We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea awful!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Manor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Newport
united kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea awful!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Been for afternoon tea today for 2 adults and 1 child!! Before hand the menu looks amazing I emailed and asked them to Cather for our needs and make different fillings for our finger sandwiches which they did but all of around 2 and then the rest being the fillings I specifically asked to change!! Also missing some cakes as there was 2 adults eating and overall service was bad for a supposed to be 5 star hotel nobody came back to the table to ask for refills etc and tea & coffee went cold!! When I put my concerns to them they seemed very disinterested in general overall would not go back and would not recommend as its not cheap there for afternoon tea went to a different hotel last month for afternoon and could not fault that!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,891
    1,254
    879
    497
    380
See reviews for
970
2,033
54
716
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had the spa day as an xmas pressie but only used it yesterday (they have a 6 month expiry date). On arrival at the reception desk for the spa we were given a bath robe, towel & slippers, asked to fill in a medical info sheet. We were asked if we had visited the Spa before - no we hadn't. We were then showed around very quickly. The gym was never mentioned to us or if there were any keep-fit classes available to us - the voucher pack states that we could have the use of them. The pool area has a fair amount of good quality sun loungers and was absolutely spotless clean. The steam room, sauna & Jacuzzi were all fabulous & again spotless. Our lunch was booked for noon, we asked at reception how to get there..we had to go out of the spa area into a lift up to floor 6 along the corridor etc etc..we eventually found the room where there was a buffet lunch. It was okay. The fruit salad was the best thing about it. Again the room was lovely & clean. While we were having lunch some other spa clients were shown into the room by one of the girls off the spa reception - why weren't we escorted up there? After lunch (and another trek back to the spa area) we had our pre-booked treatment, which for us was a massage. The therapist was very professional at all times but if you would prefer a lady therapist ask when you pre-book. We then went back into the spa area to relax until we left. They do have plastic bags for you to take your wet swim suits home with you & also a drying machine (we came across these ourselves - it would've been nice to have been shown them/told they were available)

All in all it was a lovely day but we didn't feel that we were made that welcome by the majority of staff we met along the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elasticgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here numerous times and always enjoy - generally staying on the tenth floor - we've been lucky and always had a view over the hills. We've eaten in the Olive Tree & Rafters both of which are lovely.

My husband thoroughly enjoyed a round of golf here on the Twenty Ten course. There are a few small shops to the right of the main entrance - could prove useful.

We hope to stay again and will try to make use of the spa facilities next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited in early June for a major conference and stayes in the Manor House. The public areas were very nice and the conference facilities excellent. However, the rooms in the Manor House were very tired and need a facelift. The Manor is full of character and improving the rooms would make it a very good hotel. Staff were very friendly, food good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cymro-Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West country
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked a night at the main resort hotel for my girlfriends 30th along with a spa session. Right from my 1st phone call the team were very helpful and accommodating.
I requested a room with a view and wasn't disappointed, we were in room 968 which was 2nd to top floor with a view over the surrounding valleys and golf course.
I pre booked dinner at the olive tree and the staff there put us in a lovely little corner of the conservatory. Food was decent for a buffet restaurant but maybe not quite 5 Sara dining but ideal for what we needed.
My girlfriend loved the spa and it has been a long time since I've seen her looked so relaxed and refreshed.
My only grumble with the whole experience is that during the morning whilst I was loading the car, about an hour before check out my girlfriend was disturbed twice by the maids whilst he was breast feeding our daughter, she said it was the 1st time she has ever felt rushed to checkout of a hotel. I did report this on checkout and barely got more than a sorry - I wasn't expecting anything maybe just to feel like the staff old be told so hat it won't happen to another guest in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for high up with non motorway views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetset-wannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just spent a fabulous weekend here, in the main hotel, what a wonderful place. Although its a massive and busy place, we were very impressed by the calm tranquility of it all. We were never short of space to sit, relax and take in the surroundings, and non of the facilities or restaurants were ever overcrowded. The service from all the staff was warm and friendly and they were incredibly helpful. A special mention should go to the guys doing the meet and greet on the front door. Food was delicious at both Rafters and Le Patio, with excellent breakfasts in the Olive Tree. We made good use of the pool - gorgeous, very peaceful, and the spa which was busy, but not overcrowded. Christina gave me the best massage I've ever had. Really looking forward to visiting again one day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 9th floor all have a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife arrived earlier than I but was met at main doors by Concierge/Valet Parking, who unloaded luggage, and escorted her to check-in, although she had arrived earlier than posted check-in time, she was gladly checked-in as the room was available. The Valet Parking offered to Park the car and have it washed for £15, which waved the £7 per day charge, and she took them up on the offer. (In fact they hadn't washed the car at the end of the stay and were happy to refund the charge). We had a good sized double room and ensuite on the 9th floor, with mini-bar and balcony overlooking the Golf Course and in sight of the Severn Bridge, a good view. Everything was spotless and all was there that should have been.

After a courtesy bus ride from the Hotel door, we had a great meal with friends on the Mezzanine floor in the Rafters restaurant next to the 2010 Golf Course. (I think the inclusive package holders are seated there rather than the main restaurant which has a slightly better view). The meal was a 3 course affair with reasonable selection, and you can have some more expensive options and side dishes for a supplement (£3-£11 per supplement). The wine we had included (1/2 bottle per person) was a bottle of White Sauvignon from Chile and Red Tempranillo from Spain, both very drinkable (and of course we had extra bottles at our own cost, not too bad price).

After a bus ride back on, request, we had a night cap outside on the Terrace next to the main bar, staff were very friendly, and offered advise when one of the chosen drinks was unavailable.

After comfortable nights sleep, no noise till 6am, we were wakened by a fire alarm (well it happens), and trooped down the fire escape route but were directed into the lobby as it was a false alarm to wait for the Fire Service to give the all clear once they arrived in about 20 mins. No-one really explained what had happened, but they gave an all clear to go back to rooms. (NB for one guest who said he had been there for a week this was the 3rd time (at 12pm, 2pm and this one 6 pm - one of which apparently was some exuberant Footballers who had broken the glass on a emergency alarm button). Next I went to the Pool for a swim, this opens at 7am and is free of Children till 8am, Used the Pool, the Sauna and the Steam room and Bubble pool, all easy to use and friendly staff there to help.

On to breakfast, which was a hot (or cold) buffet affair in the Olive Tree restaurant There was plenty of everything, and lots of staff to help if needs be (although they may need reminding occasionally if you ask for something like extra coffee and tea or butter, it always came). A really good selection of usual breakfast fair, Sausage, Bacon, Black Pudding, Mushrooms, Scrambled Eggs, Tomatoes, Baked Beans, Sauted Potatoes, and refilled and refreshed regularly. Toast made by the staff, plenty of croissants and pastries and breads, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, meats etc and a special Gluten Free table.

So on through our daily activities, and good reports from the ladies of the Spa, Pedicures, Massages and Treatments (NB it's said you need to book about a month in advance and Mondays are particularly busy), superb golf courses (only spoiled by my complete inability to play the game), The Gym looked well stocked with equipment (if you like that kind of thing) and their Trails and Walks around the woods and courses if you like a hilly stroll.

Our second evening meal was in the Le Patio Restaurant in the old Manor House part of the complex probably about 800 yds from the main complex down 3 sets of escalators and along long corridors well-signed and easy to find. I daresay you could get a courtesy bus from the front door of the main hotel to the back door which is the Manor Hotel, but we walked - it's really a huge place built into the side of a hill. The meal was again good, great bread and butter pre-starter, with a good (and different) selection of starters, mains and deserts (one being the signature Crepe souzette, with lost of flames to entertain you), the staff were again helpful and friendly. The same wines are available for the inclusive deals here. A good walk back up to the complex to burn off about 1% of the food we'd enjoyed and another night cap (or two) in the main bar by the lobby being entertained by a singer/pianist with a pretty wide repertoire (one of two resident singers), again well looked after (one of my doubles came as a single, but was swiftly resolved without fuss).

Another good nights sleep, another good breakfast and a walk through the woods rounded off our very enjoyable stay. Even though this is a very big hotel, there are plenty of staff on hand everywhere to help you out. There are kids clubs and other activities, for youngsters and there are 3 other Restaurants we didn't get into, I would think the Terry M (a 3 rosette) one is not open to the inclusive package, but I suspect they would give you a discount if you asked.

Checking-out was simple and we were out by 12 noon, but could have continue to use the facilities without issue. Except when the Fire Alarm went off you never seemed to see that many people, although the Breakfast service did get a mad rush according to the girls doing the bread and toast, but that must have been between 9 and 9:30 as it was clearing out by the time we got there. A great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_From_NYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
13.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Property: Celtic Manor Resort
Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing