We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Newport Central
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here as an alternative to staying in Cardiff as the hotel prices had been increased for the rugby. The hotel is opposite the train station in Newport and easy walk into town. The hotel was clean, warm and modern. Would definitely do this again if accommodation in Cardiff is hard to come by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneknamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    89
    38
    16
    17
See reviews for
66
79
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed last night as we attended the Wales v Australia game in Cardiff. Easy to find and we parked by the hotel with a discount for being guests (cost about £4.50 I think for 24 hours). Was wary of a few negative reviews of the area but it was fine. Receptionist was lovely and helpful and check in was smooth. Room was a typical Travelodge but clean and comfortable. Right opposite the station so brilliant for getting to Cardiff by train. We were expecting noise late at night but we didn't hear a thing and slept like logs. Would definitely stay here again, especially for the rugby as for a 15 min train ride, you're paying less than half the price of a Travelodge in the centre of Cardiff and the trains only a fiver.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Situated between a dual carriageway, a derelict multi storey and dead opposite a large Wetherspoons...... Arrived in the dark on Saturday evening. No parking on site so had to go in the open NCP next door, unlit and no security cameras - £6.50 for more than 4 hours. Outrageous really for such a run down area. No lighting in car park, a machine that insisted on entering car reg details - oh what fun. Check in...had to squeeze past the local delinquents on the steps...and then listening to the locals singing and shouting outside until around 5am. AVOID.

Room Tip: check into a hotel out of town.....if you do get lumbered then at least get on the back of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigVern69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Central, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your review BigVern69. We can confirm that this hotel does have a small car park for our guests available on a first come first serve basis, however there is also an NCP car park opposite our hotel. It is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by locals outside the hotel, we do try and work with local communities to try and reduce noise which can impact our guests, despite these measures it is not always possible to completely reduce the noise outside due to the hotels location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here on a Tuesday night, room was clean. not sure about the breakfast in a box as that was booked through work so went to McDonalds instead. the wetherspoons across the road was good for food. when we arrived at the hotel there were a number of hooded and baseball capped individuals all drinking beer which isnt a great look for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikethebudgie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Cheap and cheerful, perfectly adequate accommodation at a bargain price if you get one of the regular promotion rates. Room and en-suite shower room clean, warm, quiet at night. Breakfast not included but several shops/bars/fast food outlets within easy walking distance. Central location on edge of main shopping area, close to railway station, walking distance to theatre, sports centre etc. Staff friendly and helpful. Stayed two nights, room was tidied after first night and refreshments replenished, which doesn't seem to happen everywhere.

Free car parking mentioned on website is misleading, as the dedicated hotel car park only has about a dozen spaces - hopelessly inadequate for the number of rooms, so the vast majority of guests have to use the adjoining pay-and-display car park. (£6.50 for 24 hours: not expensive, but should be factored in to overall cost of rooms).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlwithcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Clean and friendly. Excellent central location close to Railway Station. Opposite is a Wetherspoons pub and a traditio9nal pub called The Lamb. that was quite lively on our visit with Karoke on. Would definitely stay again. In the morning we went out and had breakfast in a lovely little cafe in one of the old shopping arcades.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here on friday night just gone while visiting south wales and it was much better than my last stay as this Travelodge now has the new fresh look. I had a nice sleep and i had the window closed all night so i did not hear any noise. Good Location as got weatherspoons on your door step and also the Railway Station across the road. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 18 in Newport
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
397 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newport Central

Property: Travelodge Newport Central
Address: 66 Bridge Street, Newport NP20 4AQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newport Central 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newport Central Hotel Newport
Travelodge Newport Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing