We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife booked a night at the CM for my birthday. It cost £109! We arrived at 3pm and checked in before spending a couple of hours in and around the pool. A couple of drinks in the bar and we made our way to the Olive Tree Restaurant for our buffett dinner. I had mussels and salmon to start and my wife had salmon. Main course we had pork loin with vegetables but couldn't resist adding some stir-fried beef. We tried a selection of the deserts before I ended with some cheese. Next morning we had a super breakfast. Our room was truly 5* with a superb bathroom and a balcony.
All this for £109 for a couple! Amazing. I've looked for similar deals in 5* hotels but can't find anything that comes close.
At breakfast our waiter asked if we had far to travel home, He smiled when I told him "about two hundred yards". Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,936 - 3,942 of 5,753 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

The 2 points I award are for the excellent spa facilities and the equally excellent and professional spa staff. Unfortunately, this efficient professionalism does not transfer to the restaurant serving afternoon tea. My daughter treated me to an early Mother's Day spa and tea package. We had a lovely 3 hours using the pool, steam room, etc and generally relaxing, then moved on to the restaurant. Booked in fine and they accommodated my daughter's request to sit near the window. Not long after, were asked what tea we wanted which was duly produced but the waitress turned and went. At no point were we asked if we would like the optional Prosecco. We then waited a good 20mins. Eventually a young assistant came along and asked the waitress who they were for. She pointed to the table opposite - they were seated about 10minutes after us. a real no no in a restaurant where everyone was having the same. We then waited another age before he brought our sandwiches and cake and told us if we wanted anything, to ask the waitress. The trouble was, she never looked across, to ask for help we would have had to get up to get her attention. At one point, she went over to the table opposite and asked if they wanted more tea, but never asked us, even though, as we had been there so long, had an empty teapot. At that point, my daughter went to the front podium and asked what we had to do to get served. Service improved slightly, but not with a smile, and we got more tea. By this time we were irritated and could not bother with Prosecco. We have had tea at the Ritz, lunch at the Savoy and Langham, dinner at the Millenium in Mayfair. We have eaten at several Marco Pierre White restaurants, Ken Hom and other top London restaurants so know a bit about 5 star dining, and this was not 5 star. Infact we get better service at our local Brewers Fayre. We did complain to the restaurant manager before leaving and were offered a glass of Champagne which we declined, as somehow the timing, just as we were leaving, was not right we just wanted to get out of there and would not have enjoyed it. Besides,
I complain because something is not right, not necessarily because I want compensation or freebies.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Happyholidayer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

stayed on a wed night for my birthday on a DBB package, upgraded the room to a corner with walkout balcony, lovely spacious room with great views, although room was a little tired, chairs a bit tatty & carpet stained and fraying,could do with a refurb,although bathroom was luxurious and well appointed(could do with some hooks for towels or dressing gowns). Dined in Le patio restaurant in the manor house, and the meal was lovely, good choice although there were quite a few supplements for certain meals, service was great and the atmosphere relaxed.Breakfast was ample and a good variety to choose from but a small point was the placemats were cracked and chipped & not what you would expect in a 5 star hotel! overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YAJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

On the whole a positive experience once we managed to get passed the doorman who did not want to allow my husband to drop myself and our luggage off at the main entrance.
The free car park is poorly signposted and there is nothing to tell guests that there is free transport to and from said car park.
Apart from this the stay was very good with excellent accommodation service and food.

Room Tip: Ours was a superior room,front facing which was on the 9th floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked on one of their half term special packages which was excellent value - room, breakfast and dinner at Olive Tree restaurant all included. Very friendly hotel, lovely that kids, businessmen, the French rugby team, grandparents... all enjoying the facilities together. Food varied and good. Tip: check in on arrival and then come back for your key at 4pm, no need to queue again! Concierge service for looking after bags is great and you can use the hotel facilities in the meantime. Free car park is down the hill but frequent and 'on-request' minibus service with drivers only too keen to please. We also booked the Activity Pass which was great (once they had found our booking which they had mislaid!). High ropes a big hit. I'd say the room furniture was a bit shabby for a 5* place, but not an issue for us particularly. I travelled with 4x16 year olds, a 14 and 11 year old. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherb4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Excellent facilities, great food & my room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable. Good breakfast it is also an easy location to find, can't fault this location. I can't recommend this enough I look forward to my next visit

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Cornishrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We took the Sunday Rollover in March but decided to upgrade the room and meal since it was for both me and my husbands birthday.
We really enjoyed the hotels gym and pool area - it really is a special treat to use these facilities all done out like a Roman baths gives a great ambiance.
Our balcony room on the 9th floor was a nice traditional room; however, we did feel in comparison to other 5 star hotels the rooms are in need of refurbishing. If you are a male golfer, this will be your dream hotel; however, the rooms don't cater very well for the women or children. The lack of a mirror in the room and a place for the woman to do her hair and makeup is very frustrating. This may seem a bit picky but when your trying to balance a shaving mirror out of the spout of a kettle just to do your hair and makeup with the nearest plug at the minibar - it get's a bit of a pain!
Don't think the hotel have thought much about how to prepare for your evening when the bathroom is being used and out of bounds by members of your family.
The upgraded meal was taken in Terry M's restaurant - the food is very nice and it is fine dining but I feel it was a shame that even though we had paid upfront for the dinner, bed and breakfast package we discovered we had to pay further supplements to have the beef dish. I feel this should be explained before you book, as both me and my husband were looking forward to steak or beef of some kind and ended up having to pay more even though we paid extra already to use this restaurant.
You will also find the hotel wall's very thin between rooms - quite entertaining hearing all of next doors conversation even without wanting to hear it but not so great when you can also hear the snoring from next door at 2am!
Overall, we enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it but we wouldn't bother upgrading the meal next time and remember to pack a travel mirror and an extension lead!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony more spacious and high rise gives a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 777Traveller1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
489 reviews
1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $122 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing