We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Knoll Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 35 Newport B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and good value for money.”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have just spent a lovely night at this guest house.Its a very clean establishment. The bedroom was equipped with everything we needed and nothing was too much trouble for our host,Barry Peters.The 'knoll' has a very 'Olde world' charm about it which we loved.The breakfast was superb, with plenty of everything. Very good value for money and we would love to stay there again, when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186302Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
31
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The Knoll is in Newport about 15 minutes walk downhill (25 minutes uphill) to the train station for a 20 minute train ride to Cardiff. We had a 3 bed room which faced onto the front. It was very roomy at the same time very cosy. It was very clean with lots of free shampoo and soaps if required. The place is like stepping back in time but at the same time has a good standard of cleanliness. Barry who now runs the place and the other staff were extremely helpful and we got the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble. We did experience a hot water shortage but that was quickly remedied by giving us the key to another room to shower in.
The breakfast was excellent whether you take the full hot breakfast or the cereals and yoghurts there is plenty to give you a good start to the day. We paid £150 for the 2 nights plus £30 for the breakfast and were happy with quality and the standard of the accommodation for the price we paid..

Room Tip: We were in room 7 to the front and although the main road is outside we didn't find it too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LornaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

we had a late check in due to our flight but this was not a problem as the manager was waiting for us just on time we agreed

the hotel rooms are Victorian style and everything is original but in very good condition

one of the most important thing when going abroad is the comfort of the bed, and i can assure you that they have very comfortable beds

the breakfast was good and the waiters always offered us extra toast and plenty of different cereals and fruit was available

thank you our very pleasant stay

Mario

MALTA

Room Tip: first floor room is the best as you don't have any stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just spent the weekend at the Knoll and have to say cannot fault the place. Everything is spotlessly clean and there is a definite charm about the decor of the place. Jenny is your charming host who was most helpful throughout our stay. Our bedroom was equipped with everthing you needed with plentiful supply of tea/coffee etc. We even had a second bed in our room which overlooked one of the City Centre churches. We decided to have breakfast on our last day and it did not disappoint as my wife and I came out of the charming dining room fit to burst. This guest house is a credit to Jenny your host and if we ever return to Newport or Cardiff will not hestitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itfc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

How can perfection be improved? The Knoll Guesthouse is just that! Set in an atmospheric neighbourhood in Newport, in a stunning period guesthouse any weary traveller should be so lucky to stumble upon this gem. Let alone be greeted by Jenny's infectious giggle and charm. Her welcoming manner and hospitality sets the tone for one's stay at the Knoll and is the very foundation of why it is so successful. Jenny, along with her staff, Helena and Veronika provide a warm receptive attitude - the kind, in my opinion many hotels and establishments of today, lack. It is from this hospitality that the Knoll excels and exceeds expectations in all areas.
The cleanliness and hygiene of the rooms are impeccable. They are spacious, airy and well lit to neatly display the beauty of period architecture, fireplaces and decor.
While in the hall, if you are not captivated by the high ceilings, stain-glass windows and beautiful chandelier - I am sure that you will be drawn to the breakfast room guided by the aroma of a well-cooked hearty English/Welsh breakfast - a must in any traveller's day.
All in all, the success of this well rounded guesthouse is a credit to Jenny and her staff. They make the Knoll what it is and I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLB_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have just stayed at the knoll Guesthouse and we where so pleased with the room the service the food and the very warm welcome from the staff was so nice. They really care for your needs and your comfort. I will be staying again ( if they can fit us in). And all our friends are going to come back and stay with us.Jenny the manager,is certainly on our christmas card list she is such a nice lady.

Room Tip: It would be difficult to say as all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I am a local of the area but one of my friends was coming and he booked into this guesthouse for the night, I would. Be surprized if he comes to wales again let alone newport, first off the host was very hostile. She had a big problem with me and my girl friend waiting for my friend when he was quickly getting changed even tho we had a house waiting for us. The room was so small they had to put the sink next to the bed because the bathroom is that small it couldn't fit which I think is a fire hazzard? The room smells of rotten fish was stinking dirty it wasn't fit for a dog let alone a human the only 2 things that were good about the knoll was the location and LEAVING. I can safely say we will not be reccomending this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theknoll, Manager at The Knoll Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
The guest arrived at the Knoll, in a rowdy state....... and I quote the words of the friend he arrived with who asked him " just how much have you had to drink ? " ~ in retrospect I should have asked this ' party ' to leave as soon as they entered our property.

For one, they had reserved a single room and 3 of them arrived. On the telephone they had stated ' we will be arriving around 5 pm ' . We affirmed with them that a ' single room ' had been reserved, just to make sure that we had the correct details and that this was a reservation for one person ?

One only has to read our reviews, and to note our reviews on booking.com to know that the Knoll is an establishment that is valued and respected by 100% of our guests. We have a 9.8 /10 rating for cleanliness and our Visit Wales rating for cleanliness and hospitality gained us a 5 star rating this year........ this is the first ' poor review ' that we have had in 20 years of business ...............

We have a ' right of admission ' policy at the Knoll and I should have exercised this policy when they walked into our hall ~ before giving them a key or allowing them upstairs.

Jenny Kennedy
Director/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newport Central
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
581 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
The West of England Tavern
#19 of 35 in Newport
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Night Lodge
Night Lodge
#27 of 35 in Newport
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knoll Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knoll Guesthouse

Property: The Knoll Guesthouse
Address: 145 Stow Hill, Newport NP20 4FZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knoll Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Knoll Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knoll Guesthouse Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing