We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our stay didn't start great as we had booked a double in the Manor part of the hotel - this was in desperate needif refurbishment!The Front of House Manager in the modern hotel sorted us out & within 3 hours we were then staying in a top floor double which was in keeping with our 4 star expectations . Have to say the service & menu in the day / night bar was exemplorary. Although we didnt use the the spa facilities these looked great & many guests were taking advantage . Breakfast was ok but not brilliant due to the volume of guestsv& nothing cooked to order . Golf absolutely brilliant &. Walks around hotel area were a bonus . We booked for RBSvat Millenium & the hotel coach organisation to & from the game was brilliant . On our return coach diver exercised discretion to wait over 30 mins for elderly couple - brilliant customer. service & we didn't mind one bit as Wales won . We would stay at this hotel again even though we favour smaller places .restaurant in old part of hotel was exemplorary with great service & bistro style menu .Would go here rather than hotel main restaurant .

Room Tip: If you book a standard room then request highest floor possible overlooking golf course . Same for s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,392)
There are newer reviews for Celtic Manor Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,620 - 3,626 of 5,392 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We took advantage of a January DBB rate which was very good value for money. We stayed in a Queen room on the top floor but only lasted a few hours in the first room as the electrics were shot. The first room was cold, with broken TV and no wall lights. My complaint was rectified very quickly and we moved to a similar room which was working fine. The best part of our stay was Le Patio restaurant, the food and service were stunning. The dinner was included and I would really recommend eating there.

Room Tip: Avoid the queen rooms on the top floor, smallish and a little drafty
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Arrived and sat in the bar. Had to go and ask for a waiter, then waited 10-15 minutes for drinks. When the drinks came the glasses were dirty and the cutlery had the remains of the last persons meal plastered all over it. Ended up having to leave without having the food after waiting for 30 mins plus for some soup. Wouldn't recommend to anyone! £14 for a burger as well!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dolby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I live in cardiff, just down the road from the Celtic Manor and for the past 6 years have occasionally treated myself to a stay here or treatments in the spa. The steady decline in service over this period of time is astonishing.

Staff used to be friendly and keen to offer help, as you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. My last three visits I've noted that the staff are at best stand-offish, and often outright rude. Each of the last three visits, I have left feeling inferior, and not a 'proper' guest.
This week my partner paid for our stay using a gift voucher he'd bought as partof a Christmas promotion. As part of this voucher we were entitled to a starter and main at the olive tree buffet (which incidently is looking alot more buffetish lately- it used to have more of a feel of self served fine dining.) The waitress who showed us to the table stated 'you do know that because you're paying with a voucher you can't have desert?!' For everyone seated very closely around us to hear. I feel that there were more discreet and delicate ways to remind us to stick to two courses! After our starter another waitress collected our plates saying 'ok that was your starter'. We had no intention of cheating them out of more food, but felt we were watched to make sure we stuck to two plates each none the less.
When checking in no one offered to carry our bags upstairs.
The whole experience and the two similar before it have left me decided that my next local treat will be at the St Davids hotel in Cardiff Bay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked a special night at the Resort for our 10th Wedding Anniversary last weekend thought it would be a nice treat with a lovely meal well think wrong!!!. On arrival we parked in their carpark that charges you while you stay for however long it is. Check in was good and the rooms were comfortable but have stayed in just as good star hotels. We booked a meal for the evening at the Olive Grove Restaurant which was a buffet for £32.50 each not including drinks. I have a serious NUT allergy and none of the waiters asked me if I had any allergies to certain foods, just offered us a drink. When we went to the Hot table, we had tomato soup to start it was ok nothing great, then moved onto mains only to find that all bar 4 dishes contained NUTS, so we ate: 2 slices of Lamb, 2 roast potatoes, 2 boiled potatoes, carrots and peas. Desserts were the same so ended up with a bowl of custard and chopped melon not good bog stadard!!

Room Tip: We had room 10th floor looking over back view of M4 motorway and small window that tilted open this...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very lucky to have just been to this "wonderful" resort for a golf weekend break. Sadly the courses were closed on the first day due to the recent bad weather. But we were reimbursed.

The bacon and egg bap in the Roman road club house was yummy.

Breakfast Yummy!

evening meal in the 2010 club house "vastly overpriced" and a bit rubbish. Sorry. Half a raw tomato and half a raw red onion??? Tiny steak.

The resort is out of this world though. Defo g again.

Sadly some of my lovely new clothes went "missing" from the concierge? Have been informed they will reimburse me. Still waiting. I am sure they will sort this out though. Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyladywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I travelled down with my son to watch the Wales v France game and in the absence of any available rooms in Cardiff we opted to stay at Celtic Manor in the Manor House. As a 5 star hotel you do expect cleanliness, quality and efficiency which the Hotel delivered totally. The lunch on Friday lunchtime in The Lodge was superb and fantastic value. The room was clean and very comfortable, the bar was bustling and fun. Breakfast on the Saturday was extremely good.
The overriding memory was the amazing service offered by the staff. Without fail each and every staff member we came in contact with was polite, efficient and very very friendly.
A perfect stop

Room Tip: Manor House is nice
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rushyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,855 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
4.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $114 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing