We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly”
Review of Albany Guest House

Albany Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albany Guest House
Ranked #24 of 34 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Overnight stay with dog - both of us felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay. Dog very welcome and treated as a guest :) Would definitely recommend as a place to stay with a dog. Owners very friendly and great breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bq12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Have just got back from my stay at the Albany Guest House. We went to South Wales for the rugby cup finals in Cardiff. The guest house is well situated for Newport Station with a 16 minute train trip to Cardiff. I am so pleased that we chose to stay at The Albany. Our twin room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and had everything that we needed with an en-suite, tv, wifi access and tea/coffee making facilities. On site car parking is also a plus.

Our hosts, Christine and Steve were marvellous and so friendly. I have the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble. I asked if we could put some beers in their fridge to keep them chilled and Christine brought a mini-fridge to our room for us to use Christine was very helpful with advice concerning the train and taxi services. Steve cooks a great breakfast using good quality ingredients.

It was a home from home for me. If I ever need to stay in this part of South Wales again I will definitely try to book a room here and will happily recommend the Albany Guest House to anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We have been working in the area and have lodged here for the past week. What a gem of a place, run by a lovely and friendly couple. Our twin room was very reasonable with comfy beds, full en-suite, tea and coffee facilities, TV and high speed wifi. I cannot fault this great place and will definitely look to return should we be working here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Lee180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed in this lovely guest house while we were down watching the rugby in Cardiff. Was greeted in a very pleasant and friendly way. Room was very cosy, comfortable and clean, and the services in-room were excellent. There is a really good feeling about this place that makes it feel more like a home than a hotel. After a heavy session in Cardiff post-rugby the full English breakfast was most welcome, not to mention absolutely delicious. Christine and Steve were extremely chatty and pleasant throughout. We are regular visitors to South Wales and will definitely stay there again. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had to stay in Newport for 2 months and was lucky enough to stay here. Being away from home is tough but Steve and Christine made it feel like home. They are wonderful people, you can have a drink and a chat with them and they make you feel at home. Having stayed in the majority of the rooms I can say they are all great very cosy and cute ;) I was reluctant to stay in Newport but they made the stay a fabulous one I recommend that everyone should stay here! The rooms are cleaner than most hotels and quiet and perfect for a good nights sleep and stay. They have the cutest friendliest dog and they are just such nice people. I will definitely be returning!!! ;) x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've stayed at Albany for the last two months as I did my training at work. Couldn't imagine a better place to stay! It really feels like home with a top hotel quality! Christine and Steve are wonderful and they treat you like family! Great service, rooms, definitely the best place to stay in Newport! I will come back! And they have adorable dog! Tom.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFrashak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It was in a good location as I was attending a course locally.
The owners Steve and Christine Bradley could not have been nicer and very helpful.
The rooms were bright ,clean and cheerful and at a reasonable cost.
The food was excellent.
I will stay there again and would recommend it anyone

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
608 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#4 of 18 in Newport
5,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
468 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Barn Inn
The Old Barn Inn
#1 of 2 in Llanmartin
343 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Solar Strand Hotel
The Solar Strand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosskeys
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Guest House

Address: 409 Chepstow Road, Newport NP19 8HL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run guest house close to motorway links and the city centre. All rooms have showers, some are fully en suite. We have a small car park at the rear. We have wi fi internet access. We welcome pets by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albany Guest House Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing