We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best pub food I've had in a long while!”

The Bell at Caerleon
Ranked #30 of 428 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Awarded Best Food in the South Wales Echo Food & Drink Awards. The Bell has stood in the ancient Roman fortress town of Caerleon for more than 400 years. An old coaching inn, nestled on the edge of the Celtic Manor Resort & The beautiful Usk Valley, many a merry time has been had. The Bell today is true to its traditions and offers a uniquely Welsh atmosphere,a very warm welcome, award winning food, real ales, ciders and perries and a lovely wine list. We look forward to warmly welcoming you to The Bell.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best pub food I've had in a long while!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a great pub! We wandered over on a whim from the Celtic Manor nearby after seeing reviews online, so hadn't booked. The huge variety of real ciders was lovely to encounter but it was fully booked for food. Really disappointed as the food looked and smelled good and the atmosphere was very welcoming. But the very friendly manager managed to squeeze us in and we enjoyed really tender and juicy venison cooked to perfection, and a pork belly that was both melting and crispy. We live close to a number of very well considered pubs in the Maidenhead area but I can honestly say the food at The Bell was head and shoulders above all of them, and a great deal cheaper too! The service from all the staff was faultless. A gem of a find and will be sure to visit again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sotto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    116
    47
    45
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Heaven is a place in Caerleon”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Warmly recommended by Kath at the Pendragon B&B, the place I was staying a pleasant 10-minute stroll across the river, it's easy to see why the place has picked up so many excellent reviews. As a fan of real cider, it was like I'd died and gone to heaven after seeing the range on offer in The Bell. I decided to go straight in for the Carmarthen mussels main course and the more than generous serving was almost like something out of an eating contest! Perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. Yes the place is cosy but hardly elbow to elbow. Full marks too for the service, which was friendly and spot on. Hope to be back some time in the future with the family rather than just in the area on business. With places like The Bell and Pendragon around, Newport's tourist board officer must have one of the easiest jobs in the business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, not a lot of space.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went here for my mum's birthday after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. Got there and I was horrified, crammed onto a table which was far too close to the next table. I asked to be moved and was moved to a table at the side which was much better. The food was fantastic, make no mistake if it is all about the food for you, then this is the place to go. My family thoroughly wnjoyed the steak and i was thrilled to find four vegetarian options! The puddings aren't as great but still good. No milk though so I missed out on a latte and no lager on tap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amityville80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We met friends here and had a superb 3 course Sunday lunch. The 'Whitebait' starter kicked the meal off very well, followed by roast pork, crispy crackling and a good selection of fresh vegetables and the creme brulee finished the meal off very well. A good selection of wines and a very good Welsh malt whisky. Good service from friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skibereencork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
undy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I recently visited the Bell with my grand daughter and had a great meal. The cost for two coures was £9.95 (starter and main or main and dessert).
Well presented and service very good

I cannot tell you how good the food was and the cost for two of use with wine was less than £30.00.
Highly recommended,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank libby h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell at Caerleon also viewed

 

Been to The Bell at Caerleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing