We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Update on the Celtic Manor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Manor Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Update on the Celtic Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm pleased to report that we have now visited the Celtic Manor Spa on several occasions .
I am delighted to say that they have revamped the showers in the Ladies Changing rooms . Also there is a new spinning machine for wet costumes .
It is now a pleasure to take a shower there .
It is nice to see that they have taken customers complaints on board and dealt with them .
We are now members of the spa and look forward to spending many relaxing days there .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,891
    1,254
    879
    497
    380
See reviews for
970
2,033
54
716
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My mother in law treated my husband & I to Sunday lunch in the buffet restauant on May 5th. Super surroundings lovely waitress Anna, but food disappointing overall some.Root vegatables undercooked I like a crunch but these were poor, the greens were not green more grey. Beef was
disappointing as was the yorkshire pudding it had clearly been left in the cven to keep warm & was like a bisciut not a pudding. We were disappointed to say the least the price charged was not reflected in the quality of the food on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellabutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I were treated to a weekend break by our daughter, her husband and grandchildren. We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and have never been disappointed. Our room was ready early and after checking in we enjoyed a delicious light lunch in Merlin's bar. I had a manicure in the spa which I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were attentive and friendly. After pre-dinner drinks we were taken by complimentary transport to The Newbridge on Usk for dinner. Our table overlooked the river and the view was lovely. The food and service were superb. Our driver collected us and took us back to the hotel promptly,he was courteous and friendly. Our room was comfortable and very clean. We had views over the front of the hotel and the gardens and part of the golf course. Breakfast in The Olive Tree was delicious and varied. Could not fault the experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8rockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as I had a voucher to have a treatment at the spa.
We arrived about 12 and supposed to check in at 4pm, but they had a room ready and couldn't do enough to find a room ready for us. We went to the spa at 3pm I had my treatment which was the best I've had (facial). Then went to the pool area and steam rooms etc.
Hugely disappointed - lots of annoying kids screaming - parents allowing them to. I thought they were contained to the kiddy pool but no, just as I got in the jacuzzi they came in and started screaming, parents did nothing. Hence I got out and spent all of 15 mins in the pool area.
Would not go to the spa again unless children are banned. Really ruined the spa for me.
The food in the olive tree was very nice, a buffett meal but very attentive service.
The breakfast was lovely although everyone seems to be in a hurry and pushed/shoved.
The room was lovely, very lovely bathroom and Elemis products. All in all, great place - children spoiled it.

Room Tip: The chairmans suite was lovely and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed two nights early May as part of a golf package. The deal we got (2 nights B&B with 3 rounds golf, one each course) was really good value, and the hotel was more than fine for our needs. Very busy so good bustle, plenty atmoshpere - mixed crowd of conference goers, golf trips of all sizes both corperate and private, and couples enjoying a short break. Good health club & Spa facilities, everything you could want really. Prices (bar and restaurant) were about where you'd expect them for a 5 star hotel, and I've certainly seen a lot worse.
Only slight negatiuve - big variaton in the standard of service from individuals - and one would have to say that our observations were the more locally grown, the poorer the attitude. Some of the staff gave out the impression that they couldn't really be bothered and that they'd rather be elsewhwere - but it didn't spoil our enjoyment, we just found it rather sad and amusing at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife had a voucher for a free treatment in the spa at Celtic Manor Resort. We decided to stay over despite the close proximity to our home. The young lady on reception was a trainee but we thought she was professional and very helpful. Initially we were in room 1007 on the tenth floor but the door lock was faulty so we were moved to room 1023, the chairman's suite.....result. The toilet was marble tiled, floor to ceiling & it was bigger than some bedrooms we've had to stay in, the Omni Royal in New Orleans immediately springs to mind. The bedroom was spacious also and the bed was large and comfy. There was a table, chairs & a desk. The tv had sky sports etc which was a real treat. We had an excellent view of the M4 & surrounding areas. The only disappointment is the parking. The brochure informs you that there are 1500 free parking spaces but if you want to use the car park which is closest to the hotel, (underneath the resort) then you will be charged by the hour, which is scandalous. Once this issue is resolved, the Celtic Manor will get five stars from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The stay was great from start to finish. Okay, so they charge £7 for parking, but they take your car and park if for you - and if you don't want to pay there is a free car park with a regular shuttle to bring guests to the hotel so there are options if you don't want to pay. From the very friendly concierge, Josh, who greeted us, the staff were friendly and courteous (apart from a couple of reception staff who were a bit stand-offish). Our room was lovely - very smart and with a comfortable bed.

We ate in The Patio in the evening and the food was delicious and the staff faultless, attentive and friendly.

The hotel offer shuttles to various parts of the resort - we used one to a pub - Newbridge on Usk (also part of the Celtic Manor Resort) for a cream tea.

Excellent - will definitely be returning. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
13.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Property: Celtic Manor Resort
Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing