescent, Newport NP20 4HG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a conservation area yet close to M4 and town centre. Totally refurbished, offering the highest quality and exceptional value for money. All our nine rooms have en-suite facilities including TV and coffee/tea making facilities. Newport city has many facilities for the visitor including leisure centre and parks and many bars and clubs. The historic Roman town of Caerleon and the newly built Veladrome, Bowling, Muitiplex cinema are approx. 10 mins from town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crescent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Guest House Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing