We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newport
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Room was tired and dated as is the hotel. Room cold and smelt musty. Breakfast ok but nothing special, staff not very attentive even though it was quiet. Reception staff were helpful, booking taxis etc. Wouldn't stay again, better cheaper hotels in Newport

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank s30wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review in regard to your recent visit.

Please accept my apologies that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Although of no consolation we are continually upgrading our bedroom stock. I was pleased to note that you found my colleagues on reception very helpful.

Thank you once again for bringing your views to my attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    148
    128
    79
    44
See reviews for
78
114
30
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Call me a snob if you must, but my expectations were low. OK it's short on ambiance, but the staff - both front and back of house - more than compensate.

The food is excellent - I've paid twice as much for worse. I cannot suggest going out of your way to visit Newport, but if you're in the area, this is an exceptionally good deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our website following your recent experience.

I was pleased delighted to learn that the service and friendliness of my colleagues made your stay enjoyable and memorable.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip, ideal location, as attending a course opposite, room adequate, excellent choice of food for breakfast and dinner. Hotel staff very friendly and polite. Small fitness suite and pool.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammers1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our website following your recent experience.

I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us when you attended a course in the local area.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I know HI's can vary dependent upon where they are but this one is in serious need of updating. I had an executive room which normally means something.... Here it's just an old sofa and couple of bath robes. Don't get me wrong the service was good and the room was clean and tidy but for the price you could do much better. And if you have sticky table folia be careful going into the bar area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review in regard to your recent visit.

Please accept my apologies that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Although of no consolation to you we are currently undergoing a programme to modernise the last of our remaining rooms that require updating.

On a more positive note I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the service and found cleanliness to be of a high standard.

Thank you once again for bringing your views to my attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Whittlesey, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

even though it is a three star hotel the service and the staff are 5 star the rooms are of reasonable size they attend to your every need if you need anything just ask and it will be done and just brilliant service overall

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our website following your recent experience.

I was delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us over the festive period.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

AlthOugh it looks a bit shabby outside, the reception is pleasant, as is the bar and dining area. Easy to find from the motorway and checking in was straightforward. Our room was basic though clean and comfortable with a mini bar, tv, desk and sofa. The bathroom required updating and smelt a bit damp. Luckily we were only there to sleep overnight and didn't need to use the bath as we arrived all ready, just needing to change. However had I wanted a bath, I would have had to ask that it be cleaned or my room changed which I believe would not have presented a problem for the helpful staff. Breakfast was a buffet with selection of cereals, fruit, bacon, eggs, tomato, sausages etc, toast and croissants. What I wasn't told and didn't see until after I had eaten is that porridge, kippers, and some other items are cooked on request. Would have been good to have been informed of this when presenting ourselves to the 'waitress' on arrival. A nice touch was being offered a bottle of water each on checking out for the journey home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60sangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our website following your recent experience.

I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay in the main and shall work on the constructive comments you made to improve our service further.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

xmas do time, room itself was well stocked tele. iron, hair dryer, the bed was huge and very comfortable. Bathroom well lit and all you want in that room. all the staff, from reception to the breakfast area persons were all helpful and friendly. a good night was had, even when it was discovered that the ladies toilet had no soap and towels,it was immediately restocked when told. My only concern was the polite signs warning on slippery paths, should they not clean them more?. one final point beware of the path from the car park to reception, it is uneven, and covered in mud and water, not good for your shoes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlidwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our website following your recent experience.

I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay whilst attending a Christmas function at the hotel.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you next attend a function in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
0.4 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Newport
Address: The Coldra, Newport NP18 2YG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is just the beginning at the Holiday Inn Newport. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure the Holiday Inn Newport hotel will make your trip a success. Offering 119 well appointed ensuite bedrooms all with air conditioning, High Speed Wireless Internet connection, satellite channels and In-house movies.The hotel is situated just off junction 24 of the M4 with free ample car parking. The thriving cities of Bristol & Cardiff are within a 30 minute drive and it s only a short journey to the Wye Valley or the Brecon Beacons. Take a round of Golf at the Celtic Manor Resort home of the Ryder Cup in 2010, situated opposite the hotel.The Millennium Stadium hosts a variety of events and is only a 10 minute train journey from Newport. We offer an extensive range of Conference facilities with our largest suite accommodating up to 500 delegates. Click on the meetings tab for further details.Harpers bar is a place for work & relaxation with wireless access and an extensive bar & lounge menu. Harpers restaurant provides a tempting choice of cuisine prepared to the highest culinary standard by our international kitchen team. Take advantage of our resident only leisure facilities with heated indoor pool.With our experience and commitment to our guests, we are the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing