We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for work. The hotel is very big, easy to get lost.
The food we ate was part of the conference package so I can't really comment on the catering.
The facilities are Great, lovely pool and gym. I think most people visit for the golf.
My room was on the top floor and the views were lovely.
The downsides.. The hotel decor is a little dated and it was cold everywhere, I tried to turn the heating up in my room but it was set at 18 degree limit, I rang down to reception and they sent someone up straight away with a heater which helped a little.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,050
    1,352
    950
    536
    420
See reviews for
1,055
2,194
57
778
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife, myself and my son (8) have just spent Wednesday to Friday staying in a double room at the Celtic manor resort hotel and can honestley say enjoyed every minute of the stay.
Right from arrival we found the staff to be exceptional in their level of helpfulness, friendliness and politeness. I can not rate them highly enough.
The room was very nice with an great bathroom that had a separate bath and shower, loads of towels and my wife was very happy with the elemis shampoo, shower gel etc.
I was surprised at how well kids and families were catered for. Normaly golf / spa resorts dont encourage kids or just provide for them as an after thought but this was definatley not the case at Celtic Manor.
We can't wait to go back and will be booking again soon. Hopefully next time I can play the 2010 course.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here during the Easter break. Very busy with children running through the place as if playing on an adventure playground! The staff were friendly and efficient but our room which we had paid an upgrade for was more Porthcawl B&B than 5* Resort Hotel! The trouser press had been removed from the wall with just holes and bolts left exposed! The wall paper was coming away from the walls and the ceiling had dirty marks as if someone had been kicking a football at it! The curtains only closed on one side but as we were on the 9th floor I did not feel exposed to the outside world. The in room dust was rather spectacular but I feel that this was there to give some king of 'Country House' ambiance!

The spa was like a kindergarten and the girl on their reception advised "it's very busy and noisy from so many children, come back after 8pm", not great for a so called 5*!

The reception/bar area has great acoustics and the noise was overbearing when trying to have a pre-dinner drink!

Breakfast was a stampede for the buffet. People using hands on the food and then returning it to the buffet when they decided that they fancied some other delight from the buffet! This behaviour was actively encouraged by the hotel management as the fresh loaves were there for you to manhandle and slice!

I assume that it was the Uganda Tourist Board that carried out the inspection for star rating, and if this is the best that Wales has to offer they're in serious doggy doo!

However,the dinner at Raffters was excellent, I reviewed that too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the Holiday Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tralsiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianbatty
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've been to Celtic Manor on 4 occasions and will almost certainly be returning. For around £130 we get 2 rounds of golf, a decent sized hotel room and access to the spa. The staff are incredibly helpful and the courses are fantastic, especially the Twenty Ten. Though this does increase the price substantially, I would definitely recommend it - you genuinely do get treated like a Ryder Cup pro with little touches like a personalised locker awaiting you.

The only criticism that I would have is evening meals are expensive and not of great quality, however the breakfast is superb.

Room Tip: Manor rooms have been upgraded so are just as good as the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Celtic Manor for three nights with my wife and four kids from 3 to 10 years. We had adjoining rooms and plenty of space.We used the pool everyday and tried a number of activities from archery, crossbow, adventure golf, tree top challenge etc. My wife wanted to spend more time at the spa but there was little availability so you should book before you arrive, what she did though she really enjoyed.
Staff were excellent, particularly Jodi on reception and Loreta in the Olive Tree restaurant.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnc3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Celtic Manor has become a regular haunt as a great getway for a short family break, and after our 5th stay, we will return..however there are still issues that should be resolved to bring the hotel up to the standard that is expected from a 5-star resort.

We opted for DDB and therefore were booked into the Olive Tree Buffet Restaurant for all three nights of our stay. Having eaten in the other food and beverage outlets at the hotel, we know that overall the offering is of a high standard. The main issue on this trip was the lack of variety available, infact on the first two nights, the food was exactly the same! Furthemore, we booked to eat at 8pm and clearly stated that we were 2 adults and 3 children. When we arrived on the first night the childrens buffet was virtually empty and by 8.10pm it had been cleared. We were advised that the children's buffet usually closes at 7.30pm..why on earth did reservations not advise us of this when we booked! Nevertheless, we were well looked after and Loretta, a longtime manager of the Olive Tree was as delightful as ever and could'nt do more as always to make our dining experience a real pleasure.

The other gripe was the kids club, which is basically a TV area and a ball pond with a small soft play area. We arrived with the kids and were informed that there were now designated times for the kids club and that the kids needed to be supervised, and we would be charged for a minimum time of 2hrs for £10.00 per child. Ok, I get that if you choose to leave your kids and therefore require supervion, fine charge me, but when I want to take my own 3 year old into a basic soft play area for 30mins and leave my 11 and 8 year old girls to watch TV or play on a Wii in the next room, I think £30.00 a day is a little excessive!! The facilities are basic and just dont warrant it. We ended up going to Cardiff Bay and paid under £30.00 for the whole family to go to Techniquest which was far more exiting and a whole day activity.

Finally, there are still some service issues. When I checked I was greeted (not sure greeted is the right word!!) by a miserable and very unhelpful receptionist with barely even an expression, let alone a smile on her face. The problem is, that all in all we had enjoyed our stay and this isnt really a great way to bring a trip to an end. This isnt the first time I have experienced this and it is such a shame as there are some great members of staff, so those who appear to be less service concious are just letting everyone else down. Our bill was incorrect and we had been overcharged by about £100.00, I knew this was going to happen as we had highlighted errors on our restaurant bills each night. It was sorted, but without an apology or a smile!!

As I say, when you take these issues and push them to one side, Celtic Manor is without doubt one the gems when it comes to UK family resorts. The facilities are outstanding and continue to improve and there is so much to do for all the family.

Looking forward to our next trip and hope we can avoid the negatives next time!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Celtic Manor we had such an amazing 4 days last year I couldnt wait to get there and relax in the beautiful settings and make use of the Spa again whilst my partner played golf. We stayed over the Easter wkend whereas last year we'd stayed mid-week (Tues-Fri) and thankfully I'd thought to book up a few treatments a couple of weeks before our stay as it was so busy there was no chance of booking anything on arrival which is what I'd done on our previous stay but I guess that's the price you pay going over a busy Bank Holiday weekend.
Our room this time round (Superior Double with Balcony) although clean and tidy wasn't as nice as the room we had last year (Superior Double) it appeared to be part of the Suite that can be blocked off at the end of the corridors when needed and the decor was a bit tired looking and wasn't as nice as other rooms on our floor but this was our only complaint the golf I've been assured was as fantastic as ever, my Spa treatments were amazing with a special thanks to Jessica at the Ocius for the Hot Stone Massage it was heaven.
The food was great no complaints at all, for us The Lodge was a favourite again with friendly waiting staff and a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the best burgers, if anyone reading this goes you just have to try the chicken and Brie burger with onion marmalade it was to die for :-)
Being that my partner a free round of golf he's already planning another visit later in the year.... :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally67H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
398 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,797 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Property: Celtic Manor Resort
Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing