We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and a lovely atmosphere”

The Bell at Caerleon
Ranked #28 of 464 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Awarded Best Food in the South Wales Echo Food & Drink Awards. The Bell has stood in the ancient Roman fortress town of Caerleon for more than 400 years. An old coaching inn, nestled on the edge of the Celtic Manor Resort & The beautiful Usk Valley, many a merry time has been had. The Bell today is true to its traditions and offers a uniquely Welsh atmosphere,a very warm welcome, award winning food, real ales, ciders and perries and a lovely wine list. We look forward to warmly welcoming you to The Bell.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've eaten here on many occasions and while I did have one (very) bad experience about five years ago - possibly before the current owners took over - the food over the past two years has been very high quality.
The only small gripe I have with the current menu is the way they cook the pheasant. Generally the breast and the leg should be done separately. Cooking it as a whole leads to the leg meat being a bit chewy.
But that is minor quibbling on my part. The Bell is a great restaurant with some wonderful dishes, a nice range of real ales and thoroughly deserving of all the awards it's scooped up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 487 of 596 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited as a party of 6. Staff were attentive and the atmosphere was good.
We all had 3 courses with 2 bottles of wine and extra drinks each.
Every course was superb and every member of the party enjoyed their meal. The starter of scotch egg is highly recommended.
The bill was above average but we all enjoyed our food and felt we had got value for money.
Would definately visit again for a special occasion. Approx £75 per couple.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inspectorcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

2 courses for £10.00. Had the salmon fish cake to start and the vegetarian sausages as mains, good portions. The steaks were also very nice not such a huge porion but for £10.00 for 2 courses extremely good value none the less. Was a little on the chilly side.

1  Thank scan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Really excellent meal and worth driving from caerphilly in rush hour traffic to be able have some proper food. Much better than anything in caerphilly and many that play at being gastro in Cardiff. A huge bonus was that as a vegetarian I had a choice rather than a single option! Will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tretho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We tried the weekday lunchtime menu - a starter or a sweet plus main for £10. Only two others eating at 13.30. The starters (mussels and a hock terrine) were excellent although the mussels would have benefited from a bit of french bread to mop up the tasty juice. Disappointingly, both mains were somewhat lacking in the flavour stakes and had no "wow factor". All four dishes were, however, well presented in a modern way.
A couple of glasses of excellent dry cider from the wide range on offer went down well with it all.
All in all good but not great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leetCaerleon, Owner at The Bell at Caerleon, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We encourage guest feedback as it drives continual improvement through our business.

We're all very pleased that your feedback was generally poitive and I'm very happy that you had a good lunch with us.

I just wanted to come back to you on a few of your points;

We do not provide bread with our fresh Carmarthen Bay Mussels, however warm crusty bread is available to order as a side.

With regard to your main dishes, it would have been helpful to note what they were. However I would say our lunch menu is as stated, our take on 'Lunch Time Classics' staple 'pub' favourites such as Gammon, Battered Fish, Sausages, Faggits & Peas etc... Whilst we craft these dishes with fresh local ingredients, with our own unigue take on them, I'm not sure how much of a 'WOW' factor you can achieve with Gammon, Chips & Egg?

Our Dinner menu does offer much more in terms of 'a la carte' dishes so we'd love to welcome you back to enjoy that.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bell

Kind Regards
Lee & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell at Caerleon also viewed

 

Been to The Bell at Caerleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing