We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the better pub restaurants around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell at Caerleon

The Bell at Caerleon
Ranked #29 of 423 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Awarded Best Food in the South Wales Echo Food & Drink Awards. The Bell has stood in the ancient Roman fortress town of Caerleon for more than 400 years. An old coaching inn, nestled on the edge of the Celtic Manor Resort & The beautiful Usk Valley, many a merry time has been had. The Bell today is true to its traditions and offers a uniquely Welsh atmosphere,a very warm welcome, award winning food, real ales, ciders and perries and a lovely wine list. We look forward to warmly welcoming you to The Bell.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“one of the better pub restaurants around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

it works pretty well as a pub, but having been away for a couple of years we returned to find it is still a decent restaurant too.

nice ciders and perrys.
heavily seafood biased menu, but for once i had a steak which was very nice indeed.
mushroom and pepper sauce an'all.

the mains do come with some veg, but would advise you order at least one side if you are hungry.

good creme brulee although i think they could be a bit more imaginative with the desert selection..

it does get a bit warm in there in the summer being such a small venue, a fan unit or improved ventilation would be a good idea.

good friendly service

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DesOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    113
    45
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A first class establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We ate here with friends on a busy Friday evening and were most impressed from start to finish. The lovely staff gives everyone a warm welcome and are very well informed when it comes to the menu and explaining the vast array of ales and ciders on offer.
After a relaxing drink in the garden we sat down for dinner inside and placed our order with the most charming young lady who helped us with our choices.
We enjoyed beautiful Welsh rump of lamb, pork loin in parma ham and a very well executed chicken dish. All our main courses were priced at around £13 to £17 which we thought good value considering the quality of food.
Well done to everyone at the Bell for a very pleasant evening and a big thank you to your wonderful staff for their warm hospitality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CurdworthColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We turned up on spec in the hope of getting a table in this small but popular restaurant/pub. With six in our party we were delighted they found us a table and were seated and served straight away. Table service for the drinks and menus turned up quickly, we ordered main meals only and these arrived in good time, hot and fresh. Some of the food comes on fancy wooden platters which, while nice, were a little awkward for one of our party. No problems, the food was swiftly re-presented on a plate. Every meal was cooked to perfection, and they offered a decent children’s selection as well. Throughout the meal the service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I cannot recommend this pub highly enough; we had a super evening and will definitely go back on our next visit to the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pazaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“vegetarian food, yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went for dinner with friends,
excellent choice of veggie food, master chef style presentation,
tasty food
good wine, great atmosphere good location
kind service
definitely going back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neeeeeeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthgain, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little place with great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went while staying at the Celtic Manor. Had a great meal with great service. The lamb is highly recommended and so is the white chocolate panacota. Great value for money with great choice of real ales and ciders.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell at Caerleon also viewed

 

Been to The Bell at Caerleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing